Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-13-2011, 09:59 AM
Dax Productions Dax Productions is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 43
Default Cheapest way to get a complete production toolkit?

Follow up thread to the one about cheapest way to get PT10!

Want the toolkit, don't want to pay $2000!

Any clever loopholes?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-13-2011, 10:31 AM
avatar9000 avatar9000 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Albuquerque, NM.
Posts: 107
Default Re: Cheapest way to get a complete production toolkit?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dax Productions View Post
Follow up thread to the one about cheapest way to get PT10!

Want the toolkit, don't want to pay $2000!

Any clever loopholes?
Get the clients you record using PT10 to pay for it?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-13-2011, 10:50 AM
Chingy Chingy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 405
Default Re: Cheapest way to get a complete production toolkit?

Find somebody selling their license. Check the Gearslutz forums.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-13-2011, 12:26 PM
Rob_A Rob_A is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: NB Canada
Posts: 64
Default Re: Cheapest way to get a complete production toolkit?

Found mine on Gearslutz for 400$ just before PT10 arrived.

Good luck
Mani
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-13-2011, 01:04 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,905
Default Re: Cheapest way to get a complete production toolkit?

Or just buy PT10 HD
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-14-2011, 12:03 AM
slater05 slater05 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 188
Default Re: Cheapest way to get a complete production toolkit?

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Or just buy PT10 HD
I was considering that during the summer when you could get an HD9 licence off of ebay for $2-300. But after seeing the upgrade prices for HD users I'm sure glad I didn't.
__________________
www.mikeslatermusic.com
PTHD9 Certified Operator
15" MBP 10.7.2
Pro Tools 10.0
Apogee Duet
M-Audio BX5A's
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-14-2011, 12:27 AM
ErikGuldager ErikGuldager is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Stockholm, sweden
Posts: 114
Default

Well upgrading the hd license for 999$ or buying a cptk for 2000, your choice.


---
I am here: http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=59.321959,18.483584
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-14-2011, 02:43 AM
nainesh nainesh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 196
Default Re: Cheapest way to get a complete production toolkit?

Get the dv toolkit 2 at a good price from ebay and then upgrade to the complete production toolkit.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/DV-Toolkit-2...#ht_500wt_1156

the problem is that Avid have taken off the upgrade from their website at the moment for whatever reason. So as long as you aren't in a hurry this would definitely be the bargain (or cheaper route) imo.
__________________
Home: Pro Tools 2018.12, Mac Pro 5.1, 3.33 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon, macOS 10.12.6, 32GB RAM, Crucial SSD MX200, Audient ID22

Studio: Pro Tools 8 HD2, Lynx Aurora, Power PC

http://www.snorkelstudios.co.uk

http://www.flotationtoywarning.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-14-2011, 06:15 AM
DeButte DeButte is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Magog, Quebec.
Posts: 55
Default Re: Cheapest way to get a complete production toolkit?

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Or just buy PT10 HD
Can you run PT10HD as a standalone (without any PCIe card or any interface???)
If so, what price either by itself or for an upgrade from Pt10 Native?
__________________
DeButte
MacPro 2.8Ghz 8 cores, 12Gb Ram, Pro Tools 10, Eleven Rack, Mc Mix
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-14-2011, 06:38 AM
Oblivion777's Avatar
Oblivion777 Oblivion777 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Slovenia, E.U.
Posts: 495
Default Re: Cheapest way to get a complete production toolkit?

I don't think you can run PT10HD without HD/Native/HDX card(s) in the computer. You can run PT10 (non-HD) as a standalone, though. I also know that if you have PT10 with CPTK you basically get all the functionalities of an HD system. Though I understand your issue here; since if I buy PT10 (say bundled with MBox3 for example) then I can run this on my MBox3 computer, but I can also take the dongle out and run PT10 without any interface on another computer. Since PT10HD users can do pretty much the same in terms of carrying around dongles and using them on different computers, too - the question is what license is actually deposited on PT10HD iLok.

My guess (I CANNOT confirm or deny this) is that when you authorize PT10HD two licenses are deposited on your iLok, one for PT10 and one for PT10HD. If my assumption is correct, then you can use PT10 on another computer by inserting you iLok and installing PT10 software. However you will NOT have all the HD features as that would require CPTK license as well which I really doubt is part of the "HD" package.

Any comments/feedback?
__________________
**********
Main DAW: MacPRO 5.1, 8-Core Xeon 2.93GHz, 24 GB RAM, OSX 10.13.6, HDX2, PT2019 Ultimate, 2x UAD-2 Quad Satellites (v9.x) 2x HD I/Os, 1x Omni HD I/O, C|24 Control Surface
Auxilary DAW: MacBook Pro with Retina Display (2012), 2.6GHz quad-core Intel Core i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.13.6, PT2019 Ultimate, 1x UAD Apollo Quad Audio Interface /w Thunderbolt Interface (v9.x)
**********
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Complete Production Toolkit dstryrwiz Buy & Sell 2 09-10-2013 11:46 AM
WTB: Complete Production Toolkit redroomstudio Buy & Sell 0 12-09-2012 12:31 PM
Upgraded from DV Toolkit 2 to Complete Production Toolkit...No Downloadable Content Sayt0n Windows 2 07-29-2012 07:04 AM
upgrade from DV toolkit 2 to complete production toolkit nossnevs Post - Surround - Video 33 01-25-2011 08:09 AM
Cheapest Source For The Music Production Toolkit? alfadog Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 5 12-22-2006 05:08 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:39 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com