Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Pro Tools | Dock

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 06-28-2016, 01:13 PM
Kyle Splittgerber's Avatar
Kyle Splittgerber Kyle Splittgerber is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: CA
Posts: 313
Default Re: No Track Bank or Nudge ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by rankfile View Post
Any luck with getting those Bank/Nudge keys working Rick?

_____________________
Alan
I believe this issue just comes down to not having enough tracks shown to make bank/nudge available. If you don't have >8 tracks in Mixer, Channel, Soft Keys views or >40 tracks in Tracks view, there is nothing to bank/nudge to as all available tracks are already being shown.
__________________
Kyle Splittgerber
Senior Principal Product Designer
Avid
Berkeley, CA
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-29-2016, 09:01 AM
docric docric is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 415
Default Re: No Track Bank or Nudge ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by rankfile View Post
Any luck with getting those Bank/Nudge keys working Rick?

_____________________
Alan
Hey Alan,

Nope... and it's becoming quite the circus between Avid TS, myself, & my dealer...

It's boiling down to:
1) do I live with no banking/nudging from the Control surface & keep the unit
OR
2) do I return it & look at other options (Slate/back to Artist Ctrl or Mix/etc...)

... really unfortunate b/c much of the functionality that the Dock & PT Ctrl app supply works very well for my setup.
__________________
-C' ya'
Rick

MacPro 6,1; 12 core; 64 Gb RAM; 1 TB Samsung 970 Pro w/ adapter & heatsink; OSX 10.14.5
PT 2019.6.0 Ult.
Burl MS / PT Dock/ Eucon 19.7.0/iPad Air2/ iOS 12.3.1/ProTools|Control
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-29-2016, 09:16 AM
docric docric is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 415
Default Re: No Track Bank or Nudge ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyle Splittgerber View Post
I believe this issue just comes down to not having enough tracks shown to make bank/nudge available. If you don't have >8 tracks in Mixer, Channel, Soft Keys views or >40 tracks in Tracks view, there is nothing to bank/nudge to as all available tracks are already being shown.
Hi Kyle,
It's interesting that you would post this here.
This is incorrect- as I told Julius, this issue has been tested multiple times in 70+ track sessions & shown to still not work.

I'm currently working with an 82 track count session (59 audio, 20 Aux, 2 VCAs, 1 Master) and that has no bearing on the lack of Bank/Nudge functionality. It still does not work.

There are multiple videos on youtube showing how this function works with the Dock driving the PT Ctr app...
Secondly, the paucity of responses to this thread would seem to indicate that it is working as advertised for most folks.
Unfortunately, I'm not one of 'em ...


The very simple answer is that I seem to have received another malfunctioning unit.
According to my dealer, they have a 2nd client with the same issue, and all 3 of our units came from the same shipment.
I really don't understand what the hold-up is on getting this sorted out, and am getting somewhat frustrated.
__________________
-C' ya'
Rick

MacPro 6,1; 12 core; 64 Gb RAM; 1 TB Samsung 970 Pro w/ adapter & heatsink; OSX 10.14.5
PT 2019.6.0 Ult.
Burl MS / PT Dock/ Eucon 19.7.0/iPad Air2/ iOS 12.3.1/ProTools|Control
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-29-2016, 01:32 PM
Kyle Splittgerber's Avatar
Kyle Splittgerber Kyle Splittgerber is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: CA
Posts: 313
Default Re: No Track Bank or Nudge ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by docric View Post
Hi Kyle,
It's interesting that you would post this here.
This is incorrect- as I told Julius, this issue has been tested multiple times in 70+ track sessions & shown to still not work.

I'm currently working with an 82 track count session (59 audio, 20 Aux, 2 VCAs, 1 Master) and that has no bearing on the lack of Bank/Nudge functionality. It still does not work.

There are multiple videos on youtube showing how this function works with the Dock driving the PT Ctr app...
Secondly, the paucity of responses to this thread would seem to indicate that it is working as advertised for most folks.
Unfortunately, I'm not one of 'em ...


The very simple answer is that I seem to have received another malfunctioning unit.
According to my dealer, they have a 2nd client with the same issue, and all 3 of our units came from the same shipment.
I really don't understand what the hold-up is on getting this sorted out, and am getting somewhat frustrated.
We'll definitely test the returned units. However, it seems unlikely this is a hardware issue.

Can you not bank in all views (Mixer, Channel, etc)?
Will you attach screenshot of EuControl Settings>Soft Keys>Dock Right Edit section with Pro Tools focused?
Will you attach screenshot of Tracks view from PTC?
Will you upload session file (no audio) to Dropbox (or similar) and post link or direct message it to me?

Thx.
__________________
Kyle Splittgerber
Senior Principal Product Designer
Avid
Berkeley, CA
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-29-2016, 02:36 PM
docric docric is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 415
Default Re: No Track Bank or Nudge ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyle Splittgerber View Post
We'll definitely test the returned units. However, it seems unlikely this is a hardware issue.
I agree that it seems unlikely. Unfortunately, to date, no one has been able to prove otherwise.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyle Splittgerber View Post
Can you not bank in all views (Mixer, Channel, etc)?
That is correct, I cannot bank or nudge in all PTC viewing tabs from the Dock's bank/nudge buttons. It works fine to do it with my finger from the iPad & those changes are appropriately mirrored within the PT Mix/Edit windows. (and vice versa)

