Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-27-2005, 04:12 PM
Vastworldwide Vastworldwide is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 24
Default Yet another question for the firewire 1814

Ok. This is the second audio interface I have bought from M-audio. The first one I had Died 3 months after I bought it and they won't fix it because all I have for a receipt is from an online purchase. It was the omnistudio usb. I figured it was because it was a cheap model so I would take the chance and buy on of the best they got... I bought the firewire 1814 and pt m powered about ummmm at the end of May. Lets not get on the subject of not being able to use PT since I bought it because of the whole tiger situation, but has anybody had any problems with cracks and pops when not running an app?? As soon as I start an app it goes away but when i'm working on a webpage I have to turn my speakers off before I kill someone it's so loud????? I contacted m-audio and they said stuff about the buffer and that didn't work, they said the driver was bad and I needed to reinstall it, that didn't work, the brand new driver didn't chang it??? Another thing that pisses me off is that when I trun my computer on the Pan is always to one side??????????????? what is going on here??? And when I turm down the volume on the unit itself it pans to one side... Can anyone tell me whats going on, am I the only one, (judging by this forum I know that isn't true).. please relieve me of this M-Audio pain.....
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-29-2005, 11:39 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,765
Default Re: Yet another question for the firewire 1814

Please provide specific information about your computer model, OS version, any attached peripherals and any other info that may help us diagnose your problem.

I'm assuming you've tried all the 'General Troubleshooting' steps in the sticky at the top of the Mac/LE forum - if not, start there.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-02-2005, 12:02 PM
djani djani is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 99
Default Re: Yet another question for the firewire 1814


Hi, I just got the 1814 and Pro Tools M-Powered 7 and have the same problem from the beggining despite of respecting all precautions noted in manual and all general troubleshooting solutions tryed. Hope we're going to find the solution quickly.

I work on:
Powerbook G4 1,67 Ghz
1,5 Gb RAM
Tiger OS X 10.4.3 (tryed on OS X 10.4.2 also)
Additional DSP: TC Electronic Powercore Compact with FX-Pansion VST-RTAS Wrapper (still doesnt work good with Tiger)

__________________
Pro Tools 12.5.1 HD
Mac Pro 2.1, 8-core Intel Xeon 3.0 GHz, 16 GB RAM
OS X 10.9.5
ProFire Lightbridge
SSL XLogic Alpha-Link AX
SSL X-Desk
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-08-2005, 04:53 PM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,527
Default Re: Yet another question for the firewire 1814

I'm actually just coming back to using the 1814 box after having it on the shelf for a while and this thread caught my eye b/c I'm considering moving from LE to MP. I use an 1814 mostly for use with Logic, but also experience the 'pops' whenever the hardware is not in use. I've done quite a bit of troubleshooting on it, and even had a dialog going with M-Audio several months ago via email about it before I had to turn my attention to other things.

I never found a definite solution, but on my setup it seems to be somewhat tied to the number & kind of other firewire devices on my machine, as well as what port is used by the 1814. I've had the best luck with the FW1814 on the front port of my G5, or even better on my 3rd party PCI Firewire card FW400 port. Also, limiting the number of firewire drives plugged in seems to help - I have several that just sit attached, and even if not on, disconnecting them seems to increase the chances the 1814's won't pop. Currently I leave it plugged into the PCI card port and it's been pretty stable, at least for the past couple days I've been playing with it again.

I should mention that in the past on occasion, going into the 1814's control panel and randomly clicking through some of the digitial input/sync options would solve it, but that has actually decreased with the release of the last few driver releases from what I can tell.

G5 Dual 2.5ghz / 2.5gb RAM / 2x160gb SATA / Mbox w/LE 7.0 / FW1814 (for coreaudio apps)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-12-2006, 05:33 AM
djani djani is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 99
Default Re: Yet another question for the firewire 1814

I just tryed everything and couldn't make it operational so I returned the hardware to the manufacturer couple of days ago for a test and replacement 'cause I think that its definitely broken. They will respond in a three weeks or so, untill then... fortunately I haven't sold my M-Box.
__________________
Pro Tools 12.5.1 HD
Mac Pro 2.1, 8-core Intel Xeon 3.0 GHz, 16 GB RAM
OS X 10.9.5
ProFire Lightbridge
SSL XLogic Alpha-Link AX
SSL X-Desk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No other way than the Firewire 1814? shultzee13 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 4 08-12-2008 12:54 PM
Mac Pro 2.66, Firewire 1814, 10.4.7 Imagine Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 7 09-21-2006 10:13 AM
Firewire 1814 Question The Dougfather Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 5 07-27-2006 10:20 AM
firewire 1814 question donnieb Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 03-04-2006 03:54 PM
question about the firewire 1814 and others wreckthisplace Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 10-04-2005 02:51 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:26 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com