Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-06-2019, 03:30 PM
mixgate mixgate is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Toyko
Posts: 11
Default Pro tools on Mojave It's time

I am not ever wanting chase the latest and greatest but last October I had to upgrade my dead 2014 MBP to a new 2018 model. It ONLY CAME with Mojave I cannot downgrade it. Mojave beta came out is June 2018 its now May 2019 - still no Mojave.
We have paid Avid thousands of dollars to keep all of our systems to date with Ultimate support plans. All I have say is next month Apple is releasing a new OS.
Why must we pay for support plans and not get any support?
I was under the district impression for Avid's own promises that Avid was going to bring out updates faster because they were no longer going to provide free upgrades - OK I get it development costs money -- get it together!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-06-2019, 03:38 PM
priorytools priorytools is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,124
Default Pro tools on Mojave It's time

Yup, welcome to Avid.
Are you 100% sure your new MBP can’t go back to High Sierra ?

https://forums.macrumors.com/threads...2128487/page-2
__________________
~ Trashcan Mac Pro late 2013 - 64 GB RAM - 10.12.6 / Pro Tools Ultimate 12.5 / HDX 2 + UAD2 PCIe OCTO in Magma Expressbox 3T / HD I/O's x 4 + 1 x 96io / Avid S6 M10-24-5 V19.9.1 ~
~ MBP 15" 2.8 Intel Core i7 -10.12.6 /Apollo 16 / Steinberg U22 / Artist MIx / Pro Tools HD 12.8.3 - UAD2 V8 / UAD2 Satellite DUO ~
~ Mac Pro 8 core - clover - 13 GB ram - 10.6.8 / HD5 / Pro Tools 9.0.6 / HEAT / Magma PE6R4 / ProControl 24 faders / UAD2 QUAD PCIe ~ ARCHIVE RIG
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-06-2019, 06:27 PM
jeam25's Avatar
jeam25 jeam25 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 2,610
Default Re: Pro tools on Mojave It's time

Quote:
Originally Posted by mixgate View Post
All I have say is next month Apple is releasing a new OS
Hi friend can you tell more about this ? I've search a little but didn't had luck finding more . I imagine is a new release of Mojave right ?
__________________
- Jesus Alvarado -

Keep the volume UP !
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-06-2019, 06:44 PM
PhilSchroeder's Avatar
PhilSchroeder PhilSchroeder is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 87
Default Re: Pro tools on Mojave It's time

Truth. There are other formats and they're getting very good. I've made the switch because Avid doesn't care about me.
__________________
MacPro 2013, 12 core, 48G RAM
OS 10.14.6
Apollo x6 & Twin
Pro Tools 2019.10
Avid Artist Mix (2)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-06-2019, 06:45 PM
Anthony Jr.'s Avatar
Anthony Jr. Anthony Jr. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hammonton, NJ
Posts: 125
Default Re: Pro tools on Mojave It's time

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeam25 View Post
Hi friend can you tell more about this ? I've search a little but didn't had luck finding more . I imagine is a new release of Mojave right ?
He's most likely referring to WWDC 2019, the conference where Apple unveils the OS upgrade (10.15) that will appear for Fall 2019 and offers the first beta copies to developers.

In some capacity, it's just a little funny because it marks an entire year that AVID has had some sort of developer's copy of Mojave in hand. It's somewhat understandable why they wait for a release candidate before checking for compatibility (since the OS betas go through many changes over the months), but it doesn't excuse that there has been no compatibility release since 10.14 arrived on September 24, 2018.
__________________
2018 18-Core iMac Pro / 64GB RAM / Mojave 10.14.3 / Protools 2018.12 / Apollo 8XP / Love
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-06-2019, 06:45 PM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,686
Default Re: Pro tools on Mojave It's time

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeam25 View Post
Hi friend can you tell more about this ? I've search a little but didn't had luck finding more . I imagine is a new release of Mojave right ?


WWDC.

New OS shown, NOT released. Release is usually around September.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-06-2019, 06:47 PM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,686
Default Pro tools on Mojave It's time

Quote:
Originally Posted by priorytools View Post
Yup, welcome to Avid.
Are you 100% sure your new MBP can’t go back to High Sierra ?

https://forums.macrumors.com/threads...2128487/page-2


Correct.

That machine shipped with 10.13.6, so the OP can roll back to High Sierra.

At this stage, with 2019.5 due any day now, it would be pointless. Well, unless that release is a ****show.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-06-2019, 06:51 PM
jeam25's Avatar
jeam25 jeam25 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 2,610
Default Re: Pro tools on Mojave It's time

Ok thanks both .
__________________
- Jesus Alvarado -

Keep the volume UP !
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-06-2019, 07:04 PM
PhilSchroeder's Avatar
PhilSchroeder PhilSchroeder is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 87
Default Re: Pro tools on Mojave It's time

Hey, FWIW, I am running 2018.12 on Mojave in native mode (now using Presonus Quantum 4848) with no troubles whatsoever. The buffer issues mentioned in the compatibility page haven't been a factor at all. I'm working at 44.1/24, rather than higher sample rates, and that might make a difference. I can understand if you're concerned about mission critical stuff but it's rock solid here.

One very important Mojave thing that doesn't get a lot of press is that you MUST allow your audio programs (any of them, really) to access the microphone (you'll be asked during installation). "Microphone" to Apple means any and all audio inputs. It's pretty bad on Apple's part to phrase it that way, but it's what it is.
__________________
MacPro 2013, 12 core, 48G RAM
OS 10.14.6
Apollo x6 & Twin
Pro Tools 2019.10
Avid Artist Mix (2)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading Pro Tools to run with Mojave? Schlou Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 10 05-09-2019 08:30 PM
Pro Tools on Mojave / High Sierra Becharax Pro Tools 2018 5 04-24-2019 02:27 AM
Unable to use Pro Tools on iMac Pro with Mojave [solved] jasonkalman Pro Tools 2018 5 01-26-2019 09:33 PM
No more input from Mbox Pro 3 into Pro Tools 11 on Mojave? DrFox Pro Tools 11 3 10-26-2018 10:44 AM
Installing Pro Tools 10 on Mojave ReynaldoPena macOS 15 10-20-2018 10:47 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:49 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com