Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-01-2016, 01:45 PM
VRS VRS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 112
Default PT 12.5 Video Engine

Sorry for the long post.

I've installed 12.5. Works fine until I try to load video.

I load a session that has an h.264 video track and a ProRes video track.

"The video engine had an unrecoverable error.
Would you like to reinitialize the Video Engine"
I select "Yes" of course.

Then I get "Pro Tools encountered an error quitting the Video Engine" with an "OK" button. So I select "OK". Then I get the same error, and I click OK.

I get "Waiting for the Video Engine to launch ..." then the session loads.

Then I get:
"The session contains media that is not supported possibly due to a missing CODEC." "OK"

The session finishes loading and the ProRes video track is there but no video, but the video is fine on the h.264 track. I have another exact same session, but it has a dnx version of the video. I load it and it's fine. I go back to the previous session, and the ProRes version is fine.

I made a session that just had ProRes and I get the same errors.

I have found that when I quit ProTools I seem to get this error sequence almost every time, no matter what video format I have in the session. ( I just tried it with the dnx copy and got the same sequence of errors.) The sessions load but no video. I immediately close and re-open the session and everything is fine.

I've tried a few different sessions now. 3 different videos (different clients even). All the same thing. As long as PT is running I can change sessions and it's fine. The first time the Video Engine loads it gets the error and I have to close and re-open the session for the video to work.

I've also tried starting PT with a session that has no video, then loading a video into that session. I get "There was an error with the Video Engine" or something. It has to quit the video engine. It gets an error. Tries again. Sometimes the video loads fine, sometimes not. But if I then load another session with video it's fine.

If I go back to 12.4, everything works fine.

I've re-installed 12.5, trashed prefs. No difference.

Anybody Else?

Vince

Mac OS X 10.9.5, 32 Gigs RAM, BlackMagic DeckLink SDI 4K
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-01-2016, 02:03 PM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,857
Default Re: PT 12.5 Video Engine

Pro res works very well on my system. Both osx and Windows
__________________
Brandon Howlett
Vibe Audio Post, Inc.
Re-recording Mixer
Custom Build CPU, HDX 1, Omni, 192 I/O Digital
S6 M10 24 fader
Satellite Mac Pro, HDNative, 192 I/0
Black Magic HD Extreme
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-01-2016, 06:05 PM
gives's Avatar
gives gives is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,170
Default Re: PT 12.5 Video Engine

Quote:
Originally Posted by VRS View Post
Sorry for the long post.

I've installed 12.5. Works fine until I try to load video.

I load a session that has an h.264 video track and a ProRes video track.

"The video engine had an unrecoverable error.
Would you like to reinitialize the Video Engine"
I select "Yes" of course.

Then I get "Pro Tools encountered an error quitting the Video Engine" with an "OK" button. So I select "OK". Then I get the same error, and I click OK.

I get "Waiting for the Video Engine to launch ..." then the session loads.

Then I get:
"The session contains media that is not supported possibly due to a missing CODEC." "OK"

The session finishes loading and the ProRes video track is there but no video, but the video is fine on the h.264 track. I have another exact same session, but it has a dnx version of the video. I load it and it's fine. I go back to the previous session, and the ProRes version is fine.

I made a session that just had ProRes and I get the same errors.

I have found that when I quit ProTools I seem to get this error sequence almost every time, no matter what video format I have in the session. ( I just tried it with the dnx copy and got the same sequence of errors.) The sessions load but no video. I immediately close and re-open the session and everything is fine.

I've tried a few different sessions now. 3 different videos (different clients even). All the same thing. As long as PT is running I can change sessions and it's fine. The first time the Video Engine loads it gets the error and I have to close and re-open the session for the video to work.

I've also tried starting PT with a session that has no video, then loading a video into that session. I get "There was an error with the Video Engine" or something. It has to quit the video engine. It gets an error. Tries again. Sometimes the video loads fine, sometimes not. But if I then load another session with video it's fine.

If I go back to 12.4, everything works fine.

I've re-installed 12.5, trashed prefs. No difference.

Anybody Else?

Vince

Mac OS X 10.9.5, 32 Gigs RAM, BlackMagic DeckLink SDI 4K
I recently switched from H.264 after years of using it.

