Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-06-2004, 08:33 AM
The Electric Trombone The Electric Trombone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 244
Default Upgrading to LE 6.2.2 on DIGI001, G4 DP533.

Well, I've got OSX loaded and dual booting with OS9. Each has their own physical IDE hard drive.

I have a 30GB firewire HD for recording. I'm hoping PTLE 5.3 and PTLE 6.2.2 can share this drive for recording.

I've ordered the install disc for PTLE6.2.2. It should be in Monday. Anyone thats already done this have any ideas or issues I should consider ?

I know that the 001 isn't 'officially' supported on 10.3 with 6.2.2, however I've been searching the DUC and it looks like people are getting stable results. I'm sure it will be a while before my OSX/PTLE6 install becomes my production boot, but at least I can start playing with it and learning now. It was a LONG wait. I"ve been dying to utilize that other processor since I bought the G4 !

I figure this is the first step in my upgrade process. Next will be to go to 1GB of RAM (currently running 484MB). I'll hold for a while at that point until the Dual 1.4Ghz upogrades come down in price, maybe about a year. Then upgrade to dual 1.4s and that'll have to do it for my G4.

In the meantime I'm waiting for G5PowerBooks. I"m hoping to build a mobile rig from the 002R and a G5 powerbook !!! Bring the mixes home to the G4 for mixdown and mastering. . track live stuff and on location stuff from the mobile rig. Ok, I'm just throwing out my 'fuzzy' upgrade and growth ideas. . .. Any comments are greatly appreciated !
__________________
Dan Atkins
The Electric Trombone Studio
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-06-2004, 10:34 AM
The Electric Trombone The Electric Trombone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 244
Default Re: Upgrading to LE 6.2.2 on DIGI001, G4 DP533.

Can I get a witness !
__________________
Dan Atkins
The Electric Trombone Studio
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-09-2004, 06:28 PM
The Electric Trombone The Electric Trombone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 244
Default Re: Upgrading to LE 6.2.2 on DIGI001, G4 DP533.

Happy to report all is well.

30 GB IDE HD OS9.2/PTLE5.3 - recording to 30 GB firewire drive (shared)
15 GB IDE HD OSX.3.2/PTLE 6.2.2 - recording to 30 GB firewire drive (shared)

Dual 533 G4 with 448 MB ram (plan to upgrade ram)

No problems. Thanks for all the reassurance. =)

__________________
Dan Atkins
The Electric Trombone Studio
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-19-2004, 02:32 PM
proxy proxy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 406
Default Re: Upgrading to LE 6.2.2 on DIGI001, G4 DP533.

Hey Dan,

I'm glad it worked out and sorry you didn't have more specifics to go on. I know I've been waiting to make that same leap because it still seems like a mixed bag. Have you had any of the Midi problems that other people have posted (dubaifox?)? The movie preview thing doesn't really scare me (I always turn that off), but I would want midi to be solid. I'm hoping to do a video-card/Panther update at the same time, but I'm still sussing it out.

Any further word on the 001/6.2.2 combo? Specifically Midi?

- Proxy
__________________
G4 dual 1ghz QS (1.5gig RAM) / OSX v10.3.9 / HD4 / AD8K / PT v6.9
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-19-2004, 06:28 PM
jeronimo jeronimo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Salvador, BA - Brazil
Posts: 668
Default Re: Upgrading to LE 6.2.2 on DIGI001, G4 DP533.

Working w/o a hitch!!!!!!!
512 RAM!!!!!
__________________
Think Diferente!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help: Upgrading to OSX with digi001 ad Le 5.0.1 ? abk 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 04-06-2006 09:04 PM
upgrading from an AMIII - digi001 worth it?? JonM 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 05-06-2005 06:21 AM
Upgrading to Digi001 question . . . R Carr 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 07-20-2002 10:51 AM
Upgrading a digi001 system to 5.1 non-LE mwpmorris 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-29-2001 01:56 PM
WHAT'S THE DEAL WITH THE DP533 and 6042's??? Tim R. Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 06-07-2001 01:11 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:41 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com