Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-29-2010, 03:52 PM
lbaca lbaca is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Geneva, Switzerland
Posts: 3
Question Mbox 2 Pro: S/PDIF limited to 48 kHz?

Hi folks!

I'm a new arrival at the DUC and also new to Pro Tools, and I'm stumped with an issue with S/PDIF. I want to track a dry guitar signal as sent by my POD X3 Live's S/PDIF out. I set the POD's S/PDIF output sample rate to match the session sample rate on PTLE, and set the clock source to "S/PDIF".

I have no issues whatsoever at 44.1 and 48 kHz, but if I create a new session at 88.2 or 96 kHz, the clock source is reverted to "Internal" and, what's more, the other two options ("S/PDIF" and "Word Clock") disappear from the clock source drop-down (i.e., the only possible value is "Internal"). This applies to the clock source setting both in Setup > Hardware in PTLE, and in the Mbox 2 Pro control panel in Windows.

The POD X3 can output S/PDIF in all four sample rates. Why does the Mbox 2 Pro only allow an S/PDIF clock source at 41.1 or 48 kHz, and not at 88.2 or 96 kHz?

Thanks in advance for your feedback!
__________________
Leandro

Mbox 2 Pro / Pro Tools LE 8.0.3cs2 / Windows XP Professional 32-bit / Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83 GHz / ASUS P5Q Deluxe / 4 GB DDR2 1066 GHz RAM / 3 x 640 GB WD Caviar Black HDDs / PreSonus FaderPort / M-Audio O2 MIDI controller / Line 6 POD X3 Live
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-29-2010, 03:59 PM
rqstudio rqstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,322
Default Re: Mbox 2 Pro: S/PDIF limited to 48 kHz?

Probably another reason Digi would expect you to go to HD.
__________________
www.rickqueststudio.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-29-2010, 04:47 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,988
Default Re: Mbox 2 Pro: S/PDIF limited to 48 kHz?

If I had two horses and wanted to sell the lesser of the two for way more money, I would Handicap the better horse until the lesser horse started to look good.

The problem I would create for myself is, horses from other owners would start beating both of my horses.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-29-2010, 05:05 PM
rqstudio rqstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,322
Default Re: Mbox 2 Pro: S/PDIF limited to 48 kHz?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
If I had two horses and wanted to sell the lesser of the two for way more money, I would Handicap the better horse until the lesser horse started to look good.

The problem I would create for myself is, horses from other owners would start beating both of my horses.
That's a stretch but in a weird way, I understand it. If I had two horses ...oh forget it.
__________________
www.rickqueststudio.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-29-2010, 10:02 PM
yellowjacket yellowjacket is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 142
Default Re: Mbox 2 Pro: S/PDIF limited to 48 kHz?

I found this in the Pro Tools LE 7.1.3r2 Read Me:

External Clock Not Supported at Higher Sample Rates (Item #79394, 80746, 80961, 76544)
Although Mbox 2 Pro supports sample rates of up to 96 kHz, its external clock sources (S/PDIF and Word Clock) are only supported
in 44.1 and 48 kHz sample rate sessions.
__________________
Cubase 5.5.1 :: Ableton Live 7.0.18 :: Pro Tools M-Powered 8.0.4
Windows XP Home SP3 :: Gigabyte GA-EP45-DS3R :: Core 2 Quad Q6600 2.4GHz :: 4GB DDR2-800
Mac OS X Leopard 10.6.4 :: Macbook Pro 2.16GHz :: 3GB DDR2-667
Access Virus TI Polar :: M-Audio Profire 2626 :: UAD-2 Duo :: UAD-1
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-30-2010, 12:24 AM
lbaca lbaca is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Geneva, Switzerland
Posts: 3
Thumbs up Re: Mbox 2 Pro: S/PDIF limited to 48 kHz?

Quote:
Originally Posted by yellowjacket View Post
I found this in the Pro Tools LE 7.1.3r2 Read Me:

External Clock Not Supported at Higher Sample Rates (Item #79394, 80746, 80961, 76544)
Although Mbox 2 Pro supports sample rates of up to 96 kHz, its external clock sources (S/PDIF and Word Clock) are only supported
in 44.1 and 48 kHz sample rate sessions.
Thanks, yellowjacket! I had thought to search in the reference guide, setup guides, and everywhere else on the internet, but never even thought of finding it in a "Read Me". That'll teach me...

This being in the "Known Issues" list does give me hope that it may one day be resolved. Do you guys know if there are any pressure points I could hit at Avid to add my voice to this one issue?

Thanks again!
__________________
Leandro

Mbox 2 Pro / Pro Tools LE 8.0.3cs2 / Windows XP Professional 32-bit / Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83 GHz / ASUS P5Q Deluxe / 4 GB DDR2 1066 GHz RAM / 3 x 640 GB WD Caviar Black HDDs / PreSonus FaderPort / M-Audio O2 MIDI controller / Line 6 POD X3 Live
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-30-2010, 02:29 AM
lbaca lbaca is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Geneva, Switzerland
Posts: 3
Default Customer Support case submitted

I submitted a case with Avid's customer support. I'll update when I get a reply.
__________________
Leandro

Mbox 2 Pro / Pro Tools LE 8.0.3cs2 / Windows XP Professional 32-bit / Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83 GHz / ASUS P5Q Deluxe / 4 GB DDR2 1066 GHz RAM / 3 x 640 GB WD Caviar Black HDDs / PreSonus FaderPort / M-Audio O2 MIDI controller / Line 6 POD X3 Live
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-15-2010, 03:02 PM
zionbrian zionbrian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Loomis, CA
Posts: 4
Default Re: Mbox 2 Pro: S/PDIF limited to 48 kHz?

Hi,

Please forgive the naivety, but will using the MBox's clock (verses my Rosetta 200's clock through SPDIF) have an undesirable effect on the project?

It looks like my options might be to either do a session at 48kHz using the Rosetta clock or 96kHz using the MBox's clock.

Thanks so much for any insights on this!

Brian
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-15-2010, 03:27 PM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,360
Default Re: Mbox 2 Pro: S/PDIF limited to 48 kHz?

Ooops, never mind, I thought you were talking about the new mboxes that were released yesterday.

I'm pretty sure that the Mbox 2 pro can only sync externally to 48khz
__________________
- John

If a MIDI event triggers a sample of a tree falling and there's no one there to hear it, does it make a sound?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-15-2010, 04:56 PM
zionbrian zionbrian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Loomis, CA
Posts: 4
Default Re: Mbox 2 Pro: S/PDIF limited to 48 kHz?

Thank you, John!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using an 11R with an MBox via S/PDIF and no PT - possible? richpjr Eleven Rack 3 02-20-2012 06:26 PM
Mbox 2 and S/PDIF? withneilandi123 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 02-15-2008 01:23 PM
MBox 2 pro S/PDIF Ganesa Nizar 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-22-2008 08:32 PM
MBox 1 S/PDIF Phillip Sidlow 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-27-2007 04:14 PM
IMac G5 & MBox limited at 16 tracks problem. MT Groove 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 05-19-2006 01:11 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:24 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com