Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-03-2006, 07:25 AM
1150Post 1150Post is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 431
Default New JL Cooper Surround Panner

Anyone know of/have a product shot or get to actually see/touch this new panner at NAB? I'd love to see it and hear some thoughts.

Thanks!
__________________
Brad McIlvaine
Sr. Mixer/Designer
Henninger Media Services
Washington, DC 20036
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-03-2006, 08:17 PM
Chief Technician's Avatar
Chief Technician Chief Technician is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,981
Default Re: New JL Cooper Surround Panner

I saw it. It's knobs are similar to the "D" series control surfaces. The knobs are not touch-sensitive in any way (think MotorMix). The joystick is touch-sensitive, but not motorized. The build quality did not look too bad for $1,700 MSRP. It is MIDI based, which I suppose is a good thing in that you can integrate it easily. It could be undesirable if you are one to complain about MIDI latency.

Oh, did anyone mention that v7.2 has group panning? I'm thinking I might want to wait for the 2nd hardware revision of it. I say this only because we bought some first-run Command|8s, and while they are great, I did have to get them outfitted with a mod that Digidesign introduced in a hardware revision after the initial release.
__________________
Jonathan S. Abrams, CEA, CEV, CBNT
Apple Certified - Technical Coordinator (v10.5), Support Professional (v10.6 through v10.10)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-04-2006, 09:42 AM
iamstudios iamstudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Leiden, ZH, Netherlands
Posts: 434
Default Re: New JL Cooper Surround Panner

Damn. I wish Digi/Gallery could bring my Axis Panner back to life. Spending another $1700 for almost the same panner doesn't feel right. We just need a hardware profile for the Axis Digi!! I'm willing to pay for that.
__________________
i am studios b.v.
www.iam-studios.com
audio post production. music composition. sound design
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-04-2006, 04:32 PM
mtung mtung is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 475
Default Re: New JL Cooper Surround Panner

$1700????! Damn! for a single midi panner. And no motorized pot. Doesn't this seem a bit steep? And a little "80's"

Ouwwwwwwch!

The bummer is that I need this and I they know it.

crap.

mike
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-05-2006, 07:48 AM
JanuS JanuS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 262
Default Re: New JL Cooper Surround Panner

Quote:
Damn. I wish Digi/Gallery could bring my Axis Panner back to life. Spending another $1700 for almost the same panner doesn't feel right. We just need a hardware profile for the Axis Digi!! I'm willing to pay for that.
Me too !!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-08-2006, 01:36 PM
bad jitter bad jitter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Tellus
Posts: 1,374
Default Re: New JL Cooper Surround Panner

Are you alking about JL Cooper MCS-Panner or about some other joystick? Anybody used MCS-Panner with Pro Tools (it should work)?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-08-2006, 06:01 PM
emf1138 emf1138 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 485
Default Re: New JL Cooper Surround Panner

Quote:
Are you alking about JL Cooper MCS-Panner or about some other joystick? Anybody used MCS-Panner with Pro Tools (it should work)?
I think it's gonna be the successor to the MCS-P. However, I do still have my MCS-Panner running under 7.1 and it works great.
__________________
Eric Freeman, CAS
Sound Supervisor/Re-Recording Mixer
Disney TV Animation
IMDB
LinkedIn
www.emfreq.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-09-2006, 06:01 AM
bad jitter bad jitter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Tellus
Posts: 1,374
Default Re: New JL Cooper Surround Panner

Quote:
However, I do still have my MCS-Panner running under 7.1 and it works great.
Nice to hear! What profile are using with it? HUI?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Surround panner by JL Cooper peter5992 Post - Surround - Video 6 09-10-2013 10:37 PM
Use JL Cooper Surround Panner without Control Surface banamsclc Post - Surround - Video 6 04-05-2013 07:08 AM
JL Cooper Surround Panner Not Working paranoia MIDI 0 09-09-2008 12:53 PM
JL Cooper Surround panner...?? P A M ICON & C|24 4 11-03-2006 03:30 PM
New Digi/JL Cooper external surround panner! Stuart P. Post - Surround - Video 1 09-27-2006 02:44 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:21 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com