Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Artist Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 10-21-2015, 12:25 AM
mrtomcat mrtomcat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Studio City
Posts: 225
Default Re: Mix won't power on

Unbelievable

I just ordered a brand new unit, it arrived today, ran for about 10 minutes and froze. I then tried to restart it and the power never came back.
This is my an additional mix control to my existing one which has been perfect for the past 2 years.

I am furious. All these posts here and no fix from Avid? Going to bring it back to Vintage King tomorrow, hopefully they'll exchange it without me having to go through Avid support.
Avid seriously needs to let go of every single exec and start the company from scratch. So not ok
__________________
Mixing/Producing/Recording
PT Ultimate 2019.5
Wavelab Pro 9.5
UAD Satellite Octo Thunderbolt,
Apollo Twin Duo,
HDX Card running in Sonnet TB3 expansion box,
2x Avid I/O Analog 16/16,
4x Artist Mix, Avid Dock, PT Control,
Mac Mini 2018 32gig ram 1 TB SSD 6 Core running Mojave,
lots of outboard gear
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 10-21-2015, 02:02 AM
streamingtheatre streamingtheatre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 11
Default Re: Mix won't power on

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtomcat View Post
Unbelievable

I just ordered a brand new unit, it arrived today, ran for about 10 minutes and froze. I then tried to restart it and the power never came back.
This is my an additional mix control to my existing one which has been perfect for the past 2 years.

I am furious. All these posts here and no fix from Avid? Going to bring it back to Vintage King tomorrow, hopefully they'll exchange it without me having to go through Avid support.
Avid seriously needs to let go of every single exec and start the company from scratch. So not ok
From time to time I´ve had the same problem here. I have to deconnect the power supply and then it works again. Did you try?
Best regards
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 10-22-2015, 01:16 AM
mrtomcat mrtomcat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Studio City
Posts: 225
Default Re: Mix won't power on

yes, I did but no luck. I tried again this morning and nothing.

I returned it to VK and got a replacement unit and this one is working. Hopefully that's it... Avid needs to address this, too many people running into this problem.
__________________
Mixing/Producing/Recording
PT Ultimate 2019.5
Wavelab Pro 9.5
UAD Satellite Octo Thunderbolt,
Apollo Twin Duo,
HDX Card running in Sonnet TB3 expansion box,
2x Avid I/O Analog 16/16,
4x Artist Mix, Avid Dock, PT Control,
Mac Mini 2018 32gig ram 1 TB SSD 6 Core running Mojave,
lots of outboard gear
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 03-22-2016, 05:04 PM
hanksinclair hanksinclair is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: City
Posts: 59
Default Re: Mix won't power on

One of my 2 Artist Mix also was dead, no reaction on pushing the power on button.

The good news:

I repaired it today. There's an inductivity (a net filter) that shows up as L7. It was defect. I desoldered and replaced it by 2 connections (GND and VCC), I don't think L7 is really necessary, it's for EMC purposes only.

BUT:

Do the same only if you have enough experience in soldering tiny parts (SMD), otherwise you will damage the board!

Last edited by hanksinclair; 03-22-2016 at 05:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 11-08-2016, 02:42 PM
Psychotropic's Avatar
Psychotropic Psychotropic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Oslo
Posts: 28
Default Re: Mix won't power on

Bought a mc mix second hand, after about 6 months it didnt power on anymore. Probably an internal power failure like mentioned here.

At this price point its just hilarious that Avid cut the production costs by using crappy internal power components that doesnt withstand, ehh, power.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 05-31-2018, 04:27 AM
Bokir Bokir is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
Posts: 226
Default Re: Mix won't power on

Does anybody have an experience in repairing the unit and willing to share and describe how to debug the problem and fix it.



I just have my second Mix died and I won't buy another one for sure (at the current price).


I'm a practical electronic DIY'er and can handle SMD.
Really appreciate for any help.
__________________
Satrio Budiono
FourMix Audio Post


Mac Pro (2013) 3.7GHz Quad Core, 32GB RAM, OS X 10.13.4, PT Ultimate 2018.10, Sonnet TB2 III-D, Avid HDX 2, Avid Sync HD, Avid HD Omni, JBL Intonato, JBL 708P & 705P
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 05-31-2018, 10:37 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,224
Default Re: Mix won't power on

What has died ? Have you checked the power supply?
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 05-31-2018, 11:23 AM
Bokir Bokir is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
Posts: 226
Default Re: Mix won't power on

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
What has died ? Have you checked the power supply?

Yes, beside the Control we do have two Artist Mix. I have swapped the power supply--it works with the Mix, and the Mix PS didn't work on the Control.

The Control won't turn on. It's just dead like the old one. It's very rarely used though.

Any idea which component to check?
__________________
Satrio Budiono
FourMix Audio Post


Mac Pro (2013) 3.7GHz Quad Core, 32GB RAM, OS X 10.13.4, PT Ultimate 2018.10, Sonnet TB2 III-D, Avid HDX 2, Avid Sync HD, Avid HD Omni, JBL Intonato, JBL 708P & 705P
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 06-06-2018, 08:21 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,224
Default Re: Mix won't power on

So the Mix's Power supply won't power on the Control either ? Sounds like the power supply is dead.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 11-08-2019, 01:49 AM
Dutchmountain Dutchmountain is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 39
Default Re: Mix won't power on

I had the same problem with the Artist Mix. Couldn’t power it on using the power button but solved it the following way...

1) Remove the backpanel ( 9 black Torq screws )
2) Lift of the Aluminum plate
3) Locate the inductor labeled L7 on the circuit-board close to the power connector.
4) re-solder the 4 legs of L7

That was all and after connecting it to the powersupply my Artist Mix was working again using the power button.

So there was definitely a bad soldering connection on the circuit board.

In other Posts on several forums some people reported that the L7 was damaged
In that case you have to replace it.

Hope this helps
Best regards Hans
__________________
Artist Mix, Artist Mc Control, Pro Tools, Cubase, Imac 27”
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Would this UPS (Uninterrupted Power Supply) protect and power my gear? D_Japan macOS 4 07-24-2011 05:23 PM
002R Faults + power harness + no phantom power DaveSB 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-26-2009 02:10 AM
Correct Order to Power Up & Power Down Digi 002 Rack? bilco 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 02-12-2008 07:57 AM
Mbox 2 power consumption? How much of a power load is this spaids 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 07-30-2007 07:27 AM
002 rack power harness power suplly issue rockstah 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-07-2004 12:04 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:03 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com