Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control App

Old 07-30-2017, 04:01 PM

Default To Dock or not to Dock?

Hi everyone,

In a couple of months time I'm planning to buy S3. I'm an editor and want to have faders so I can quickly adjust levels, panning etc.

But I'm not a mixer. At least at the moment. Would love to mix in the future though.

In that regard, do I need too buy a Dock with S3 or just S3 will be enough? A friend of mine have both and he is happy with the setup. But he is a re-recording mixer. On the other hand, I spoke with a mixer from big Post facility and he basically said that he thinks that Dock is pointless, all you need is an iPad with PT app instead.

Would be interesting to hear your feedback about it, especially from those who use Dock in conjunction with S3. Is Dock useful/irreplaceable or after some time you think you could have done without it? Would it be useful for an editor? Did Dock speed you up? Did Dock improve your workflows? If so, in what way?

Overall I quite like the idea of S3+Dock, feels in some ways as budget S6 but at the same time not only I need to buy the Dock but also an iPad.

Thanks in advance for any feedback/info.
Old 07-31-2017, 04:11 PM

Default Re: To Dock or not to Dock?