Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 10-08-2007, 04:51 PM

Default The Best Active Studio Monitors...

Hi All: I know there are many variables and certainly opinions will be endless...but would you mind chiming in with your recommendation given the room and type of work I do?

Type of work: I am a professional voice actor and I also produce 2 half hour talk programs as well as radio imaging and commercial production.

Goal: A pair of active monitors that will provide me with a true sound of my mix whereby my product will translate to other systems well.

Room Size: Walk-in closet at home that is 8' x 4'.

Room Treatment: I don't know the name, but I have gray fabric treatment panels on all walls, thus the room is DEAD! (needed because I do my voiceover as well as my production in here)

Current Monitors: M-Audio Studiophile LX-4 w/Sub (problem is, how in the world do you know how much sub level to add since the satellites have no low end response that I can tell. The monitors sit 3' center to center from each other and I sit about 3.5 feet from them. I used 1K tone at 0.0dB and at the sitting position my SPL is approx. 84db. I have played various professionally mastered CD's through the system including classical, jazz, rock etc. and set the sub level about where I think it should go however I still don't have the confidence that "my sound" is the "true sound", thus my thought that better reference monitors will help to bring the needed confidence.

I eagerly await all responses! Thanks so much for your time.

Brian in Charlotte
www.VoiceOverForYou.com
Blog: VoicePro.blogspot.com

G5 Dual 2gig, 3 gigs memory, 002, LE 7.3.1