Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-04-2010, 08:09 AM
Siegfried Meier Siegfried Meier is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,433
Default Remote Desktop

I'd like to be able to use my laptop to control my HD rig, and be able to walk around my studio. Is Apple Remote Desktop generally the way people are doing this? Any problems? Is there a better solution?

Thanks,
Sig
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-04-2010, 08:13 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,549
Default Re: Remote Desktop

It's built into the OS. It's called Screen Sharing but must be turned on in the Sys Prefs.

With a Finder window open, simply click on the Computer you want to control in the Sidebar, and select Share Screen. Works like a charm, do it all the time.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-04-2010, 08:47 AM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: Remote Desktop

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmazurek View Post
It's built into the OS. It's called Screen Sharing but must be turned on in the Sys Prefs.

With a Finder window open, simply click on the Computer you want to control in the Sidebar, and select Share Screen. Works like a charm, do it all the time.
With the right app... this can also be done via an ipad/iphone.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-04-2010, 09:23 AM
Siegfried Meier Siegfried Meier is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,433
Default Re: Remote Desktop

VERY COOL!!! I had no idea, works like a charm!

What is the iPhone app you're talking about? That would be great.

Thanks,
Sig
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-04-2010, 09:48 AM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: Remote Desktop

One particularly good screenshare app is called Jaadu/iTeleport. Great interface, and runs well. Also does a good job just as a remote touch pad.

There are also several apps like AC-9 and ProRemote that act as a wireless control surface for most DAWs.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-04-2010, 09:48 AM
Keith Robichaux's Avatar
Keith Robichaux Keith Robichaux is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 75
Default Re: Remote Desktop

http://www.synthtopia.com/content/20...display-trick/

This may be of interest.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-04-2010, 09:50 AM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: Remote Desktop

Quote:
Originally Posted by Keith Robichaux View Post
... and then there's Air Display, which turns your iPad into a second monitor.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-04-2010, 10:14 AM
therecordinghouse therecordinghouse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Fort Wayne, IN.
Posts: 1,094
Default Re: Remote Desktop

iRemote for iPhone and iPod touch is free. I used it all the time.

http://www.scientific-soft.com/mobil...p/menu-iremote
__________________
Lynn Graber
Studio and Mobile Recording, Fort Wayne, IN.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Wonders of Remote Desktop RussUK 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 10-28-2008 12:46 AM
Remote Desktop and Digi PT Jeff E Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 11-13-2007 09:00 PM
Apple Remote Desktop keny Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 22 03-12-2006 07:20 AM
Anyone ever run PTLE using XP Remote Desktop? K.B. 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 02-29-2004 12:18 PM
Digidesign and remote desktop jean-Sébastien Veillette 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 05-24-2003 08:48 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:13 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com