Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-07-2012, 04:49 AM
scottee scottee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 17
Default Balancing volume of a stereo track

Hello all
Can someone tell me how to adjust the volume of each side of a stereo track separately as one side is louder than the other? I am a complete newbie.
__________________
Pro Tools 10.3.6/11.0.1, M-Audio Fast Track Ultra 8R, Desktop - Intel i5 2.66GHz 1st gen, 12GB RAM, MS Windows 7 64-bit SP1, Laptop - Intel i7 2nd gen, 1.8GHz, 4GB RAM, MS Windows 7 64-bit SP1, Ibanez SZ720 Guitar, BOSS GT8 Guitar processor, 2 x KRK VXT4 monitors, KRK 10S sub, M-Audio Keystation 49e, M-Audio Microtrack II
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-07-2012, 05:09 AM
PD-John PD-John is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 488
Default Re: Balancing volume of a stereo track

Have you tried using clip gain to match the left/right levels?

You can also use the "Trim" plugin (in the Multi-Mono > Other menu) to adjust L/R levels - just be sure to unlink the channels on the plugin by clicking the button with the chain icon, near "Bypass".

Even otherwise, I'd recommend downloading and installing the free BlueCat bundle here:

http://www.bluecataudio.com/Products..._FreewarePack/

Along with the bundle comes a "Stereo Gain" plugin that allows you to individually adjust levels for left and right channels on a stereo track.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-07-2012, 05:21 AM
scottee scottee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 17
Default Re: Balancing volume of a stereo track

When I select the track and then select Clip/Clip Gain, I am presented with Bypass Clip Gain or Render Clip Gain which is greyed out. This makes no sense to me so I will download the BlueCat bundle and see how I go.
Thanks
__________________
Pro Tools 10.3.6/11.0.1, M-Audio Fast Track Ultra 8R, Desktop - Intel i5 2.66GHz 1st gen, 12GB RAM, MS Windows 7 64-bit SP1, Laptop - Intel i7 2nd gen, 1.8GHz, 4GB RAM, MS Windows 7 64-bit SP1, Ibanez SZ720 Guitar, BOSS GT8 Guitar processor, 2 x KRK VXT4 monitors, KRK 10S sub, M-Audio Keystation 49e, M-Audio Microtrack II
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-07-2012, 05:28 AM
scottee scottee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 17
Default Re: Balancing volume of a stereo track

Which one of the following should I download for Windows 7 64 bit SP1:
Win x64-DX / Win x64-VST
__________________
Pro Tools 10.3.6/11.0.1, M-Audio Fast Track Ultra 8R, Desktop - Intel i5 2.66GHz 1st gen, 12GB RAM, MS Windows 7 64-bit SP1, Laptop - Intel i7 2nd gen, 1.8GHz, 4GB RAM, MS Windows 7 64-bit SP1, Ibanez SZ720 Guitar, BOSS GT8 Guitar processor, 2 x KRK VXT4 monitors, KRK 10S sub, M-Audio Keystation 49e, M-Audio Microtrack II
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-07-2012, 05:34 AM
scottee scottee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 17
Default Re: Balancing volume of a stereo track

I have re-read your post and will try again.
__________________
Pro Tools 10.3.6/11.0.1, M-Audio Fast Track Ultra 8R, Desktop - Intel i5 2.66GHz 1st gen, 12GB RAM, MS Windows 7 64-bit SP1, Laptop - Intel i7 2nd gen, 1.8GHz, 4GB RAM, MS Windows 7 64-bit SP1, Ibanez SZ720 Guitar, BOSS GT8 Guitar processor, 2 x KRK VXT4 monitors, KRK 10S sub, M-Audio Keystation 49e, M-Audio Microtrack II
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-07-2012, 06:13 AM
PD-John PD-John is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 488
Default Re: Balancing volume of a stereo track

Sorry, disregard the clip gain suggestion - when using clip gain on a stereo track it'll only change the level of both left and right at the same time...

The Trim or BlueCat plugins should be the easiest option. Or you can do it the long way by selecting the track, choosing Track > Split Into Mono, setting the levels right on the 2 mono tracks using clip gain, then selecting both tracks and dragging them back onto the stereo track. To use clip gain, click on the little fader icon at the bottom right corner of every audio clip. When you click it, your mouse should become a fader, and you can slide up or down to increase/decrease the level of that clip.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-07-2012, 10:47 AM
Rob_A Rob_A is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: NB Canada
Posts: 64
Default Re: Balancing volume of a stereo track

I've been splitting st track to mono, balance levels then re-combine in a stereo track again. Not sure if this is the correct way but it seems to work for me.

Cheers
Mani
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-07-2012, 05:28 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,916
Default Re: Balancing volume of a stereo track

Many stereo plugins allow for NOT ganging L&R. One of those would allow for turning up the output on one side to match levels.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-07-2012, 06:56 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,547
Default Re: Balancing volume of a stereo track

Quote:
Originally Posted by scottee View Post
Hello all
Can someone tell me how to adjust the volume of each side of a stereo track separately as one side is louder than the other? I am a complete newbie.
Insert the multi-mono Trim plug-in, unlink, then adjust the gain to one side, or select Track > Split into Mono then adjust.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-11-2012, 04:46 AM
scottee scottee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 17
Default Re: Balancing volume of a stereo track

Thanks everyone for your suggestions. I ended up downloading the Blue Cat's Freeware Plug-ins Pack II AAX and used the Blue Cat’s Gain (Dual) and it was very easy.
__________________
Pro Tools 10.3.6/11.0.1, M-Audio Fast Track Ultra 8R, Desktop - Intel i5 2.66GHz 1st gen, 12GB RAM, MS Windows 7 64-bit SP1, Laptop - Intel i7 2nd gen, 1.8GHz, 4GB RAM, MS Windows 7 64-bit SP1, Ibanez SZ720 Guitar, BOSS GT8 Guitar processor, 2 x KRK VXT4 monitors, KRK 10S sub, M-Audio Keystation 49e, M-Audio Microtrack II
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Left/Right volume control on stereo track Don Geppert Tips & Tricks 18 01-20-2017 05:16 AM
Mono Aux to Stereo track, volume level compensation? JackCoghill Post - Surround - Video 7 02-12-2014 06:45 AM
Another output volume / balancing set up question Mickslick Eleven Rack 0 04-22-2011 06:40 PM
Adjusting Volume of Individual Sides of a Stereo Track mbyeates 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 12-26-2010 10:47 AM
Stereo audio track volume/pan question... Roy Howell 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 05-25-2004 01:33 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com