Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-09-2019, 02:08 PM
subwoof subwoof is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 516
Default HDX card still only shows 256 tracks

PT 2019.5.0 Ultimate is installed, along with the driver. My HDX card was also updated in the process but only show 256 tracks when opening a previous session. How do I get the promised track increase?
__________________
Michael McDonough, M.P.S.E.
Michael McDonough Sound Design


http://www.mcdonoughsound.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-09-2019, 02:13 PM
tbov tbov is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Russia
Posts: 39
Default Re: HDX card still only shows 256 tracks

I have read somewhere that they will update hdx voice count with the next update.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-09-2019, 02:14 PM
Jamie Mac Jamie Mac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Posts: 50
Default Re: HDX card still only shows 256 tracks

There is no change for hdx users in this update.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-09-2019, 07:35 PM
ProtoolsLover ProtoolsLover is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 108
Default Re: HDX card still only shows 256 tracks

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamie Mac View Post
There is no change for hdx users in this update.
Seems to be a pattern over the last 5 years......
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-10-2019, 06:08 AM
ejsongs ejsongs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: los angeles
Posts: 415
Default Re: HDX card still only shows 256 tracks

Quite disappointed here over the hdx thing. The ONLY reason I renewed my subscription was for the increased voice count on hdx...now I am not sure exactly what the $400 was for. I don't know what the "near future" means. Avid could always take the hit and swap out the cards for the 15% user base where the upgrade doesn't work. the simple fact that I've kept current with my subscription should mean something.

I've been on pro tools since version 5. Been through tdm to tdm 2 to aaxdsp and 3 sets of cards (mix/accel/hdx), have owned all or most of their plugins for over 10 years or more now. I'm just not really seeing the benefit of this subscription other than putting money in Avid's pocket. At least with Waves Wup I get new plugins every year...not that I need more.

I guess natively the voice count thing is ok at best. My dante based Presonus Studio One rig has unlimited voices and a delay compensation engine up to I believe 32,000 samples. It can also record audio at buffer size of 16 samples at 44.1/48k.

Avid is losing me and has been for sometime. I hope they do something that makes me want to stay on this train other than my one sided loyalty or how heavily i've invested in them over the years.

Something...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-19-2019, 12:48 PM
sound01 sound01 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: London
Posts: 89
Default Re: HDX card still only shows 256 tracks

Quote:
Originally Posted by ejsongs View Post
Quite disappointed here over the hdx thing. The ONLY reason I renewed my subscription was for the increased voice count on hdx...now I am not sure exactly what the $400 was for. I don't know what the "near future" means. Avid could always take the hit and swap out the cards for the 15% user base where the upgrade doesn't work. the simple fact that I've kept current with my subscription should mean something.

Something...
Same - Running 7.1.2 FX Sessions for films chews through the voices.

I paid my fee after Xmas, sure in the knowledge that more voices were coming in the 'near future', then I had to wait until May for 2019.5 and what do I get, nothing.... Oh, a new iPad layout for the free Control App, very helpful.

What's the point? Someone mentioned that they thought a HDX firmware update before the summer would sort this out. I'll take a bet on that, as I don't expect we'll be seeing anything new until the winter sets in. By which time, I and few other editors will probably have sold their HDX cards, bought native boxes and have pocketed the change.

I'll accept any reasonable offers for my card, if anyone's looking.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-23-2019, 03:52 PM
SDDP SDDP is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angles, CA
Posts: 504
Default Re: HDX card still only shows 256 tracks

What a major conundrum and catch 22.
I'm on a HDN and was ecstatic when I heard PT 2019 was adding 128 track. It's a HUGE plus and major breakthrough in workflow for late 5.1 films. At first PT11 broke the 32 bit barrier going 64 with more power and first time ever utilizing the Mac Pro's potential and of course being able to use more then the 3-4GB ram limit. So paid the re-instatement plan to go PT2019.5 of 1K, because of the added 128 voice ONLY to find out that now I have more tracks and thus using more (and of course more bus/aux/etc) more CPU and getting our beloved -9173. So I was opting to give in and get an HDX card for more HP in the CPU area. Every % helps in the CPU....ONLY....to find out that not only do I end up spending $3,699 for a card (plus the re-instatement of the $1,000) but I loose my extra 128 tracks and go back to 256 after spending about 5K?

Huh?
__________________
-Mac Pro 5,1 12core 2.4GHz Westmere 40g
-RX 580 8GB GPU
-OSX 10.12.6 on a 1TB SSD Via PCIE card
-PTHDN 2019.5 Ultimate
-HD Omni
-BM Intensity Pro

-Waves Mercury+SSL4000 Collection+Abbey Roads
-iZotope RX7 Advanced
-iZotope Post Production Suite 3
-iZotope Music Production Suite 2.1
-HALO UP/DOWN MIX
-ANYMIX
-Delonghi Perfecta ESAM 5600.S
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-09-2019, 02:15 PM
krabbencutter krabbencutter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: germany
Posts: 76
Default Re: HDX card still only shows 256 tracks

By waiting The new HDX Firmware needed some more tweaking.
You can read the whole story here: https://www.pro-tools-expert.com/hom...sive-interview
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-09-2019, 03:22 PM
subwoof subwoof is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 516
Default Re: HDX card still only shows 256 tracks

Quote:
Originally Posted by krabbencutter View Post
By waiting The new HDX Firmware needed some more tweaking.
You can read the whole story here: https://www.pro-tools-expert.com/hom...sive-interview
Thanks for the link. I'm glad that Avid wants to get it right, but disappointed after reading the article that there is still a "sliver" of a chance it won't work for all HDX users. I would have appreciated a great big notice in the "What's New" page first thing in bold 24 point that let us HDX users know that the major feature of this release is not included, but "hopefully" will someday work and be released. I hope it happens.
__________________
Michael McDonough, M.P.S.E.
Michael McDonough Sound Design


http://www.mcdonoughsound.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-09-2019, 02:19 PM
subwoof subwoof is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 516
Default Re: HDX card still only shows 256 tracks

You've got to be kidding! That's BOGUS!! I've waited the whole year for that feature. The Read Me does not reflect that. Grrrrrr......
__________________
Michael McDonough, M.P.S.E.
Michael McDonough Sound Design


http://www.mcdonoughsound.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
protools 2019 384 tracks per hdx card? FilterDecay Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 6 02-08-2019 12:31 PM
Group Edits on Shows Tracks Applied TeamContra Tips & Tricks 0 01-05-2015 11:02 AM
When I reopen it only shows 4 tracks. 4 consecutive songs now phatbeatstudio Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 13 09-18-2012 02:48 PM
C8 shows duplicates of session tracks bruce lang ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 0 01-12-2010 07:44 AM
Mix24 Farm Card shows up in OS-9 but not OSX 2relaxed Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 04-21-2004 08:22 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:27 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com