I would take a look a this list from Avid.
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...r-Pro-Tools-11

It says that H.264 (Performance may vary).. Not sure what that means, but have been using DNxHD (Preferred) or just an mp4 without issues. G
__________________
Gregory Ives, Composer/Sound Designer/Musician
http://www.gregives.com
https://pro-labs.imdb.com/name/nm1170521/?ref_=sch_int

Protools 2019.10 Ultimate HD Native Thunderbolt Avid HD IO
Mac Pro 3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 64GB of Ram
OSX Mojave 10.14.6, Digital Performer 9.5, Logic Pro X 10.4.6
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-01-2016, 11:44 PM
EarHole EarHole is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 781
Default Re: PT 12.5 Video Engine

This issue really needs to be fixed. It's caused my room to go down multiple times with no solution. Converting to Pro Res is a pain in the heat of battle with a room full of clients. It also makes archiving more copious.

I've worked on Pro Tools for about 20 years, day in, day out. My current system is fast and powerful but asking it to be rock solid on the video front like my previous rigs is a fleeting dream.

Editors are kicking out and posting video & revisions in mp4 and h.264 for mix files. It's a way of life for us these days.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-02-2016, 12:03 AM
Buccanears's Avatar
Buccanears Buccanears is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 759
Default Re: PT 12.5 Video Engine

They can't simply "fix it". It's the nature of the format. H264 is a delivery format fit for the best high quality kitten videos on the interwebs.
It is not a format for post production.
https://randycoppinger.com/2012/06/1...nd-h264-video/
__________________
Q "where are your buccanears?"
A "on your buccanhead!"
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-02-2016, 02:15 AM
Mark Ziebarth Mark Ziebarth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1998
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 667
Default Re: PT 12.5 Video Engine

That's true. I tested with Pro Tools 11 the other day and H264 videos performed as well as dnxHD. They've been even less CPU consuming, what I didn't expect.
__________________
Mac Pro 2010 3.66 GHz six Cores, HD Native, 192 I/O, Avid Dock, Artist Mix and Pro Tools Ultimate
Mac Pro 2008, RME Fireface, Pro Tools 12, Euphonix MC Control
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-02-2016, 04:01 AM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,857
Default Re: PT 12.5 Video Engine

Quote:
Originally Posted by Buccanears View Post
They can't simply "fix it". It's the nature of the format. H264 is a delivery format fit for the best high quality kitten videos on the interwebs.
It is not a format for post production.
https://randycoppinger.com/2012/06/1...nd-h264-video/
Exactly
__________________
Brandon Howlett
Vibe Audio Post, Inc.
Re-recording Mixer
Custom Build CPU, HDX 1, Omni, 192 I/O Digital
S6 M10 24 fader
Satellite Mac Pro, HDNative, 192 I/0
Black Magic HD Extreme
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-02-2016, 09:16 AM
diamondschwin diamondschwin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nashville/NYC
Posts: 468
Default Re: PT 12.5 Video Engine

Have had decent experience with the new video engine. The new black magic drivers are still terrible so we are sticking to 10.4.x but those also had to be reinstalled after the 12.5 upgrade.

Glad they have moved the video engine up. I'm guessing that's in preparation for official support of the DNXio and DNXHR and 2k/4k
__________________
Max Holland
Producer / Re-Recording Mixer
Nashville / NYC

MKD Creative

HOBO Audio
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-02-2016, 10:53 AM
VRS VRS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 112
Default Re: PT 12.5 Video Engine

Please don't get set off on an h.264 path. It's got nothing to do with h.264.

I always get clients to send me DNx or ProRes, or I convert to DNx. The session I imported just happened to have the original h.264 picture in it as well. I did a bunch of tests with various video codecs to see what was up. It doesn't matter which codec I use I get these errors.

I never edit with h.264.

I heard from a buddy of mine last night who's getting the same Video Engine errors. He emailed me to see if I had similar problems.

Vince
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-02-2016, 01:31 PM
HDXSound HDXSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 62
Default Re: PT 12.5 Video Engine

Dnxhd videos generate the same errors on my rig...
__________________
PT 12.7.1 (HDX1) - OSX Sierra 10.11.6 - Mac pro (late 2013) 3,5 GHz 6 Core Intel Xeon E5
32 Gb int memory - AJA IO Express - Artist Mix & Control
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
'The Video Engine reported and error' message when trying to play any video zerothrills Pro Tools 12 9 Yesterday 11:37 PM
video engine loftus Pro Tools 11 1 08-19-2015 03:15 PM
Video Engine not working.. crashing when i load in a video to PT11 sarahsherlock Pro Tools 11 5 08-16-2014 01:35 AM
PT 10HD with MXF Video wants Video Engine? rantanplan Pro Tools 10 2 06-05-2014 10:50 AM
Boot Screen "Not Recognized Video Hardware Connected", "video engine failed to init bcrichguitar macOS 3 04-01-2012 10:10 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:49 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com