Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-05-2009, 01:49 AM
digidesigner digidesigner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: World
Posts: 2,191
Default What Mac to get for a solid PCIe system?

Hi! I'm on a G5 and have no plans to upgrade, that's why I haven't really followed the hundreds of threads about new macs. But now there is a company I am helping to get an new system up an running. What would be a good stable mac to have these days? It's not that important how many hundreds on Dverbs it runs, it should rather be rock-solid. The system will be a tape-machine alongside of the Venue system.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-05-2009, 03:39 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,640
Default Re: What Mac to get for a solid PCIe system?

Quote:
Originally Posted by digidesigner View Post
Hi! I'm on a G5 and have no plans to upgrade, that's why I haven't really followed the hundreds of threads about new macs. But now there is a company I am helping to get an new system up an running. What would be a good stable mac to have these days? It's not that important how many hundreds on Dverbs it runs, it should rather be rock-solid. The system will be a tape-machine alongside of the Venue system.
Hi,

I can only recommend the mac i'm using. Harpertown 8-core. they've been out for about 20 months now and haven't heard any horror stories from any one yet.


Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-05-2009, 04:25 AM
digidesigner digidesigner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: World
Posts: 2,191
Default Re: What Mac to get for a solid PCIe system?

Quote:
Originally Posted by crizdee View Post
Hi,

I can only recommend the mac i'm using. Harpertown 8-core. they've been out for about 20 months now and haven't heard any horror stories from any one yet.


Chris
I looked at the stuff the local mac dealer offers... I see quad-core computers does quad stand for 4-core?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-05-2009, 04:33 AM
digidesigner digidesigner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: World
Posts: 2,191
Default Re: What Mac to get for a solid PCIe system?

I also looked at the everymac.com and as far as I see the 2008 "eight core" computers have 2.8 GHz processors while newer 2009 "eight core" mahines have only 2.26GHz does that mean the newer are actually a downgrade?
Is it something like with the newer Macbook Pros that are actually not so good than the older models? (no exp slot etc)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-05-2009, 06:41 AM
BradLyons BradLyons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 2,985
Default Re: What Mac to get for a solid PCIe system?

With PTHD, it really doesn't matter as it has its own processing. Now if you're using native plugins such as softsynths and VI's, then the better you have...the better you are. But in case of the Venue console, the only real issue is RAM---depending upon how many tracks you're doing. Chances are, the basic 4-core is more than adequate.
__________________
Thank you, Brad Lyons
GC PRO- Pro Accounts Manager
(404)844-9758
blyons@gcpro.com
www.theaudioprofessional.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-05-2009, 06:46 AM
digidesigner digidesigner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: World
Posts: 2,191
Default Re: What Mac to get for a solid PCIe system?

I already got an quote on the 2008 8 core 2.8 machine and it's less than the new 4 core so I guess getting that would be foolproof?
Would 6gb be ok for ram? They will be doing 64 tracks max, maybe more if they get another HDx card in the future... I have 4Gb in my G5 all is well but never tracked 64 tracks at once that's for sure.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-05-2009, 07:07 AM
drenkrom drenkrom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Quebec
Posts: 393
Default Re: What Mac to get for a solid PCIe system?

My only recommendation would be to avoid the current Nehalem MacPro models. They're truly half-assed machines. All Harpertown models, the 2008 ones, are very very good machines, available at lower prices than the newer lemons. The next MacPro's should be awesome, though. Once Apple gets around to building a computer around Nehalem, watch out!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-05-2009, 08:22 AM
BradLyons BradLyons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 2,985
Default Re: What Mac to get for a solid PCIe system?

Quote:
Originally Posted by digidesigner View Post
I already got an quote on the 2008 8 core 2.8 machine and it's less than the new 4 core so I guess getting that would be foolproof?
Would 6gb be ok for ram? They will be doing 64 tracks max, maybe more if they get another HDx card in the future... I have 4Gb in my G5 all is well but never tracked 64 tracks at once that's for sure.
I have that same MacPro w/6gb Ram---regularly deal wtih 100 or so track sessions using (2) Glyph GT103 hard-drives. It works fine....my system is a PCIX system running in a Magma chassis.
__________________
Thank you, Brad Lyons
GC PRO- Pro Accounts Manager
(404)844-9758
blyons@gcpro.com
www.theaudioprofessional.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Solid State Drive in a Venue system wopepro VENUE Live Sound Systems 4 08-25-2009 10:51 AM
Building a system for PT PCIe HD1 system Fullsound Recording Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 25 08-17-2008 04:38 AM
Looking For Rock Solid PT System Camilo Orozco Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 09-21-2007 06:59 PM
What HD system? PCI or PCIe? nato7 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 03-26-2007 10:15 PM
PCIe to PCIe Expansion system Armando Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 23 12-22-2006 02:02 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:15 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com