Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-27-2011, 02:21 PM
ianmiller ianmiller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 216
Default OMNI question - # of inputs

Can anyone help me figure out how many concurrent inputs you can have on the Omni? The PT HD native set up seems to let me have 8 in total as a mixture of analog and digital - but the guide talks about 4 x 8 analog stream or 8 x 8 with digital. I know I can only use the 4 analog inputs, but can I also use 8 ADAT plus SPDIF for example or is it always just any selection of 8 different inputs?

Thanks for any help....

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-27-2011, 07:04 PM
Greg M Greg M is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Alpena, MI
Posts: 1,245
Default Re: OMNI question - # of inputs

Any combination of analog and digital, but the sum total of inputs is 8.

Greg
__________________
Intel i7 3930K, Gigabyte GA-X79-UP4 (rev 1.0), 32 GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 ram, EVGA Nvidea GT 720 TI video card, a Samsung 850 Pro (256 GB) OS drive, 2 Samsung 850 Pro's (512 GB) in externally mounted drive bays for session and sample storage, Win 10 Pro, PT Ultimate (Native)2019.10, HD Omni, HD I/O 16x16 .
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-27-2011, 08:34 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,778
Default Re: OMNI question - # of inputs

Correct. For example, you could have 4 analog, 2 spidf, and 2 adat. Or 2 analog, 6 adat, etc.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
...add more inputs to OMNI mandal Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 28 03-20-2017 10:51 AM
confused about omni inputs! PT user Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 12 05-12-2014 08:50 AM
Trim Optical Inputs on OMNI? dwaynedelario Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 13 03-13-2013 02:34 PM
HD Omni inputs vin7 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 4 03-04-2013 09:36 PM
HD OMNi + 8 pre Adat how many inputs? Claudioska Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 6 02-18-2013 09:12 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:21 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com