Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-19-2002, 09:11 PM
Kris75's Avatar
Kris75 Kris75 is offline
Space Cabin Audio
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,555
Default import audio and only get white noise

I run PTLE 5.1.1 on windows 98se. I just recently finished recording drums at a studio using a program called SAW Studio. When I brought the Hard drive home and tried to import them, PTLE said no problem. But when they came up, all you can here is white noise. When I tried to convert them, same problem. They are just wav files so what could possibly be the problem.
So I tried them on other systems. They worked.
The only thing I can think of is that the computer with SAW ran on windows 2000. But it still makes no sense to me. Someone please help.
__________________
Sign up for all things....AWESOME!




Kris
May the music move you
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-19-2002, 09:20 PM
Roy Howell Roy Howell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,635
Default Re: import audio and only get white noise

Hey Kris,
What 'other' systems did you try them on? I mean, are they PT type systems, or are they streamers, like WindowsMediaPlayer type systems? Thanks, Roy
__________________
rh music
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-19-2002, 10:09 PM
Kris75's Avatar
Kris75 Kris75 is offline
Space Cabin Audio
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,555
Default Re: import audio and only get white noise

I tried them on wave lab. and also another home Saw system. Windows media player does the same thing as PTLE.
__________________
Sign up for all things....AWESOME!




Kris
May the music move you
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-19-2002, 10:32 PM
funkdefino funkdefino is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Miami Beach, FL
Posts: 390
Default Re: import audio and only get white noise

Are the file extensions .wav?

Have you tried opening them as .raw files?

I usualy have this problem when dealing with files from older MAC protool sessions, and odd DAW programs.

Experimenting with .raw files usualy gets them open.

Good Luck! [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
__________________
WOW! What is that a .38?

38, 39 what ever it takes.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-19-2002, 10:53 PM
Kris75's Avatar
Kris75 Kris75 is offline
Space Cabin Audio
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,555
Default Re: import audio and only get white noise

they are .wav files. Can I open them as .raw files?
Thanx.
__________________
Sign up for all things....AWESOME!




Kris
May the music move you
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-19-2002, 10:59 PM
Roy Howell Roy Howell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,635
Default Re: import audio and only get white noise

I don't think it's because of the different OS's(98 and windows2000). I think it's between that SAW program and PT (though not the fault of PT). What bit/sample rate are these WAV files? Could they need to be converted first?
__________________
rh music
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-20-2002, 12:49 AM
funkdefino funkdefino is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Miami Beach, FL
Posts: 390
Default Re: import audio and only get white noise

You can open them as .raw files.

You will have to play around with bit and sample rate. You will also have to choose big or little endian.

Experimental advice:
If you get the file to play and then it all of a sudden starts with the white noise again save the file as a .wav. When the saved .wav file plays it won't have the white noise there any more. Also if the screen shows the peak data on the screen try playing the file at random points. The file is most likely ready to be saved as a .wav file if the software can extract peak data.

Once you have figured one file out you can then convert all the files with the same settings without checking them.

I hope this solves your problem! [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
__________________
WOW! What is that a .38?

38, 39 what ever it takes.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-20-2002, 04:21 PM
Kris75's Avatar
Kris75 Kris75 is offline
Space Cabin Audio
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,555
Default Re: import audio and only get white noise

Thanx for the advice guys but I am still having no luck. I just emailed support. I truly appreciate you assistance.
Sincerley Kris.
__________________
Sign up for all things....AWESOME!




Kris
May the music move you
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
White noise on new audio tracks jglunt2112 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 08-13-2012 05:38 PM
FCP OMF import into PT9 is white noise EverettMarshall macOS 1 04-13-2011 12:55 PM
White Noise on PT 8.1 mac session import application4 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 12-06-2010 05:10 PM
OMF Import from Logic = White Noise! Sonic Nomad Pro Tools 9 5 11-22-2010 06:14 AM
Audio Drop outs and white noise on audio recordings. Ronny Milianowicz Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 12 06-11-2008 01:48 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:05 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com