Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-20-2004, 06:36 AM
Jak Jak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 171
Default How do I use a compressor??

I know how stupid i must sound, but i dont know how to use a compressor, let alone most of my other sound processing plug ins. I got the free bomb factory plug ins, but the only thing I hear is the volume going up when I change the settings, why dont I just turn up the volume? Obviously a compressor does more than simply change the volume, otherwise, Id just push up the faders. So could someone tell me what the gain, thresh, ratio, attack, ratio, input, output, and release all do? Or point me to where I could find out.
Thanks a lot.

Alex
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-20-2004, 06:49 AM
Bixby Bixby is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 209
Default Re: How do I use a compressor??

For compression:

http://www.saecollege.de/reference_material/index.html

Click on effects on the left, then compression at the top.

Lots of other great basic info to be found there as well.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-20-2004, 07:47 AM
Jak Jak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 171
Default Re: How do I use a compressor??

Thanks for the site
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-20-2004, 08:20 AM
mindnoise mindnoise is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Germany and Tokyo
Posts: 3,094
Default Re: How do I use a compressor??

get here to learn the whole thing:

http://web.archive.org/web/*/http://studiocovers.com

all you need until you get a degree as Audio Engineer

best

__________________
last: PT11.3.1
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-20-2004, 10:09 AM
The Electric Trombone The Electric Trombone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 244
Default Re: How do I use a compressor??

Nice site Bixby !! I've been reading it all morning. Very informative, and I like the way its laid out.
__________________
Dan Atkins
The Electric Trombone Studio
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-20-2004, 06:57 PM
Ealsh Ealsh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 234
Default Re: How do I use a compressor??

Quote:
I know how stupid i must sound,
You'll never sound stupid firend, Just ask what ever You need to know.

Nobody here Started working knowing anything.

Yes the sites , sounds pretty cool. I would advise You starting with a compressor that doesn't have attack and release par. A LA2A is a good compressor to get started. Or even You can get this free 1176 from bombfactory, Just move the input and otput knobs, try to learn that first. Leave the other knobs on the preseted position. After that, move to another step changing other par.

Don't try to move all the knobs at the same time, You gonna get lost. You need to learn step by step the function of each par.

Have a Good one.
__________________
Mac Dual 1.25 ghz "FW 800"
1024M ram.
Digi 001
Scsi(64)-18 giga cheetah
Ide 80 giga (7200)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-20-2004, 09:50 PM
Jak Jak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 171
Default Re: How do I use a compressor??

Ealsh, thank you for your kind words Ive checked out the sites, and the learning curve has shot through the roof! But now, I need to get some more compressors! Ive got Waves Renaissance compressor, Maxim and the free Bomb factory, but what to get next??? Maybe the McDSP compressor bank or Ultramaximiser. Compressors sound so nice!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-20-2004, 10:42 PM
Ealsh Ealsh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 234
Default Re: How do I use a compressor??

Quote:
Ealsh, thank you for your kind words Ive checked out the sites, and the learning curve has shot through the roof! But now, I need to get some more compressors! Ive got Waves Renaissance compressor, Maxim and the free Bomb factory, but what to get next??? Maybe the McDSP compressor bank or Ultramaximiser. Compressors sound so nice!
Ouch! If you already got those all, what more You need?????

You Got Bombfactory compressor, that are sweet, nice using for vocals, Bass.

You Got Waves Renaissance , that it's a all around compressor...

You Got Maxim to use on Master fade, and pre.mastering Your session.

What else do You think You need???!!?!??!?!!
__________________
Mac Dual 1.25 ghz "FW 800"
1024M ram.
Digi 001
Scsi(64)-18 giga cheetah
Ide 80 giga (7200)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-21-2004, 05:42 PM
rgriff rgriff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Hollywood Ca.
Posts: 374
Default Re: How do I use a compressor??

Have you considered outboard compressors?I have a G3 400 and max the CPU real fast with Waves,so I recently got a couple of DBX 160XT's and they are great for drums.I did a session friday and the kick was huge.I have been trying to get that fat kick sound without any luck until now.Not that you could'nt with plugs,I just could not.Also good on guitar.They are simple to use too.
Ray
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-21-2004, 07:08 PM
Muxlow Muxlow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 217
Default Re: How do I use a compressor??

Quote:
For compression:

http://www.saecollege.de/reference_material/index.html

Click on effects on the left, then compression at the top.

Lots of other great basic info to be found there as well.


This is GREAT! Thank you Mr. Bixby ~
__________________
Mac G4 Dual 533
1.5g Ram
OS 10.2.8
Reason 2.5
ProTools LE 6.1
Digi001
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Master Fader Limiter/Compressor SSL Compressor mesa3077boogie Pro Tools 9 8 07-11-2011 08:15 PM
URS Console Strip Pro compressor/URS individual compressor Anibal Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 08-15-2007 12:44 PM
McDSP Compressor Bank or Farichild Compressor joji Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 10-31-2005 09:20 PM
Broadband compressor after multi-band compressor? phanatik 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 04-20-2005 09:02 AM
Does the WAVES R. Compressor have factory presets like the DigiRack Compressor? peter parker 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 05-23-2002 07:51 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:41 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com