Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-13-2009, 11:02 AM
Dozerbabar Dozerbabar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 95
Angry PT8 constant -6101 cpu issue - HELP!

Ok, this is just crazy...

I started a sesson, all was working out fine, and suddenly, boom, the cpu hit the ceiling and the sound dissapeard. I've tried every step possible in problem solving, including changing every cable, but the problem is still there. I even tried record on three separate discs, I've tried resetting the Lightbridge, re-installed the drivers on the Lightbridge, installed the lastest cs-patch for PT, trashing prefs and so on. I've even tried two different Lightbridges!!

After a restart PT might work for 5 minutes before it happens again.

Running PT8cs3 (I installed cs3 after the first round of errors...)
Leopard 10.5.6
Macbook Pro 15" c2d 2.16 with 3 gb of ram
Profire lightbridge with lates firmware-updates and bootloader

I'm stuck here. Need som help.
__________________
www.molotow.no
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-14-2009, 12:38 PM
Dozerbabar Dozerbabar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 95
Default Re: PT8 constant -6101 cpu issue - HELP!

A little update:

I did a clean install of the whole mac yesterday. The only additional plugs and add-ons I installed (which all should be qualified) was:
- Music production toolkit 2
- The Massey plugs
- Mellowmuse ATA
- SPL Free Ranger

We recorded for a few hours today when I got the CPU-error (6101) and after that: No sound! I restarted everything, but no change.

So we had a backup mac that I installed PT8 on and this worked flawlessly for the rest of the session (5 hours or so). We even recorded on the internal harddrive as this mac only has one FW connection.

__________________
www.molotow.no
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-14-2009, 07:25 PM
Skyflash Skyflash is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 337
Default Re: PT8 constant -6101 cpu issue - HELP!

Are either your Bluetooth and/or Airport turned on?
You could also try disabling Spotlight as I believe it needs to be off to run PT.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-15-2009, 05:36 AM
Dozerbabar Dozerbabar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 95
Default Re: PT8 constant -6101 cpu issue - HELP!

I'm using a bluetooth mouse, always have, don't see why that should be causing the problem. Always had the airport on aswell.

Spotlight is disabled :)

I've tried to run the Lightbridge on a separate bus and all was well for a few hours, but as soon as PT decides to f&ck with me I need to shut the mac down, restart the Lightbridge and turn everything back on to get sound.

Restarting PT does not help. Resetting the Lightbridge does not help. Everything needs to be shut down.

DIGI: Anything?? I CANNOT work like this!
__________________
www.molotow.no
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-15-2009, 12:11 PM
maxpidgee maxpidgee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 142
Default Re: PT8 constant -6101 cpu issue - HELP!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dozerbabar View Post
I'm using a bluetooth mouse, always have, don't see why that should be causing the problem. Always had the airport on aswell.

Spotlight is disabled :)

I've tried to run the Lightbridge on a separate bus and all was well for a few hours, but as soon as PT decides to f&ck with me I need to shut the mac down, restart the Lightbridge and turn everything back on to get sound.

Restarting PT does not help. Resetting the Lightbridge does not help. Everything needs to be shut down.

DIGI: Anything?? I CANNOT work like this!

anything?? ok, FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS!!! turn off blue tooth, airport, etc....
__________________
www.myspace.com/maxpidge
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-17-2009, 09:38 AM
Dozerbabar Dozerbabar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 95
Default Re: PT8 constant -6101 cpu issue - HELP!

Not to be an ass here Max, but I have NEVER had any problems with bluetooth and airport on. I need the bluetooth for my mouse anyway, so there has got to be another solution?

To do a little update I did a pretty long mixing session yesterday without major problems. I got one error, had to restart PT = no sound. Had to restart the whole system to get it back. After that it was no hassle. Didn't record anything though.

But it seems like the performance in PT8 MP is not as good as it was when I used 7.4 LE. Is there anything to that or is that another "bug" in my system?
__________________
www.molotow.no
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-22-2009, 11:27 PM
tekis tekis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 172
Default Re: PT8 constant -6101 cpu issue - HELP!

I like "Bad Reputation"! Good old hard rock. My LB only works on its OWN FW buss--no sharing! I actually use a USB 2.0 drive for my audio. I have a Mac Mini w/one FW port. I'm running MP PT8 as well. I never update these things once they start running well. Did you do some kind of update to your OS before seeing any problems? Good luck, I hope you get it sorted out.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-23-2009, 05:15 AM
Dozerbabar Dozerbabar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 95
Default Re: PT8 constant -6101 cpu issue - HELP!

Quote:
Originally Posted by tekis View Post
I like "Bad Reputation"! Good old hard rock. My LB only works on its OWN FW buss--no sharing! I actually use a USB 2.0 drive for my audio. I have a Mac Mini w/one FW port. I'm running MP PT8 as well. I never update these things once they start running well. Did you do some kind of update to your OS before seeing any problems? Good luck, I hope you get it sorted out.
Thanks, I think that track turned out pretty cool

I read a lot on M-audios forums as well. It seems like everything works now with the LB on its own FW bus. I have tried a USB audio drive as well and no problems so far.

Thanks for helpful advice, tekis
__________________
www.molotow.no
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-29-2009, 07:45 AM
Dozerbabar Dozerbabar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 95
Default Re: PT8 constant -6101 cpu issue - HELP!

Damn, back in the same old cpu-spikes loop.

This is unbearable!!

Any suggestions, Digi?
__________________
www.molotow.no
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-29-2009, 10:58 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,631
Default Re: PT8 constant -6101 cpu issue - HELP!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dozerbabar View Post
Damn, back in the same old cpu-spikes loop.

This is unbearable!!

Any suggestions, Digi?
Have you tried it with bluetooth disabled, as asked for previously?

We know you may not have had problems before, but you're having them now and bluetooth is known to be problematic at times, so best to test without it and see what happens.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ERROR -6101 constant bakerja Pro Tools 11 11 11-08-2013 08:27 AM
Constant -6101 errors while recording bleen macOS 21 05-29-2013 06:17 PM
PT8 constant -6101 cpu issue, Let's do something mistlabz Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 47 08-31-2009 06:15 AM
Constant error messages (-6101), (-9128) MdotCash 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 42 07-14-2009 04:15 PM
Constant -6101 errors mpeddle 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 15 03-10-2009 10:03 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:10 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com