Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-06-2009, 11:50 AM
spreston spreston is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 5
Default Advice for adding more inputs

I have an 002 and I just added Digi's Eleven Rack. I am using the 002 as machine control and am using the audio outputs of the Eleven Rack. This configuration only leaves me one mic input. Consequently, I now need to start thinking about adding more channels.


Which type of interface should I use (do I have a choice) ADAT/Lightpipe or Firewire? I've been considering Presonus (either DigiMax or FirePod). Any recommendations on products?

What are limitations to moving in this direction?

This is for my home studio and I do not want to migrate to an HD system at this time.

Thanks in advance.
-Scott
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-06-2009, 11:54 AM
AndyJCP AndyJCP is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 313
Default Re: Advice for adding more inputs

Hi Scott,

not sure if I understand your 002/ElevenRack setup.

Anyway, if you want to add inputs to the 002 (and I guess the same holds true for ElevenRack), you have to use the ADAT or s/pdif inputs. You cannot use an additional firewire interface with the 002.

For the ADAT options, I combined a Digimax D8 with my 003R.
It's cheap 8 channels and the sound quality is good for the price.

Speaking about limitations, you can have up to 18 channels with the 003/002. Not sure about ElevenRack.

Hope this helps,

Andy
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-06-2009, 01:13 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,181
Default Re: Advice for adding more inputs

I think you would use the SPDIF to connect the 11R out to the 002 SPDIF in but some manual digging may be needed.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-06-2009, 08:25 PM
spreston spreston is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 5
Default Re: Advice for adding more inputs

Andy thanks for the info. Albee, you can't talk to the s/pdif input of the 11R while the 002 is set as the Playback Engine. I have to set the Playback Engine to the 11R in order to use its s/pdif (at which point I can't use the 002).

The 11R sounds great.
-S
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-06-2009, 08:53 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,181
Default Re: Advice for adding more inputs

I meant feeding the SPDIF out of the 11R to the SPDIF input of the 002(but I am shooting in the dark). That's a question I did not think to ask at the 11R demo I went to a few weeks ago.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-07-2009, 07:49 AM
spreston spreston is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 5
Default Re: Advice for adding more inputs

I have the 11R going into the 002 via s/pdif. In order to access the output via s/pdif you must set the machine control to the 11R, at which point I do not have the ability to use the 002 inputs / controls. Consequently, I use the audio outs of the 11R (but that uses 3 mic inputs on the 002). Adding something like the DigiMax will work fine to give me some extra inputs to record drums (for example).
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-07-2009, 12:00 PM
sean shannon sean shannon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 801
Default Re: Advice for adding more inputs

There's nothing wrong with the ADA8000, and it's only about $200.
__________________
Check your mix in mono.
www.mixingtheband.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-07-2009, 12:10 PM
sw rec sw rec is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,694
Default Re: Advice for adding more inputs

There's nothing wrong with the ADA8000, and it's only about $200.

Second that. I have one, have a friend who has one, and we both regularly record all 18 inputs at once without a hitch. A VERY well-spent $200.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-08-2009, 09:36 AM
AndyJCP AndyJCP is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 313
Default Re: Advice for adding more inputs

I cannot say anything about the sound quality of the ADA8000. The only thing I did not like is that the XLR inputs are at its front, which makes it a bit uncomfortable for rack mounting.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-08-2009, 09:50 AM
sw rec sw rec is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,694
Default Re: Advice for adding more inputs

That makes me crazy too, Andy. The line inputs are up there as well, and I have a snake running up the front of the rack. Looks like crap........
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding four more inputs WRX07 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 01-29-2006 11:03 AM
Adding more inputs with the 002 time808 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 11-14-2005 03:58 PM
adding inputs to M-Box mastershredder 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 08-19-2005 10:14 PM
adding inputs to 002R MorphedProd 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 02-23-2005 10:04 PM
advice on adding lightpipe inputs J. FO 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 12-27-2002 08:12 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:05 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com