Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  ē  Community Terms of Use  ē  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  ē  Community Search  ē  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 02-19-2019, 12:34 PM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,585
Default Re: Pro-Tools Sabotaging My Projects!

Turn off Round Robin.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

Nyquist was right.

PT 2018.x HD | Omni | macOS Sierra
PT 2018.x | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-19-2019, 01:50 PM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,941
Default Re: Pro-Tools Sabotaging My Projects!

Quote:
Originally Posted by daeron80 View Post
Turn off Round Robin.
Money's here ^
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools 2018
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-20-2019, 05:10 AM
Cayce Cayce is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 79
Default Re: Pro-Tools Sabotaging My Projects!

Thanks to everyone helping with this.

Have a look at the attached image to see an example of this problem. The project shown had all clips stored in the Audio Files folder of the project. I closed the project, and made an archive copy of the project folder. The next time I opened the project, I was met with an alert saying 23 audio files were missing.

Here are some possibly critical points and answers to questions asked by members here:

ó Yes: I clone project folders that have constructs Iíd need to recreate for the new project, from which Iíll delete existing, unneeded clips.
ó Yes: I do have my own template project folders I copy and use for similarly constructed projects, meaning that each new project will have similarly named tracks, resulting in clips with similar names as in other projects.
ó No: My audio files for any given project are NOT stored in a folder common to other projects. That would be dumb, and I try not to do dumb things, though I often fail in the attempt.
ó No: I donít use the Save as Template function, because itís easier to copy my own template folder, or clone a folder that has everything I currently need for the next project.
ó No: Iím not using an external drive thatís backing up, overwriting files, other than my normal backup scheme.

Hopefully these clues will help.

Thanks again.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	PT-Issue-022019.1.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	68.4 KB
ID:	11460  
__________________
iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2015)
4 GHz Intel Core i7
32 GB 1867 MHz DDR3
2TB Internal Fusion Drive
2 4TB External Drives with Mirrored Backups
2 External Monitors: 27" & 65"
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-20-2019, 06:13 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,471
Default Re: Pro-Tools Sabotaging My Projects!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cayce View Post
Thanks to everyone helping with this.

Have a look at the attached image to see an example of this problem. The project shown had all clips stored in the Audio Files folder of the project. I closed the project, and made an archive copy of the project folder. The next time I opened the project, I was met with an alert saying 23 audio files were missing.

Here are some possibly critical points and answers to questions asked by members here:

ó Yes: I clone project folders that have constructs Iíd need to recreate for the new project, from which Iíll delete existing, unneeded clips.
ó Yes: I do have my own template project folders I copy and use for similarly constructed projects, meaning that each new project will have similarly named tracks, resulting in clips with similar names as in other projects.
ó No: My audio files for any given project are NOT stored in a folder common to other projects. That would be dumb, and I try not to do dumb things, though I often fail in the attempt.
ó No: I donít use the Save as Template function, because itís easier to copy my own template folder, or clone a folder that has everything I currently need for the next project.
ó No: Iím not using an external drive thatís backing up, overwriting files, other than my normal backup scheme.

Hopefully these clues will help.

Thanks again.
You keep using the word "Project". Project audio is usually stored in the cloud and not on your local computer. Just need to be specific on this

One other thing; you said you "copy from your on template folder". Can you describe each and every step on how this is done?(I know you are asking why, and its because, many folks used to save a "template" session and when they wanted to create a new session, they would open the template session and then save it as their new song, and maybe even save it to a separate recording drive. The problem there was that audio files for the new session would actually be saved to the template session's audio files folder Most all of us here have made silly goofs in our early days with PT(its plenty easy to do). Just try to be analytical about troubleshooting and don't beat yourself up if you goof up
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-20-2019, 07:43 AM
arche3's Avatar
arche3 arche3 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 715
Default Re: Pro-Tools Sabotaging My Projects!

Get a new record drive and try that after you make sure all the "sessions" settings are correct. I'm leaning towards operator error 1st and intermittent drive errors 2nd.

Def possible its hardware record drive issue.

Has this ever happened in the past? Or are you new to using protools?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-20-2019, 08:12 AM
arche3's Avatar
arche3 arche3 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 715
Default Re: Pro-Tools Sabotaging My Projects!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cayce View Post



ó Yes: I clone project folders that have constructs Iíd need to recreate for the new project, from which Iíll delete existing, unneeded clips.