Quote:
Will you attach screenshot of EuControl Settings>Soft Keys>Dock Right Edit section with Pro Tools focused?
Will you attach screenshot of Tracks view from PTC?
See attached.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyle Splittgerber View Post
Will you upload session file (no audio) to Dropbox (or similar) and post link or direct message it to me?
Thx.
Yep... will email it to u shortly.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2016-06-29 at 4.19.56 PM.jpg (64.2 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg PTC Tracks window.jpg (63.6 KB, 0 views)
__________________
-C' ya'
Rick

MacPro 6,1; 12 core; 64 Gb RAM; 1 TB Samsung 970 Pro w/ adapter & heatsink; OSX 10.14.5
PT 2019.6.0 Ult.
Burl MS / PT Dock/ Eucon 19.7.0/iPad Air2/ iOS 12.3.1/ProTools|Control
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-29-2016, 02:54 PM
Kyle Splittgerber's Avatar
Kyle Splittgerber Kyle Splittgerber is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: CA
Posts: 313
Default Re: No Track Bank or Nudge ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by docric View Post
I agree that it seems unlikely. Unfortunately, to date, no one has been able to prove otherwise.


That is correct, I cannot bank or nudge in all PTC viewing tabs from the Dock's bank/nudge buttons. It works fine to do it with my finger from the iPad & those changes are appropriately mirrored within the PT Mix/Edit windows. (and vice versa)


See attached.



Yep... will email it to u shortly.
Thanks. Did you edit the soft key colors at all? For instance, "Save" is red in the latest appset. Here it's green which tells me you either changed it or don't have the latest installed. Please make sure you install the latest and follow install instructions here: http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/d...ontrol-Appsets
__________________
Kyle Splittgerber
Senior Principal Product Designer
Avid
Berkeley, CA
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-29-2016, 03:09 PM
docric docric is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 415
Default Re: No Track Bank or Nudge ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyle Splittgerber View Post
Thanks. Did you edit the soft key colors at all? For instance, "Save" is red in the latest appset. Here it's green which tells me you either changed it or don't have the latest installed.
Yes, I changed them. The Shift*Key functions for Save, Wkstation & User1 were changed to accommodate my workflow & colors were changed to reflect accordingly.

I am PAINFULLY familiar with the process of correctly installing the latest appset, much to my chagrin. Thx.
__________________
-C' ya'
Rick

MacPro 6,1; 12 core; 64 Gb RAM; 1 TB Samsung 970 Pro w/ adapter & heatsink; OSX 10.14.5
PT 2019.6.0 Ult.
Burl MS / PT Dock/ Eucon 19.7.0/iPad Air2/ iOS 12.3.1/ProTools|Control
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 07-05-2016, 02:49 PM
docric docric is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 415
Default Re: No Track Bank or Nudge ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by docric View Post
The very simple answer is that I seem to have received another malfunctioning unit.
According to my dealer, they have a 2nd client with the same issue, and all 3 of our units came from the same shipment.
Well, the replacement Dock arrived today (thanks guys) & the Bank/Nudge function still does not work.

So much for my "very simple answer"... ... I'll try to find an IPad Air2 to borrow & will also try Dock on our Vanilla system in the prepro room.

Did I mention that I really hate troubleshooting??!!
__________________
-C' ya'
Rick

MacPro 6,1; 12 core; 64 Gb RAM; 1 TB Samsung 970 Pro w/ adapter & heatsink; OSX 10.14.5
PT 2019.6.0 Ult.
Burl MS / PT Dock/ Eucon 19.7.0/iPad Air2/ iOS 12.3.1/ProTools|Control
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 07-06-2016, 03:10 PM
docric docric is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 415
Default Re: No Track Bank or Nudge ??

So... after all the drama it ends up that the issue with the lack of Bank/Nudge fxn. is due to the iPad being an iPad 4.

Late last night a high school aged drummer dropped by the studio to check the place out & inquire about the internship. He had an iPad Air 2 with him, so I asked if he'd mind me messin' with it.

We set it up, installed the app, joined the network & Voila' !, Banking & Nudging worked just as it should. Ha!

Go figger! Looks like it's time to buy a used iPad Air2...
__________________
-C' ya'
Rick

MacPro 6,1; 12 core; 64 Gb RAM; 1 TB Samsung 970 Pro w/ adapter & heatsink; OSX 10.14.5
PT 2019.6.0 Ult.
Burl MS / PT Dock/ Eucon 19.7.0/iPad Air2/ iOS 12.3.1/ProTools|Control
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 07-11-2016, 06:21 AM
Mark Ziebarth Mark Ziebarth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1998
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 666
Default Re: No Track Bank or Nudge ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by docric View Post



Go figger! Looks like it's time to buy a used iPad Air2...


I don't think your trouble has anything to do with the iPad model.
__________________
Mac Pro 2010 3.66 GHz six Cores, HD Native, 192 I/O, Avid Dock, Artist Mix and Pro Tools Ultimate
Mac Pro 2008, RME Fireface, Pro Tools 12, Euphonix MC Control
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Auto-bank to selected track does auto-nudge to selected track goran m Artist Series 0 10-16-2013 09:54 PM
Possible to change direction of Nudge 1/Nudge 8/Nudge Bank switches? EricHirsch ICON & C|24 1 08-13-2009 09:07 AM
Bank/Nudge on console colinweeks ICON & C|24 3 12-01-2008 03:30 PM
HELP: Digi002 - Bank vs Nudge Navigation AtomicBeagle 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-09-2008 10:55 AM
003 Console Bug when using Bank and Nudge channels!!!! Sonic Nomad 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-14-2007 09:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:44 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com