Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 03-14-2014, 12:25 PM
dave911's Avatar
dave911 dave911 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,454
Default Re: Monitor Stands

Check amazon for speaker spikes, I would not pay a lot for them.
They just reduce the vibration area to 4 points, no magic.

Not familiar with iso-pads.
Neoprene is used in all kinds of industrial vibration control applications, which when you get past the marketing drivel about "focus etc." is all that's happening here.

The height adjustment on Near-Field monitors is critical so I always use height adjustable stands.
__________________
"In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is." - Yogi Berra
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 03-14-2014, 02:56 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,665
Default Re: Monitor Stands

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Bechara View Post
Hey ... I finally talked to my carpenter and showed him the argosy models ... he is gonna make exact ones as the argosy with the same melamine material used to make them but I did tell him instead of filling them with sand to use wood filled poles of 10 cm width and depth to connect the base and the top .... do you think it would be better to use screws to fix them to my wood floor or just place them as they are on the floor ??
What is this fascination you have with pole and speaker mounting? The construction you're talking about won't be sturdy. And it certainly won't be anything like what Argosy makes. A wood filled pole won't do anything for stability or mass and mass is part of what you need for a good free standing speaker stand. Mass and isolation which you have with the isopod your speakers come with. Besides the Argosy models can't be filled with sand - that was for the Raxxess models I talk about and have seen used to great success.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 03-14-2014, 03:01 PM
Becharax's Avatar
Becharax Becharax is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lebanon
Posts: 2,135
Default Re: Monitor Stands

you mean floor spikes ? caoutchouc spikes or metal spikes to place between the base and the floor or the top and the speaker ?? the carpenter will install 4 at each corner of every base to separate the floor from the base of the stand .... so it's either those or a neoprene sheet below each stand base ?
__________________
System Details:
iMac Pro 2017 8 Core Intel Xeon 3.2 Ghz
macOS 10.13.6
Pro Tools 2019.6
Logic Pro X
Reason 10.4

Apogee Thunderbridge/Apogee Symphony I/O 2x6
Eleven Rack SPDIF/Focusrite ISA Two/Onyx 1640i
UAD Satellite Quad Thunderbolt
MOOG Mother 32
Nektar Panorama P1
Axiom AIR 49/Axiom 49/Yamaha P35
Fender Mustang/Ibanez Pedals/Fender Strat/Acoustic Yamaha Guitar
Genelec 8040b/Yamaha HS80s/M-Audio BX5a
Beats Solo/Shure SRH1840

http://equipboard.com/becharasaliba
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 03-14-2014, 03:05 PM
Becharax's Avatar
Becharax Becharax is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lebanon
Posts: 2,135
Default Re: Monitor Stands

exactly musicman .... the wood pole i am talking about it actually 10 cm thick ... and the top is 30 cm ... so it's the same width as the raxess but instead of filling it with sand i am filling it with wood ... trust me i am doing my best for the stand to be sturdy !!
__________________
System Details:
iMac Pro 2017 8 Core Intel Xeon 3.2 Ghz
macOS 10.13.6
Pro Tools 2019.6
Logic Pro X
Reason 10.4

Apogee Thunderbridge/Apogee Symphony I/O 2x6
Eleven Rack SPDIF/Focusrite ISA Two/Onyx 1640i
UAD Satellite Quad Thunderbolt
MOOG Mother 32
Nektar Panorama P1
Axiom AIR 49/Axiom 49/Yamaha P35
Fender Mustang/Ibanez Pedals/Fender Strat/Acoustic Yamaha Guitar
Genelec 8040b/Yamaha HS80s/M-Audio BX5a
Beats Solo/Shure SRH1840

http://equipboard.com/becharasaliba
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 03-14-2014, 07:00 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,665
Default Re: Monitor Stands

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Bechara View Post
exactly musicman .... the wood pole i am talking about it actually 10 cm thick ... and the top is 30 cm ... so it's the same width as the raxess but instead of filling it with sand i am filling it with wood ... trust me i am doing my best for the stand to be sturdy !!
That is NOT going to be sturdy. A pole will NEVER be as sturdy as the construction Raxxess uses - what is so hard to understand about that? And wood will NEVER give you the mass in the stand you're going to need. You're wasting time and energy with these thought experiments - just fork out the cash and get the ready made Raxxess units.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 03-14-2014, 07:04 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,665
Default Re: Monitor Stands

