Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-30-2020, 11:34 AM
Armando Armando is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Parrish, FL USA
Posts: 936
Default 192 I/O starting to “disconnect”

Hello!

I use two 192 I/O in my HD 10.3.10 setup. I’ve been noticing that one of the two is losing it’s connection with PT during sessions. The fix for me is to do a complete shut down and restart.

Anyone know why this is happing and if there is a “fix”? Thanks!!
__________________
Armando
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-30-2020, 12:43 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,513
Default Re: 192 I/O starting to “disconnect”

Have you tried reseating your digilink cables? They may get loose over time. Or to be more specific, the metal connectors oxidize and therefore start to conduct worse. Little wiggling may clean them enough to keep good contact.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-30-2020, 12:48 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,534
Default Re: 192 I/O starting to “disconnect”

That^^^^ and double-check the Loop Sync cables too. Its probably a good idea to unplug and replug all connections every so often(more so if its dusty or damp where you are)

BTW, I would also open the unit in question and reseat the multipin connector on each IO card, especially the Digital card(upper right of the 4 slots) becase, as I understand it, that card is crucial to overall function(IOW, if that card fails or disconnects, nothing else works).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave

Last edited by albee1952; 05-30-2020 at 04:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-04-2020, 07:03 AM
Armando Armando is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Parrish, FL USA
Posts: 936
Default Re: 192 I/O starting to “disconnect”

Thanks to you both for those suggestions. Sorry I haven’t replied sooner but I never received any email notifications after your replies. Thanks again!
__________________
Armando
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-05-2020, 05:25 AM
TheFilterLab TheFilterLab is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Minneapolis, USA
Posts: 32
Default Re: 192 I/O starting to “disconnect”

I have many 192s and 96s under my care. I've found that after several years of service it's a good idea to take them apart and clean all of the internal connections. I just use a little dropper bottle with isopropyl alcohol. This solves most issues that I've experienced.

Good luck,
Jared
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-05-2020, 05:50 AM
Armando Armando is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Parrish, FL USA
Posts: 936
Default Re: 192 I/O starting to “disconnect”

👍🏻
__________________
Armando
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Firewire Disconnect moplh 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-15-2012 07:23 AM
In ProTools - 11R disconnect. Vercingetorix Eleven Rack 9 08-25-2011 10:09 AM
7.4 with 10.4.11 causes restart on disconnect? eveaudio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-25-2007 07:44 PM
iPod Disconnect ADB Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 11-29-2006 01:59 PM
PT 7.1 MP and FW410 disconnect ashdot Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 09-28-2006 07:08 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:48 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com