Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-28-2013, 06:58 PM
thelights thelights is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: oraison France
Posts: 25
Default Can I upgrade to Pro Tools 11 with my old equipment?

I am working on Pro Tools 8 with Vista 32bits and the 33 Rack+...it's working well but since I have bought some great new sounds I seem to have too little RAM (6GO but vista only uses 4) and would like to add a few more but vista 32 doesn't allow it..so I have a PC with an NVIDIA geforce graphic card, an Intel Quad processor at 2.50 GHZ each and was wondering if I could update to windows 7 (or if the vista 64bits would work) and then get the Pro Tools 11....otherwise is there any Pro Tools version that is working on a vista 64 bits and that I could still buy?
Thank you for your answers

oh, by the way, I'm new here :)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-28-2013, 08:27 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,742
Default Re: Can I upgrade to Pro Tools 11 with my old equipment?

Welcome aboard. Vista 64 bit is a no go...period. I assume you mean 003, not 33.

Posting a Sandra report(check this link Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting! ) is the best way to get the best advice, but having said that, if your rig runs LE8 fairly well, it SHOULD run Windows 7 and PT10/11. Get Win7 74 bit to take advantage of the extra RAM. 6GB may not be a lot by today's standards, but its better than 4, and Win7 64 bit will give a little boost in performance(depending on the motherboard, you might easily add more RAM too).

Some info about 10 and 11; the driver for the 003 is now a separate download and install(IOW, install the driver BEFORE installing Pro Tools). You DON'T need LE8 installed to update(you would be uninstalling it first, anyway). You WILL need an iLok for PT9 and later, and you will need an iLok2 for PT11, so if you don't own an iLok, just buy the new version, or buy a plugin that comes with a free iLok2(like from Slate Digital for instance).

When you buy 10 software, new, it will likely include a free update to 11. If you buy 11 new, the iLok asset will include 10(so you can run both on the same machine, if you install 10.3.7). Why would you do this? Because PT11 does NOT work with ANY RTAS plugins(but 10 DOES, so you can work with old favorites in 10, until they all get updated to the new 64 bit AAX format). Some plugins you may have in LE8 may require updates to work in 10 as well(like Waves or Autotune, depending on the versions you now have). There's more, but this covers the most important stuff.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Pro Tools LE to Pro Tools 10 Upgrade Activation Card (+PT11 upgrade) bonwild Buy & Sell 0 06-17-2013 11:27 AM
Pro Tools/Equipment rental in/near Shanghai, China originalscottyg Post - Surround - Video 6 06-30-2009 10:23 AM
Using Analog Equipment w/ Pro Tools Ryan Young 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 06-05-2005 01:36 AM
FILM:PRO-TOOLS:SYNC What equipment should I get? RomanVail 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-14-2004 09:50 AM
Using Pro Tools with your own equipment? futuredood 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 03-23-2004 04:11 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:45 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com