Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 05-06-2014, 05:03 PM
toddsorensen toddsorensen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Pleasant Grove
Posts: 17
Default Re: PT 11.1.3 - Bizarre plug-in behavior

We can post all we like. The real problem is that Avid has not placed the engineering staff on fixing problems but is redirecting them to new products. This is occurring while we wait for things like PT 11 Delay compensation bug, which is very well documented to continue without a resolution, or even acknowledgement.
As a Pro Tools Certified Instructor I have not been able to suggest to my students that they purchase PT 11. Its a shame but How can I tell them to buy PT 11 when they can't even use it for composing at this point…...
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 05-07-2014, 07:31 AM
Jperkins Jperkins is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 379
Default Re: PT 11.1.3 - Bizarre plug-in behavior

Quote:
Originally Posted by connor@@vid View Post
Already watching them and collating the list of known affected (so far) 3p plug-ins into the bug for this one. Thanks, to both of you, for the clear repro steps. We're on this one.
Can there be a pinned or sticky post with a running list of the affected plugins? This is a serious (and seriously annoying) bug.

Are multi-mono plugins the only ones affected by this bug?
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 05-12-2014, 05:49 AM
Njal Frode Lie Njal Frode Lie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Notodden, Norway
Posts: 39
Default Re: PT 11.1.3 - Bizarre plug-in behavior

I've got the same problem with Space, stereo.

I was thinking of transforming to 11 from 10, in the start of an album I'm mixing, but when going from that session from 10 in PT 11., Space loose settings all the time, so it is unusable for now, for me, so back to 10 for me for this album.

(tip; if you want to test out for yourself, make a copy of the song-folder before you try, and work on the copy, as it looks like it 'destroys' some settings)

Njal Frode


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jperkins View Post
Can there be a pinned or sticky post with a running list of the affected plugins? This is a serious (and seriously annoying) bug.

Are multi-mono plugins the only ones affected by this bug?

Last edited by Njal Frode Lie; 05-12-2014 at 05:58 AM. Reason: Edited for clarity and spellingmistakes
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 05-12-2014, 11:39 AM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,810
Default Re: PT 11.1.3 - Bizarre plug-in behavior

Is it safe to assume that this exact issue wasn't a problem in 11.1.2? If it was, I didn't read about it.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 05-12-2014, 12:09 PM
Farmer Dave Farmer Dave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Marin County, CA USA
Posts: 977
Default Re: PT 11.1.3 - Bizarre plug-in behavior

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Lambert View Post
Is it safe to assume that this exact issue wasn't a problem in 11.1.2? If it was, I didn't read about it.
I had very similar issues in every version of PT11, though didn't spend the time to track it down until 11.1.3.

I would be wary of any version of PT11.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 05-12-2014, 12:30 PM
Njal Frode Lie Njal Frode Lie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Notodden, Norway
Posts: 39
Default Re: PT 11.1.3 - Bizarre plug-in behavior

Don't know, 11.1.3 was the first version of 11 I tried.


NF

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Lambert View Post
Is it safe to assume that this exact issue wasn't a problem in 11.1.2? If it was, I didn't read about it.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 05-12-2014, 12:59 PM
ZEUSS ZEUSS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 550
Default Re: PT 11.1.3 - Bizarre plug-in behavior

So maybe this should not even be up for download?? How can you have a release where plugins are not recalling their settings??? Its like they are saying no big deal. We don't care if your work doesn't open up and play back correctly??

It should be pulled.
__________________
10.14.6 Mac Pro 2013 (Trashcan) 6 Core 64 gigs Ram, Red Line 16, Native Thunderbolt, ProTools Ultimate 2019.12

Macbook Pro, 2019 (15,1) 32 Gigs Ram,2.3 GHz I9 8 Core ProTools Ultimate 2019.12
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 05-12-2014, 11:42 PM
TimNielsen TimNielsen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,192
Default Re: PT 11.1.3 - Bizarre plug-in behavior

I agree, would sure be nice to know more about the 'scope' of this bug. Does it ONLY affect plugins in automation off? If so, I can live with it, since I never put tracks in off myself.

But what the heck. We're supposed to be mixing a film in the box in PT11 in a couple of weeks, would sure be nice to know if we really need to quickly downgrade to PT10.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 05-13-2014, 10:42 AM
connor@@vid's Avatar
connor@@vid connor@@vid is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 98
Default Re: PT 11.1.3 - Bizarre plug-in behavior

This issue is under investigation as a bug affecting certain third party multi-mono plug-in implementations. The specific behavior is that parameter values on an automation playlist may not recall correctly or change after playback after first opening a session. This has been reported to not occur if a value is written for all parameters using write to all selected at some point on the timeline. The plug-ins reported to be affected in this way so far are DMG EQuick, Fabfilter Pro Q, Izotope Alloy 2, McDSP ML1, Brainworx BX Digital V2, and MDW EQ.

The AIR Multi-Delay and Space reports are also logged, but tracked separately.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 05-13-2014, 05:32 PM
Farmer Dave Farmer Dave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Marin County, CA USA
Posts: 977
Default Re: PT 11.1.3 - Bizarre plug-in behavior

Quote:
Originally Posted by connor@@vid View Post
This has been reported to not occur if a value is written for all parameters using write to all selected at some point on the timeline.

I tried this and the behavior is still the same. I was hoping that was another workaround but it didn't fix it here.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edit window - right/left arrow keys - bizarre behavior Londoner 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 11-05-2010 06:47 AM
Akai MPD26 creating some really bizarre PT click behavior Jonny Jon Jon MIDI 0 05-07-2010 01:48 PM
PTHD for Windows -- bizarre Edit Window behavior jjnyc Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 4 12-09-2007 07:53 PM
Bizarre behavior on D-Control Mikey MTC ICON & C|24 2 02-12-2007 11:09 PM
Bizarre Premiere 4.2 Behavior JKD99 Post - Surround - Video 8 02-20-2004 10:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:25 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com