Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-03-2012, 12:38 AM
Kris75's Avatar
Kris75 Kris75 is offline
Space Cabin Audio
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,554
Default Here are Premier Pro Settings for OMF Export.

After many weeks/months of struggling with Premier Pro's audio limitations, I have put together a small tutorial of dealing with it so your PT experience can be desirable.

First off, Premier HATES .wav files.


Here is a screen shot of how Premier removes metadata on a BWF

https://skydrive.live.com/redir?resi...EBBBBC6EF7!485

This clearly shows that even though the file name is correct, the bit depth of the file is wrong.


Here is the only way I have found to get a proper OMF out of Premier.


OMF Settings are as follows.

Sample Type: 24 Bit 48k
OMF Settings:
MEDIA: Referenced
Media Formant: AIFF
Use Entire File



Besides all of this, the OMF referenced media should be placed in the same folder as the omf. I have had mixed results with larger OMF's (over 20gigs of ref audio).

Even though the original media was 24 bit 48k BWF files, I could not get them to relink due to the fact that Premier would not bring over the Bit Depth Metadata from the .wav file.

Here is a pic link to the OMF Settings out of Audition

https://skydrive.live.com/redir?resi...EBBBBC6EF7!484
__________________
Sign up for all things....AWESOME!




Kris
May the music move you
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-03-2012, 10:40 AM
C C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: LA, CA, USA
Posts: 926
Default Re: Here are Premier Pro Settings for OMF Export.

Thanks for posting these.

Is this the same for an AAF?
__________________
--
Ceri Thomas
Personal Site
Mix Tech/Assistant Sound Editor
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-03-2012, 10:46 AM
Kris75's Avatar
Kris75 Kris75 is offline
Space Cabin Audio
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,554
Default Re: Here are Premier Pro Settings for OMF Export.

I have not had ANY success getting an AAF out of Premier. They say it's possible, but I have my doubts...
__________________
Sign up for all things....AWESOME!




Kris
May the music move you
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-09-2012, 04:32 PM
Gregor B. Gregor B. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Deutschland
Posts: 62
Default Re: Here are Premier Pro Settings for OMF Export.

Gee, Premier Pro sucks for serious post work doesnt it?
I recorded location sound with Cantar X and labeled like crazy, scene/take, actors, take type, TCs, everything.
PP seems to just trash all of that metadata except TC and name it something cryptic. The production had to buy a BWF tool that writes all of that metadata in the filename, so at least the information itself gets passed on.
Still I cant even be sure I will receive a decent OMF afterwards. Live could be so easy with simply going from Cantar to AVID to Protools...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-10-2012, 02:48 AM
tamasdragon tamasdragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hungary
Posts: 2,190
Default Re: Here are Premier Pro Settings for OMF Export.

It's really so frustrating. Almost everybody tells us that it is not hard to implement and handle metadata, yet so few applications treat it properly.
__________________
my blog:Tamas Dragon
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-10-2012, 03:31 AM
Sonopolis Sonopolis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Berlin
Posts: 234
Default Re: Here are Premier Pro Settings for OMF Export.

Thanks for posting this here.

Also remember that your editor must not use the multi-cam (multi-clip?) feature in Premier, as it does not translate to the OMF and will simply leave gaps in the timeline!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-10-2012, 11:14 AM
Kris75's Avatar
Kris75 Kris75 is offline
Space Cabin Audio
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,554
Default Re: Here are Premier Pro Settings for OMF Export.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregor B. View Post
Gee, Premier Pro sucks for serious post work doesnt it?
I recorded location sound with Cantar X and labeled like crazy, scene/take, actors, take type, TCs, everything.
PP seems to just trash all of that metadata except TC and name it something cryptic. The production had to buy a BWF tool that writes all of that metadata in the filename, so at least the information itself gets passed on.
Still I cant even be sure I will receive a decent OMF afterwards. Live could be so easy with simply going from Cantar to AVID to Protools...
I have lived it. You can not use BWF .wav files with PP. At least not for export.

You can't use BWF.wav files either. Pro Tools will never find them and it's because it strips the bit depth meta data off of the file......That is why .aif is the only option. I find it funny that picture editors everywhere are using Premier Pro and never once consider that handing over audio to the post team is such an important step.
__________________
Sign up for all things....AWESOME!




Kris
May the music move you
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-10-2012, 11:19 AM
Kris75's Avatar
Kris75 Kris75 is offline
Space Cabin Audio
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,554
Default Re: Here are Premier Pro Settings for OMF Export.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sonopolis View Post
Thanks for posting this here.

Also remember that your editor must not use the multi-cam (multi-clip?) feature in Premier, as it does not translate to the OMF and will simply leave gaps in the timeline!
This explains why on the last movie I worked on I was missing so much dialogue!!!!

Thank you for posting this!!!!!!!!!!!!
__________________
Sign up for all things....AWESOME!




Kris
May the music move you
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-11-2012, 10:37 AM
Kris75's Avatar
Kris75 Kris75 is offline
Space Cabin Audio
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,554
Default Re: Here are Premier Pro Settings for OMF Export.

I should also add that if you get an OMF from PP and it is .wav, you can open it in Adobe Audition and export a new OMF using AIFF. It takes forever but is faster than trying to get anything from the picture editor!
__________________
Sign up for all things....AWESOME!




Kris
May the music move you
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-25-2012, 03:36 AM
ochadie ochadie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: York
Posts: 1
Default Re: Here are Premier Pro Settings for OMF Export.

My premier pro does not give me the option to export an OMF, but I need a file type compatible with Pro tools, what should I do?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recommended EDL Export Settings? peter5992 Post - Surround - Video 10 06-10-2012 07:33 AM
iTunes EXPORT settings? tommydigiowen 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 04-09-2011 08:41 AM
mp3 export should remember settings, no? digidesigner Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 03-15-2009 03:53 AM
Export i/o settings bug 7.4.2 CS1 tsr2 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 09-15-2008 11:09 AM
How to export channel settings rokko 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 03-14-2005 03:14 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com