Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-18-2019, 12:10 AM
ErikGuldager ErikGuldager is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Stockholm, sweden
Posts: 114
Default MC AAF export changed in 2018.10?

Did MC AAF export change in 2018.10?

I read that since the last few releases it is required to have MC/PT at the same version level because of AAF inconsistencies.

We have had a few issues lately where PT just wouldn't link up som files in the AAF properly.

I read about it on gearslutz, and as we are in the process of updating the last few MCs to 2018.12 we may be starting to see this issue creep up.
I just want to know more.

Links to any info appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-18-2019, 02:40 PM
AndrewAction's Avatar
AndrewAction AndrewAction is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Auckland
Posts: 437
Default Re: MC AAF export changed in 2018.10?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ErikGuldager View Post
Did MC AAF export change in 2018.10?

I read that since the last few releases it is required to have MC/PT at the same version level because of AAF inconsistencies.

We have had a few issues lately where PT just wouldn't link up som files in the AAF properly.
A known bug MCCET-2825 causes some AAF exports with embedded media from recent versions of MC did not to import correctly into PT's 12.7.1 and earlier.
Chatter in the MC forums around the time of the last MC update suggested that a fix for this, though not in the last release (MC 2018.12.1), was being worked on and could be expected soon.

Andrew
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-19-2019, 01:48 PM
AndrewAction's Avatar
AndrewAction AndrewAction is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Auckland
Posts: 437
Default Re: MC AAF export changed in 2018.10?

Todays update I have not tested this yet but the readme with MC 2018.2, released this morning, indicates the problem is resolved.

Bug Number: MCCET-2825. An AAF embedded export from Media Composer did not import properly into Pro Tools v12.7.1 and earlier.
If you experience this problem, enable the “ProTools 10/12 compatibility” option in the Export As AAF dialog. The exported AAF will be compatible with earlier versions of Pro Tools.

Note This does not apply to AAF's exported with linked media

Andrew
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 2018 Export Clips Bug?? indeloon85 Pro Tools 2018 0 09-16-2018 08:29 AM
Macbook Pro 2018 w/ UAD Apollo 8p and PT 2018.7 Performance Issues Dudiester Pro Tools 2018 5 08-12-2018 09:33 AM
Pro Tools 2018.3 / 2018.4 crashing when switching window configurations matthewmkb macOS 0 06-27-2018 07:33 AM
Pro Tools 2018.1 crashing during audio import/export Robert Torres Pro Tools 2018 5 02-06-2018 02:46 AM
Can Dither in Export Prefs be changed to PowR Dither Mr. Anxiety Tips & Tricks 5 10-31-2009 11:28 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:32 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com