Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-15-2010, 10:20 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,356
Default Fast paning weirdness

Try this:

-Create a mono-track bussed to an LCR-output.
-generate a piece of pink noise (or use some other static test signal)
- draw in a linear pan from fully left to fully right across the LCR over about half a second in time.

now shorten the pan duration by nudging the breakpoints closer together and listen to the result.

Hereīs whatīs weird. On my system the pan sounds chopped up and not smooth as soon as I make the pan shorter than 9 frames.

Can someone verify this? Is this a bug or a feature?

I have some very quick car-bys on screen that are impossible to pan using PTīs pan automation because they start sounding completely wrong and irregular when they are below 9 frames (@24fps ruler).

Any ideas how I can work around this restriction? The strange thing is that when the pan sounds bad (at 7 frames for example) and I play the session at half speed (shift-space bar) the pan being played is still chopped up allthough now being played over a period of 14 frames. When I create a 14 frame long pan and play that in real-time it sounds fine.

So far Iīve found no way to get smooth very quick pans in PT. How do other people do this?

Thanks,

Frank.

EDIT: I just found this thread on the same issue: http://duc.digidesign.com/showthread.php?t=261571

But if itīs because of amplitude modulation, why the flip is PT still playing the fade with all the level drops when you play back at half speed. Makes no sense to me.
__________________
PTHDn 2019.6 (OSX10.14.4), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-15-2010, 10:42 AM
nucelar's Avatar
nucelar nucelar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 383
Default Re: Fast paning weirdness

Does not happen here (LE 7.4)
Weired.. Have you tried adding extra breakpoints inbetween?
Edit: Duh, I tested it with regular stereo. Nevermind
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-15-2010, 10:48 AM
tilman tilman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 177
Default Re: Fast paning weirdness

itīs funny. I tested it while I was in a 96 KHZ session. there the problem
became noticable at 4 frames. now opened a 48 kHz session
there it occurs at 7 or 9 frames.

So I guess the soloution is to work at higher samplerate.


I tested LCR on Protools 8.03 LE Complete Prod. Toolkit
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-15-2010, 11:02 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,356
Default Re: Fast paning weirdness

Quote:
Originally Posted by tilman View Post
itīs funny. I tested it while I was in a 96 KHZ session. there the problem
became noticable at 4 frames. now opened a 48 kHz session
there it occurs at 7 or 9 frames.

So I guess the soloution is to work at higher samplerate.


I tested LCR on Protools 8.03 LE Complete Prod. Toolkit
Hm. So Iīm going to tell the re-recording mixer that all the car bys are in a seperate session and he has to switch the studio to 96k to be able to continue the mix?
Not sure about that.

Seriously: I think itīs a bug, no?
I always thought that if thereīs one thing thatīs easier and more precise to do in a DAW than on a console itīs fast pan automation. Seems like I was wrong. I guess Iīll have to leave to panning to the mixer. Luckily the film is not being mixed on PT ;-D

Frank.
__________________
PTHDn 2019.6 (OSX10.14.4), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-15-2010, 11:10 AM
tilman tilman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 177
Default Re: Fast paning weirdness

automation and a lot of plugin stuff perform a lot better at higher samplerates.

seems that the resoloution of protools automation is tied to the sessions samplerate. I bet some other daw programers have implemented more resoloution in their daw automation!


I would check it out! I persume if you do this in a 192 kHz session it will be even less frames before this negative effect appears.

but the answer in the other thread is wrong this has nothing to do with
amplitude modulation.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-15-2010, 11:12 AM
tilman tilman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 177
Default Re: Fast paning weirdness

so what I mean is when the sword fight comes he should switch to 192 kHz.

I bet this glitch exists in every protools version!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-15-2010, 11:27 AM
FlorianE FlorianE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Zurich
Posts: 301
Default Re: Fast paning weirdness

Frank,

have you tried to bounce your panned cars to another track in half-speed record? Fast automation issues can sometimes be 'bypassed' that way.

Cheers
Florian
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-15-2010, 11:45 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,356
Default Re: Fast paning weirdness

Quote:
Originally Posted by FlorianE View Post
Frank,

have you tried to bounce your panned cars to another track in half-speed record? Fast automation issues can sometimes be 'bypassed' that way.

Cheers
Florian
Florian,

problem is that when you play a 7-frame pan at half speed (resulting at 14frames) PT will still play back the pan with multiple level drops. You can try it yourself.

(see my first posting)

Frank.
__________________
PTHDn 2019.6 (OSX10.14.4), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-15-2010, 01:34 PM
tilman tilman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 177
Default Re: Fast paning weirdness

other workaround would be some 3 CH panorama plugin by a third party developer
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-15-2010, 01:56 PM
Postman Postman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Metropolis
Posts: 2,370
Default Re: Fast paning weirdness

Adding extra break points makes a HUGE imporovement. I'll post some screenshots and come back here with a link.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New PT10 User. MBox3, MAudio Fast Track Ultra, MAudio Fast Track 8R? epu Pro Tools 10 3 06-13-2012 03:55 PM
digi 001 nor paning right?? broken81 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 11-26-2006 08:37 AM
IR/1 weirdness jeff markham Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 6 09-01-2006 12:54 AM
Paning a stereo channel rodrigo21 Tips & Tricks 2 05-31-2005 07:39 AM
Surround Paning on C24 blairl ICON & C|24 5 07-06-2002 07:36 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:24 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com