Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 07-30-2014, 07:18 AM
Rob_A Rob_A is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: NB Canada
Posts: 64
Default Re: Freezing!!!! NOW WHAT?

Hi, does the computer crash to a blue screen? You could use the free utility program "who crashed" to get more clues. Also you could use the "MS resource manager" as you navigate your session to see what the demands are on the cpu/ram...etc.

I just came out of a random crash scenario with my i7/win7-64bit/PT10/saffire 56 setup and it was bad ram. The box would randomly crash to a blue screen in the middle of a session. The breaking point was when it crashed and the most horribly loud screech noise almost took out my monitors (and give me a heart attack). I used the a free memory tester program to diagnose a bad Ram dimm, changed it and all is fine since.

Good luck
Rob
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-30-2014, 08:11 PM
klutzee klutzee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Marion
Posts: 18
Default Re: Freezing!!!! NOW WHAT?

No blue screen.

The "import session file" suggestion worked for one session. The second one I tried did not...will try again with other sessions and report back...

Thanks again to all!!!!
__________________
Klutzee
https://soundcloud.com/klutzee

Sweetwater Creation Station Tower
Windows 7-64 bit
16 gig RAM
Presonus Firestudio Project
Pro Tools 10
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
It's freezing out here Red Raven Audio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 06-01-2011 02:59 PM
Pro tools SLOW, and Freezing then continuing, then freezing again DJX-RAY 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 05-09-2011 08:52 AM
OSX 10.4.1 PT 6.9.2 Freezing JLeigh2024 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 06-10-2005 09:32 AM
PT freezing up in OSX DaveCarlock Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 03-02-2005 12:27 AM
PT freezing under 5.1 barryt Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 05-20-2001 06:20 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:36 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com