Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-30-2004, 12:50 PM
The Electric Trombone The Electric Trombone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 244
Default Hearing firewire drives over my monitors!?!?!

I'm running a G4 dual processor 533, with a gig of memory, and the 001. I'm running PTLE V6.x. . ..

I was monitoring via the spdif out to powered roland monitors.

I recently started monitoring over the analog Main Out, and now I'm hearing my firewire drives.

I haven't noticed this before, and I've been using this sytem for over two years.

Any thoughts, suggestions or ideas ?

I do use an ETA power conditioner, and everything is plugged into that. . .

Thanks!
__________________
Dan Atkins
The Electric Trombone Studio
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-30-2004, 01:33 PM
mr_dude mr_dude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 20
Default Re: Hearing firewire drives over my monitors!?!?!

I've been having this problem, too:
G4 Powerbook, 768 memory, Seagate firewire drive on the RAck 002. I've physically distanced my drive from the rest of the setup with some benefit.

If anyone else has suggestions, I'm all ears as well.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-30-2004, 04:15 PM
The Electric Trombone The Electric Trombone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 244
Default Re: Hearing firewire drives over my monitors!?!?!

mr dude,

Do you mean you get this over your mics when you record ? (I may be misunderstanding you)

I can hear these drives over the monitors even when the computer itself is powered down.

I'm still trying things, I've disconnected the 001 and am going SPDIF out from the optical ADAT (with it set to spdif) from the PCI card. I can't hear the drives at all now. .. .

I'd like to be able to monitor with the analog outs as well, while using firewire drives (I should add).

Still experimenting, but I'm all ears DUC .. .


Thanks!
__________________
Dan Atkins
The Electric Trombone Studio
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-30-2004, 06:14 PM
mr_dude mr_dude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 20
Default Re: Hearing firewire drives over my monitors!?!?!

No, not through mics. I just sometimes getting the whirring sounds of the hard drive going to the monitors. I'm not sure why. Perhaps the cables I'm using are not shielded well.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-31-2004, 03:09 PM
The Electric Trombone The Electric Trombone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 244
Default Re: Hearing firewire drives over my monitors!?!?!

Mr Dude,

I disconnected and reconnected EVERYTHING connected to my 001. I think my 001 cable (the SCSI looking cable) was not seated properly. Once I redid all my connections everything went back to normal, AND I could use my analog main outs to monitor with, without the noise of the firewire drives. . .

FYI.

Thanks!!
__________________
Dan Atkins
The Electric Trombone Studio
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-01-2004, 04:42 PM
alance alance is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 160
Default Re: Hearing firewire drives over my monitors!?!?!

I had the same problem and it was very much more pronounced with my maxtor fw drive than my other two brands. The problem seems to come from a power issue. My home is old and has no proper ground. When I take the whole system (it's built into a custom cart) to other localities with clean, grounded power, the hum goes away and it's perfectly quiet.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-06-2004, 05:09 AM
Sam601 Sam601 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 62
Default Re: Hearing firewire drives over my monitors!?!?!

Hi I am using the Dididesign Firewire 80 and on powering it up I get a noise in my monitors. When I dismount it the system gets clean. Can anyone help?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-06-2004, 08:17 AM
mamacita mamacita is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 61
Default Re: Hearing firewire drives over my monitors!?!?!

I was having the same problem with a pre-fab Western Digital drive so I got an OWC enclosure, dropped in a Segate drive and the problem dissapeared. It seems like some pre-assembled enclosures just don't want to play nicely so I recommend getting an OWC and building your own. Also, it's cheaper.

BTW, I have no affiliation with OWC in any way, I've just had good luck with them and wanted to pass on the info.
__________________
13" Macbook Pro 2.26 2Gb 10.5.8
PTLE 8 Digi 002R Factory, MBox
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
firewire drives no longer valid audio drives chuckbody1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 05-22-2006 11:04 PM
Problem with hearing the FX of panning in monitors Knightshade 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 03-20-2005 11:30 PM
Firewire Drives vs. ATA drives for Audio Playback and Recording Chence 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 14 04-26-2003 12:59 AM
ANDRE & TOM: Adaptec cards to copy from SCSI drives to Firewire drives with G4/HD? ragbor Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 06-11-2002 08:08 AM
Differences between using SCSI drives and Firewire drives ? pepasmax Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 05-28-2002 01:28 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:44 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com