Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-13-2010, 01:00 AM
Sonic Nomad Sonic Nomad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 226
Default OMF Import from Logic = White Noise!

Hi,

So I just did my first OMF export of a song from Logic 9.1.3 and imported it to PT9 only to find all the regions now consist of white noise.

If I could get this working it would be great,

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-13-2010, 02:31 AM
suicune suicune is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wolverhampton, UK
Posts: 896
Default Re: OMF Import from Logic = White Noise!

On the whole I've had better results from AAF Logic-PT transfers so maybe you should give that a go first.

If for some reason you really need the OMF - first thing is to double check your Logic export settings - make sure you've got 'include audio' and 'convert interleaved' checked, that you're using OMF v2, and make sure the bit depth and sample rates are the same as the PT session you're importing to.

When you import to PT, I would strongly recommend using 'copy from source media' as I've found referencing embedded OMF audio can lead to some pretty screwy behaviour.
__________________
M2 Studios
Wolverhampton, UK
http://www.madhat.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-13-2010, 02:35 AM
Sonic Nomad Sonic Nomad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 226
Default Re: OMF Import from Logic = White Noise!

Quote:
Originally Posted by suicune View Post
On the whole I've had better results from AAF Logic-PT transfers so maybe you should give that a go first.

If for some reason you really need the OMF - first thing is to double check your Logic export settings - make sure you've got 'include audio' and 'convert interleaved' checked, that you're using OMF v2, and make sure the bit depth and sample rates are the same as the PT session you're importing to.

When you import to PT, I would strongly recommend using 'copy from source media' as I've found referencing embedded OMF audio can lead to some pretty screwy behaviour.
Thanks for the response. I'll give both a try.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-21-2010, 11:55 PM
benosullivan benosullivan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Blackheath
Posts: 4
Default Re: OMF Import from Logic = White Noise!

Using AAF worked for me. Can someone tell me what the diff is between OMF and AAF?

Also: Is there a 'catch-all' or 'macro' way of exporting/importing whole projects that include midi and audio? ie - not copying indivicual midi regions, but importing the whole session; region positions included. The AAF just reads and lines up the audio. And I expect it's asking way too much to include channel plugins!? One day?

Thanks
Ben
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-22-2010, 02:54 AM
suicune suicune is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wolverhampton, UK
Posts: 896
Default Re: OMF Import from Logic = White Noise!

Quote:
Also: Is there a 'catch-all' or 'macro' way of exporting/importing whole projects that include midi and audio? ie - not copying indivicual midi regions, but importing the whole session; region positions included.
No, but you don't need to export individual MIDI regions, just apple-a and export a single type-1 midi file. You'll get all your midi regions and markers too. Import this into a PT session first then your AAF. Whole project done. Although I would advise if you're exporting MIDI from logic in particular you should write any real-time properties to the regions and glue them together so there's just one on each track, otherwise PT has the nasty habit of dropping every separate region onto a different track.

Quote:
The AAF just reads and lines up the audio. And I expect it's asking way too much to include channel plugins!? One day?
Yes it is! Seriously, I wouldn't hold your breath on that one. Remember PT doesn't even use the same plugin format as other DAWs.
__________________
M2 Studios
Wolverhampton, UK
http://www.madhat.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-22-2010, 06:14 AM
Fidelis Fidelis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sao Paulo - Brazil
Posts: 979
Default Re: OMF Import from Logic = White Noise!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sonic Nomad View Post
Hi,

So I just did my first OMF export of a song from Logic 9.1.3 and imported it to PT9 only to find all the regions now consist of white noise.

If I could get this working it would be great,

Any ideas?
I had the same Problem with OMF, just white noise, also from Logic. But AAF worked fine.
__________________
http://www.ricardomosca.com

Intel Mac Pro 12 core 3.33 GHz, 20GB RAM, OSX 10.10.5, PT HDX, PT 12.8, SSL 4040G+, tons of outboard
Mac Book Pro 2.4Ghz Duo, 4GB RAM, OSX 10.10.5, PT Vanilla 12.8
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FCP OMF import into PT9 is white noise EverettMarshall macOS 1 04-13-2011 12:55 PM
White Noise on PT 8.1 mac session import application4 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 12-06-2010 05:10 PM
White Noise when "recording" into Logic via MBox funkpolbrother 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 12-17-2006 04:33 PM
Logic and HD white noise. Please help! ozinga Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 07-21-2003 04:55 PM
import audio and only get white noise Kris75 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 09-20-2002 04:21 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:52 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com