Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-07-2020, 03:57 AM
Adrian T Adrian T is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: Newcastle, UK
Posts: 1
Default Upgrading

Hi there.
I'm new to the forum so please be gentle and thanks in advance!
I run Protools 9LE with the Digidesign 003. I'm having to downsize my studio set up to a physically smaller space, and don't have room for the 003. In the first place, I was set up with it by a techie friend who thought that because I'm old (correct!) I would like a interface with faders (incorrect!) so I will be much happier anyway with an interface with a smaller footprint.


I currently have:
iMac OS X Version 10.6.8
Protools 9 LE
003 Digi Design interface
Audient Asp 008 Pre-amp
Hearback Monitor system

My question is, can I buy a new interface and continue to use it with my 9LE, or given that I bought them together, is my software too integrated with the 003? Or would it work providing I buy an Avid based new interface? Or could I buy any interface and expect it to work with my 9LE / expect my 9LE to still work without the 003? At some point, I'm sure I'll update my OS and upgrade my Protools to a newer version, which I'm sure will then increase my interface options, but for now, I guess I'm asking, what's the least disruptive way I can add an interface with a smaller footprint to my existing set up?

If the answer is "don't do any of that... do this instead", then I'm all ears.
Ultimately I'm nervous about making a wrong move and causing myself disruption because I have a deadline coming up for music to a BBC programme. I say that not to boast, bu to illustrate that I'm relatively successful and professional from an artistic perspective, but believe me, a total luddite on the technical front!! Many thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-07-2020, 04:50 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,021
Default Re: Upgrading

New interfaces may not work with your current iMac and OSX. What exact iMac do you have? With that we can maybe give you better answers.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-07-2020, 05:40 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,478
Default Re: Upgrading

Hi, welcome to the community.

Compatibility info here
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-07-2020, 06:44 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,732
Default Re: Upgrading

as already asked... what exact model iMac, date name, model number and/or EMC number off the back of it please.

What inputs/capabilities do you need on the interface? how many mic preamps, line inputs? Do you need S/PDIF, AES/EBU or ADAT digital inputs or outputs? ... now your Audient preamp has ADAT out... are you using that via ADAT now into the 003. ADAT in increases the price point of interfaces but if you need that many mic inputs then a nice way to go... if you don't and want to save space you might replace the 003 and Audient with an interface with enough preamp (or line inputs) to meet your needs... which are?

how much space do you really need to save? if you have minimal input needs you can get down to quite small interfaces.

What are you doing with it?

What is your budget?

And with this age system you might look for a used interface... from an interface vendor with good ongoing support (i.e. not Avid).

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 07-07-2020 at 06:55 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading from LE 8 to 11 gamoneterik Pro Tools 11 9 04-05-2014 05:40 AM
Upgrading from pt9 to pt11 and upgrading macbook pro daylomusic Pro Tools 11 0 12-20-2013 03:35 PM
Upgrading to PT10HD without upgrading to HDX Epik Productions Pro Tools 10 4 10-21-2011 11:50 AM
Upgrading interface without upgrading software? michaelkevin 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 09-16-2008 10:37 PM
Will upgrading OSX necessitate upgrading ProTools? OBwan50 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 02-27-2006 02:24 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:55 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com