Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-30-2011, 10:22 AM
hedgerocks hedgerocks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 35
Default Pro tools 9 wont read another pro tools 9 file saying its too old

So I just upgraded to pro tools 9 at home. Yesterday. Went home to finish a project. (on a digi 003) Once completed I did a save copy in. Transferred to a thumb drive. Brought it to school. Tried to open it and was greeted with "the document could not be opened because it was created with an older version of pro tools."

This is total poppycock as both versions of pro tools are 9.3.

I was late handing in an assignment and very frustrated. I never had this issue with 8.

Not a great way to start my pro tools 9 experience.

also this is my first time posting.
so be nice.
let me know if i did anything wrong or need to provide more information.


Thank you all.
and I really hope to get this session open today so my teacher doesn't think I'm full of it.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-30-2011, 10:27 AM
hedgerocks hedgerocks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 35
Default Re: Pro tools 9 wont read another pro tools 9 file saying its too old

Also I checked it this morning at home.
dragged it off thumb drive.
opened it off the desktop.
it worked fine.
just not at school.
school is running pro tools 9 with no hardware.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-30-2011, 10:32 AM
plastikman plastikman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Detroit
Posts: 238
Default Re: Pro tools 9 wont read another pro tools 9 file saying its too old

Welcome to the DUC! First I would recommend trashing prefs as this tends to clear up weirdness in PT. THIS app is good for that. Also check out these links: THIS one discusses helpful info for you to post when you have problems, so that others are able to help you. THIS one is good for troubleshooting techniques. That link is to the LE Mac troubleshooting page. You didn't mention what kind of system you are using, but if you need any of the other system troubleshooting links, you can find them in DigiTechSupt's signature. Good luck!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dizzi45Z View Post
Pro Tools doesn't ever not cease to not amaze me.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-30-2011, 10:42 AM
hedgerocks hedgerocks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 35
Default Re: Pro tools 9 wont read another pro tools 9 file saying its too old

thanlks for the welcome.
that app is great.
thanks.
I just trashed everything but to no avail.
Ill post in those other threads.
thanks for the directions.

Also if anyone else reads this.
the file I'm trying to open at scjhool has a pro tools 9 icon.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-30-2011, 10:44 AM
hedgerocks hedgerocks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 35
Default Re: Pro tools 9 wont read another pro tools 9 file saying its too old

sorry where do you post for general tech support?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-30-2011, 10:55 AM
winvbass winvbass is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Brighton UK
Posts: 14
Default

Have you tried opening a new project and importing the session data from the problem one.
Doesn't attempt to offer an answer I know, but an easy out.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-30-2011, 11:00 AM
hedgerocks hedgerocks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 35
Default Re: Pro tools 9 wont read another pro tools 9 file saying its too old

yeah. didnt work.
thanks though
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-30-2011, 12:21 PM
formfunction formfunction is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,153
Default Re: Pro tools 9 wont read another pro tools 9 file saying its too old

Quote:
Originally Posted by hedgerocks View Post
yeah. didnt work.
Explain "didn't work". What did you attempt? .. ff
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-30-2011, 12:34 PM
bradch00 bradch00 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lions Bay, Canada - Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: Pro tools 9 wont read another pro tools 9 file saying its too old

Are both the school PT rigs and home PT rig MAC?
__________________
Pro Tools 12, Studio One V3.x
iMac 27" 5k i7 4Ghz, 32GB RAM 1TB Flash (OS X 10.10.x)
OWC Thunderbay Mini (4TB SSD)
Interface: Antelope Audio Zen-Studio
Presonus Faderport & Faderport 8
Black Lion Sparrow Mk2 A/D, FMR-RNP-RNC, MIDI Xpress 128
BM5A, KRK VXT4, Equator D5
Macbook Pro 8GB RAM, 512GB SSD Audio(mobile rig)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-30-2011, 12:37 PM
hedgerocks hedgerocks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 35
Default Re: Pro tools 9 wont read another pro tools 9 file saying its too old

yes. both are mac.
both are running 9.03
and have the same OS X.

by didnt work it would 't open the file.
it says it was "created with an older version of pro tools"
despite the fact that it clearly has the pro tools 9 icon.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pre amps work, but Tools wont read input vajrasan Windows 2 08-15-2012 09:35 AM
Pro tools 9 wont read another pro tools 9 file saying its too old hedgerocks 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 06-30-2011 10:54 AM
Pro Tools HD 7.4 zipped Session wont open in Pro Tools SE Lyvewire Pro Tools SE and Essential (Mac) 3 03-01-2011 05:41 PM
Pro-Tools can't read the Motif ES midnam file lastminute 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 05-15-2008 06:51 PM
pro tools cannot read file error funktronicz Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 10-11-2005 01:40 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:31 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com