Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-19-2019, 03:22 PM
SomeOtherGuy SomeOtherGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 240
Default Post-It notes for Pro Tools?

I can't imagine it even would be possible, but are there any third-party programs or other creative ways to create the equivalent of Post-It notes in the Pro Tools Edit window?

I find Markers too limiting for sessions with many tracks and so I usually create blank yellow audio regions with titles that are instructional. It would be great to have something more capable.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12 HD Native, Apogee Symphony I/O with Thunderbridge
Mac Pro 3.5 Ghz 6-Core (2014) 64 GB RAM, Mac OS Mojave, Samsung T5 SSDs.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-19-2019, 03:26 PM
arche3's Avatar
arche3 arche3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 708
Default Re: Post-It notes for Pro Tools?

There is already a notes region. Just make it visible. It comes up before the inserts.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-19-2019, 03:28 PM
SomeOtherGuy SomeOtherGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 240
Default Re: Post-It notes for Pro Tools?

Yes, thanks, but I mean something where you can position and point to certain clips in a busy edit window with a floating or attached note.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12 HD Native, Apogee Symphony I/O with Thunderbridge
Mac Pro 3.5 Ghz 6-Core (2014) 64 GB RAM, Mac OS Mojave, Samsung T5 SSDs.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-19-2019, 03:37 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,417
Default Re: Post-It notes for Pro Tools?

https://www.meldaproduction.com/MNotepad

https://non-lethal-applications.com/products/snapshot

both can do notes

addressing certain clips and positions, I don't think Pro Tools has a hook other developers can use for that.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2018.12, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-19-2019, 03:47 PM
SomeOtherGuy SomeOtherGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 240
Default Re: Post-It notes for Pro Tools?

Thanks. Snapshot is good for capturing outboard gear settings with a pic, but tough to get anything that points to specific clips in the edit window.

This is pretty close:

http://www.protoolsisawesome.com/?p=628
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12 HD Native, Apogee Symphony I/O with Thunderbridge
Mac Pro 3.5 Ghz 6-Core (2014) 64 GB RAM, Mac OS Mojave, Samsung T5 SSDs.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-19-2019, 03:58 PM
SomeOtherGuy SomeOtherGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 240
Default Re: Post-It notes for Pro Tools?

Just tried it, and it's actually very close to what I'm looking for. Limited amount of text, but the Clip Group idea is great:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2019-02-19 at 3.55.06 PM.png
Views:	0
Size:	16.8 KB
ID:	11456  
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12 HD Native, Apogee Symphony I/O with Thunderbridge
Mac Pro 3.5 Ghz 6-Core (2014) 64 GB RAM, Mac OS Mojave, Samsung T5 SSDs.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-19-2019, 09:03 PM
Sparky1 Sparky1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Saskatoon, SK, Canada
Posts: 677
Default Re: Post-It notes for Pro Tools?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SomeOtherGuy View Post
Just tried it, and it's actually very close to what I'm looking for. Limited amount of text, but the Clip Group idea is great:



Cool idea.


Playing with it - you can add as much text as you like - just need to resize the clip to display as much of the information as you want...


Also - if you want to have a "Post-It" note effect - just create a track above or below the track you are working - create the memo in that track at the location you are directing the information... You can then minimize the track...



If you select the color palette - select "Clips In Tracks" - you can then color your notes as well - so they stand out a bit if you minimize the track they are on...



Just some thoughts...


Sparky
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-19-2019, 10:17 PM
Sardi Sardi is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,382
Default Re: Post-It notes for Pro Tools?

You wouldn’t be able to use this technique if you were working with stems or unedited multi tracks though as there would be no free space on the timeline.

Also, I’m guessing it would be almost unreadable if you had a long session and had it scaled to fit the screen.

Your original suggestion for a sticky notes type of floating window is actually pretty good. I’d never thought of that before, but can see how it could be very handy, especially if sending sessions to other people.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-20-2019, 07:10 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,027
Default Re: Post-It notes for Pro Tools?

A workaround would be to use Markers, name them appropriately, use the Comments section of the Marker Dialogue for your notes and keep the floating Markers Window open. Then you can either go to the Marker or open the Edit dialogue for the Marker and see your comments. Not sure how efficient this would be, just a suggestion.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-20-2019, 08:49 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,557
Default Re: Post-It notes for Pro Tools?

Just a quick note; you don't need to create actual audio regions (using up space), you can just select an area on a blank track and create a clip group, then put whatever notes you want in it (subject to character length limit). I use it all the time for lyrics in the timeline.


That said, I've often wished for exactly the feature you're talking about; sticky notes on the session that anyone will see on opening on their machine without additional plugs/apps/etc.
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Midi notes deleting when editing and writing in notes SeventhSounding MIDI 5 01-14-2018 02:34 AM
Will Pro Tools Express Transpose notes like the regular Pro Tools? bbbbbbb40 Pro Tools Express on Windows 0 12-16-2014 05:25 PM
Dropped notes, sustain problems, random notes Gamling MIDI 4 02-10-2014 07:09 PM
Recording Midi notes and keeping existing notes during record Sherbert99 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 09-15-2008 09:40 AM
Why are midi notes so small in notes view Gothboy MIDI 1 05-27-2008 06:17 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:32 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com