ó



Thanks again.
My guess is this. Some sort of operator error. Try it without deleting unneeded clips. And proceed with new song.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-20-2019, 08:16 AM
arche3's Avatar
arche3 arche3 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 715
Default Re: Pro-Tools Sabotaging My Projects!

I have also had a old spinner drive failure where some audio files were said missing. But the next time I turn the drive on and mount it they were there. So hardware issue also describes the issue from personal experience.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-20-2019, 08:25 AM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angles
Posts: 354
Default Re: Pro-Tools Sabotaging My Projects!

Here's an idea. Just look at the full disk path of the missing files. This might narrow down some of the mystery here. In the clips list, click on "show full disk path" or something like that in the drop down menu list at the top. This will show you where PT thinks the files should be and might determine why they're not there anymore.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-20-2019, 08:26 AM
arche3's Avatar
arche3 arche3 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 715
Default Re: Pro-Tools Sabotaging My Projects!

Quote:
Originally Posted by its2loud View Post
Here's an idea. Just look at the full disk path of the missing files. This might narrow down some of the mystery here. In the clips list, click on "show full disk path" or something like that in the drop down menu list at the top. This will show you where PT thinks the files should be and might determine why they're not there anymore.
This
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-20-2019, 08:49 AM
Cayce Cayce is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 79
Default Re: Pro-Tools Sabotaging My Projects!

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
You keep using the word "Project".
Thanks, Albee (curious about the "1952" ... could we possibly have that in common?)

Yeah, I'm a bit old-school when it coms to vocabulary. "Project", in the world I've inhabited for the past six-plus decades, means (borrowing from Mirriam-Webster), "...an enterprise that is carefully planned and designed to achieve a particular aim". I tend to call something I'm working on a Project. Perhaps Pro Tools is endeavoring to rewrite the dictionary so that a pursuit not involving the "Cloud" needs to be called something else, but the normal world—where I'm from— still calls a thing being worked on a Project. A Session is not a project and shouldn't be misidentified as such. Again, borrowing from the dictionary, a Session is "a period of time devoted to a particular activity". Calling a recording project a Session is, by definition, wrong. A segment of time spent on the recording project is called a session.

Furthermore—while we're on the subject of Pro Tools misappropriating the English language—you know that thing we do where we record the artist for a short segment of time, creating a clip? That's called a Take, not a Playlist. A Take is defined as, "a scene or sequence of sound or vision photographed or recorded continuously at one time." A Playlist is something we'd create in iTunes. We would never hear an artist or engineer in a studio say, "that was great, but can we do just one more playlist?”, if for no other reason than Take is singular, whereas Playlist is plural.

These are only a couple of the many things convincing me that no one authoring the Pro Tools software has ever spent time in an actual studio.

So, yes: my Project is on my local drive.

As for the bit about copying my own template folder: I have a folder that has all the various tracks & sub/aux tracks that I find to be common across any project I start. No clips, just tracks and track assignments setup. When I start a new project, I copy that folder, named Record Template, give the folder and PTX file a new name, and get busy.

It was mentioned by Arche32 that it might be operator error: I wish it was. I'd own that in a heartbeat. But I'm at a loss as to how an operator could selectively delete 23 audio files from a folder that wasn't accessed between the time it was last closed and later reopened.

Arche3 also asked if I'm new to PT. No, I'm not. I used it from 2008 to 2010 and ditched it because it was so unstable. I just started using it again about 6 months ago because I intend to take my "projects" into a pro studio for polishing and want them to be in what will likely be the most broadly recognized files.

Thanks.
__________________
iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2015)
4 GHz Intel Core i7
32 GB 1867 MHz DDR3
2TB Internal Fusion Drive
2 4TB External Drives with Mirrored Backups
2 External Monitors: 27" & 65"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Missing fade files, missing audio in resaved sesssions drygruo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-14-2010 04:56 PM
All Sessions using SDII files are missing all audio files and won't relink bigmusic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 03-18-2009 12:54 PM
missing audio files are actually not missing tomcat Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 12-24-2006 02:25 PM
Fade Files as Audio Files in "Missing Audio" ?? CCash Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 05-18-2005 09:00 AM
Missing Fade files become missing audio files? Tim R. Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 11 06-21-2004 09:48 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com