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Bechara View Post
you mean floor spikes ? caoutchouc spikes or metal spikes to place between the base and the floor or the top and the speaker ?? the carpenter will install 4 at each corner of every base to separate the floor from the base of the stand .... so it's either those or a neoprene sheet below each stand base ?
You do not need neoprene between the stand and the floor if you're using the isopod that came with the Genelecs. THis is assuming you dump the stupid idea of using some kind of pole mount. Besides neoprene is NOT the material you want to use. Sorbothane is what you should be looking for and there are at least three different hardness versions. Look at the latest issue of Recording magazine for help with this - the whole issue is about monitoring and studio setup for same.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 03-14-2014, 07:45 PM
dave911's Avatar
dave911 dave911 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,454
Default Re: Monitor Stands

I use Neoprene and it works well at a fraction of the cost.
Sorbothane is excellent if you need impact and vibration control.
Overkill I think for speaker pads, but maybe you have done an engineering analysis.
To OP
Yes, I would use it on the base of the stands to isolate the stands from the floor.
Generally a sand filled column will work much better than solid wood because you need something that will not resonate.
__________________
"In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is." - Yogi Berra
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 03-15-2014, 01:25 AM
Becharax's Avatar
Becharax Becharax is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lebanon
Posts: 2,135
Default Re: Monitor Stands

you just dont get it guys ... I am not saving money !! but I can't ship them to my country simply ... and it's not a pole !! i didn't know the exact word but it's a construction as the raxxess ... the guy makes stands for studios in the whole country ... it does not need nuclear physics to build a "STAND" ... raxxess and argosy build melamine stands and that's the exact material we are using ... as for the construction yes it's from melamine as per the raxxess ...
__________________
System Details:
iMac Pro 2017 8 Core Intel Xeon 3.2 Ghz
macOS 10.13.6
Pro Tools 2019.6
Logic Pro X
Reason 10.4

Apogee Thunderbridge/Apogee Symphony I/O 2x6
Eleven Rack SPDIF/Focusrite ISA Two/Onyx 1640i
UAD Satellite Quad Thunderbolt
MOOG Mother 32
Nektar Panorama P1
Axiom AIR 49/Axiom 49/Yamaha P35
Fender Mustang/Ibanez Pedals/Fender Strat/Acoustic Yamaha Guitar
Genelec 8040b/Yamaha HS80s/M-Audio BX5a
Beats Solo/Shure SRH1840

http://equipboard.com/becharasaliba
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 03-23-2014, 08:14 AM
Becharax's Avatar
Becharax Becharax is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lebanon
Posts: 2,135
Default Re: Monitor Stands

And there you go :)
__________________
System Details:
iMac Pro 2017 8 Core Intel Xeon 3.2 Ghz
macOS 10.13.6
Pro Tools 2019.6
Logic Pro X
Reason 10.4

Apogee Thunderbridge/Apogee Symphony I/O 2x6
Eleven Rack SPDIF/Focusrite ISA Two/Onyx 1640i
UAD Satellite Quad Thunderbolt
MOOG Mother 32
Nektar Panorama P1
Axiom AIR 49/Axiom 49/Yamaha P35
Fender Mustang/Ibanez Pedals/Fender Strat/Acoustic Yamaha Guitar
Genelec 8040b/Yamaha HS80s/M-Audio BX5a
Beats Solo/Shure SRH1840

http://equipboard.com/becharasaliba
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 03-23-2014, 06:31 PM
dr_daw's Avatar
dr_daw dr_daw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cariboo, BC
Posts: 1,216
Default Re: Monitor Stands

Looks great! Wow is that ever a small space! It'll work though. Good work, how does it sound?
__________________
FBR recording - https://www.facebook.com/fromthebase...cordsrecording
@FBRrecording - Instagram
Rig
MBP 15" High Sierra 10.13.3, i7 2.6Ghz, 8Gb DDR, 750Gb 7200rpm, PT 2019.5, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, Octopre MkII, Glyph GPT50, Avalon 737sp, AMS Neve 1073's, API 512c, CAPI 312's, DW drums, Fender Guitars/Amps, AKG, Rode, Sennheiser, Neumann U87 & KM184's, Coles 4038, Equator D5 monitors
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: KRK VXT6 (pair) w/stands and SPL 2489 surround monitor controller mixaudio Buy & Sell 7 09-29-2013 02:14 PM
monitor stands, any preferences? pk_hat 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 15 05-21-2002 08:47 PM
HD stands for? Robert U Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 01-22-2002 04:45 PM
Monitor stands? Kickin.da.speaker 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 20 01-17-2002 05:48 PM
Which monitor stands? Kickin.da.speaker Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 01-16-2002 12:26 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:45 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com