Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Artist Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-17-2016, 04:25 AM
streamingtheatre streamingtheatre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 11
Default Need help for disabling faders on artist mix

Hello, i need help to assign a Soft Key in Avid Transport / Pro Tools control.
The function "Faders off" is gone in Eucon 3.4, but there is a possibility to assign a softkey. But I can`t find these options in my softkey editor.
In the read-me (Eucon 3.4) they say "add a EUCON command, then navigate the Soft Key Editor to the Global command options and choose Fader". I can`t find global commands in my editor. Is it only for protools?
My DAW is Cubase 8.5

Thanks a lot for helping
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-17-2016, 02:14 PM
MoPro's Avatar
MoPro MoPro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Tampa Bay Area, USA
Posts: 75
Default Re: Need help for disabling faders on artist mix

Yea... I cannot find the EuCon "Faders Off" command either! And I'm also using Cubase 8.5.20!

It does seem that the Global Options Menu must only pertain to Pro Tools!

Interesting that the documentation does not reference this detail!

Here is the documentation for those who haven't heard:

"Change to Suspend Fader/Faders Off Feature (S3, Artist Control, Artist Mix)
The ability to Suspend Faders (S3) and Faders Off (Artist Control and Artist Mix) has been changed. Previously, pressing Shift + Solo
(on strip 1) would turn faders off and they would no longer move in response to automation. This switch combination no longer enables
Faders Off mode, because it prevented access to Solo while Shift was engaged.

Faders Off is still available for Soft Key assignment on units that support Soft Keys (S3, and Artist Control). To assign Faders Off to a
Soft Key, add a EUCON command, then navigate the Soft Key Editor to the Global command options and choose Faders Off.

Artist Mix does not support Soft Keys. However, if your system includes Artist Mix in addition to Artist Control or Artist Transport, you
can assign Faders Off to a Soft Key on either of those units (Faders Off affects all connected surfaces)."


Okay... I assume what they meant to say was: If you have a Artist Control and/ or an Artist Transport, both of which support Soft Key assignments... then you will be able to implement the "Faders Off" EuCon command, and the Artist Mix will go along for the ride!


The rub seems to be that the "Faders Off" function doesn't seem to be available to DAW's other than Pro Tools if the DAW coders have not explicitly added this new EuCon function into their EuCon Adapter... in this case Steinberg!

Of course this is conjecture on my part, but it would be extremely helpful for some clarification on this issue by someone from AVID!

Al
__________________
Computer Asus P9X79 Deluxe | Intel i7 3930k | 32 Gig Ram | Intel 520 SSD's | 2T Caviar Black
Software Win 7 Ultimate (64bit) | Cubase Pro 9.5.41 (64bit) | WaveLab 9.5.25 (64bit) | HALion 6 (64bit)
Hardware RME FireFace's UFX / 800 | MOTU MTP AV USB | Avid Artist Series: Control, Mix, and Transport | EuControl ver. 18.3

Last edited by MoPro; 07-17-2016 at 02:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-17-2016, 06:22 PM
Ryan Young's Avatar
Ryan Young Ryan Young is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 1,617
Default Re: Need help for disabling faders on artist mix

It'd be a workaround, but...

You could create 8 empty tracks at either the top or the bottom of your session. When you want to "turn the faders off", you can bank all the way left or right to get your "dead" faders.
__________________
-Ryan Young

•Pro Tools 12.6 (x2)
•OSX 10.11 & 10.12
•Mac Pro 2 x 2.66 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon (x2)
•16 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 (x2)
•HD Native PCIe (x2)
•HD Omni (x2)
•192 i/o
•96 i/o
•4 Seagate Barracuda 1.5TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive
•Blackmagic Intensity Pro (HDMI)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-18-2016, 05:28 PM
MoPro's Avatar
MoPro MoPro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Tampa Bay Area, USA
Posts: 75
Default Re: Need help for disabling faders on artist mix

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan Young View Post
It'd be a workaround, but...

You could create 8 empty tracks at either the top or the bottom of your session. When you want to "turn the faders off", you can bank all the way left or right to get your "dead" faders.
LOL Nice try!

With no visual feedback, or the ability to make adjustments... You might as well just turn the damn things off!

Al
__________________
Computer Asus P9X79 Deluxe | Intel i7 3930k | 32 Gig Ram | Intel 520 SSD's | 2T Caviar Black
Software Win 7 Ultimate (64bit) | Cubase Pro 9.5.41 (64bit) | WaveLab 9.5.25 (64bit) | HALion 6 (64bit)
Hardware RME FireFace's UFX / 800 | MOTU MTP AV USB | Avid Artist Series: Control, Mix, and Transport | EuControl ver. 18.3
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-19-2016, 12:20 AM
Ryan Young's Avatar
Ryan Young Ryan Young is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 1,617
Default Re: Need help for disabling faders on artist mix

If you have HD, put them into trim mode. That might solve your specific request.
__________________
-Ryan Young

•Pro Tools 12.6 (x2)
•OSX 10.11 & 10.12
•Mac Pro 2 x 2.66 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon (x2)
•16 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 (x2)
•HD Native PCIe (x2)
•HD Omni (x2)
•192 i/o
•96 i/o
•4 Seagate Barracuda 1.5TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive
•Blackmagic Intensity Pro (HDMI)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-19-2016, 07:46 PM
MoPro's Avatar
MoPro MoPro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Tampa Bay Area, USA
Posts: 75
Default Re: Need help for disabling faders on artist mix

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan Young View Post
If you have HD, put them into trim mode.
HD... What's HD? ?
__________________
Computer Asus P9X79 Deluxe | Intel i7 3930k | 32 Gig Ram | Intel 520 SSD's | 2T Caviar Black
Software Win 7 Ultimate (64bit) | Cubase Pro 9.5.41 (64bit) | WaveLab 9.5.25 (64bit) | HALion 6 (64bit)
Hardware RME FireFace's UFX / 800 | MOTU MTP AV USB | Avid Artist Series: Control, Mix, and Transport | EuControl ver. 18.3
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-26-2019, 04:53 PM
XJENSEN XJENSEN is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Gent, Europe, Belgium
Posts: 82
Default Re: Need help for disabling faders on artist mix

To 'Suspend All Faders', use Command Type 'Surface' and navigate to Options>General>Suspend All Faders.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-26-2019, 05:21 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,105
Default Re: Need help for disabling faders on artist mix

You are replying to a 2016 post. The version they used back then did not have that option.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BANKING FADERS on ARTIST CONTROLLERS rmoondoggy Artist Series 19 03-05-2015 07:43 PM
Artist Series replacement faders tiagodutra Artist Series 12 12-20-2014 09:22 AM
Any way of preventing Faders from moving? Artist Mix with MC5 sven2615 Artist Series 5 10-12-2012 03:04 AM
buzzing faders on Artist Control garnoil Artist Series 2 09-03-2012 12:11 PM
002 console with c24 - disabling faders possible? DJ FADE ICON & C|24 4 03-19-2008 08:39 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:47 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com