Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-10-2017, 02:55 PM
saxjohnny saxjohnny is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: canada
Posts: 27
Default Pro Tools 12 vs 8?

I've been using pro tools 8 for quite a few years now and am finally going to upgrade my iMac so thought I'd look at the latest version of pro tools...
anyone out there who also used pt 8 and is now on 12 that can share a few differences, big or small?
thanks in advance, any insights are appreciated!
Johnny
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-10-2017, 03:00 PM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,688
Default Re: Pro Tools 12 vs 8?

Quote:
Originally Posted by saxjohnny View Post
I've been using pro tools 8 for quite a few years now and am finally going to upgrade my iMac so thought I'd look at the latest version of pro tools...
anyone out there who also used pt 8 and is now on 12 that can share a few differences, big or small?
thanks in advance, any insights are appreciated!
Johnny
do you work in Post or Music ??? might help narrow down things that would be new to you ...

cheers john
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-10-2017, 03:06 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,515
Default Re: Pro Tools 12 vs 8?

Quote:
Originally Posted by saxjohnny View Post
I've been using pro tools 8 for quite a few years now and am finally going to upgrade my iMac so thought I'd look at the latest version of pro tools...
anyone out there who also used pt 8 and is now on 12 that can share a few differences, big or small?
thanks in advance, any insights are appreciated!
Johnny
Big - all new plugin format - aax64
Big - no more RTAS
Big - freeze and commit
Instrument tracks that host both the vi in use and the MIDI to drive it; no more separate MIDI track and an aux track to host the vi (unless you want to)
New audio engine with more headroom
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-10-2017, 03:22 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,809
Default Re: Pro Tools 12 vs 8?

Instrument Tracks were introduced in PT8 as I recall ???
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-10-2017, 03:38 PM
melloj melloj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: England
Posts: 189
Default Re: Pro Tools 12 vs 8?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Instrument Tracks were introduced in PT8 as I recall ???
Yes they were. It's been a while since I was on 8 but to me this was the biggest leap. Completely new gui from 7. I think they gave us smpte at this point. The biggest change came from 9, a host of previously HD features but mainly the sound card was no longer locked to Digidesign hardware and the first time you could buy it boxed without hardware. I think v9 was the first Avid release. 10 and 11 came and went. Each version has unlocked more minor HD features, larger track count, multitrack beat detective. Another big change came in v11 when it became 64 bit meaning you can use all your system ram memory and allocate the session to ram making if really efficient. and a change from rtas to aax. Version 12 gave us input monitoring on each channel (previously HD only) HD users get native HEAT from 12.1 and Dolby Atmos from v12.8, So its been incremental.

Last edited by melloj; 10-10-2017 at 03:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-10-2017, 03:52 PM
PMF Media PMF Media is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Adelaide Australia
Posts: 374
Default Re: Pro Tools 12 vs 8?

Not to mention Disc Cache and clip gain, the 2 biggies and the reason I purchased an HD license I the 1st place - both now available in standard PT
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-10-2017, 03:53 PM
PMF Media PMF Media is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Adelaide Australia
Posts: 374
Default Re: Pro Tools 12 vs 8?

oh, and let's not forget core audio support for 3rd path interfaces
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-10-2017, 03:58 PM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,710
Default Re: Pro Tools 12 vs 8?

And VCA groups. Don't forget the VCAs.

And offline bounce.

And the ability to use third party interfaces.

The difference between PT8 and PT12 is almost night and day, but still in your familiar warm and cozy neighborhood.
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com
Head Audio/A1 Blue Man Group: Speechless tour

Home/mobile: Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Focusrite Red 8Pre / Protools HD Native 2018.10 Ultimate
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-10-2017, 04:00 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,826
Default Re: Pro Tools 12 vs 8?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JCBigler View Post

....
The difference between PT8 and PT12 is almost night and day, but still in your familiar warm and cozy neighborhood.
... and a few more BUGS roaming around that neighborhood
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-10-2017, 05:23 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,809
Default Re: Pro Tools 12 vs 8?

Quote:
Originally Posted by melloj View Post
The biggest change came from 9, a host of previously HD features but mainly the sound card was no longer locked to Digidesign hardware and the first time you could buy it boxed without hardware.
Yes, other than that it was more like 8.5
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:42 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com