Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #5621  
Old 03-11-2014, 02:05 PM
D'Majishin D'Majishin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Philadelphia, PA/Omaha. NE
Posts: 61
Default Re: i7 Builds - Specs and Results

Quote:
Originally Posted by mesaone View Post
There's nothing wrong with your setup. I'm working with a Bloomfield too. That will handle Pro Tools and Komplete with no issue. If you're itching to upgrade, throw in a SSD boot drive and replace those 2GB sticks with 4 GB to bring your total up to 16.
You'd think... But I keep getting crashes.... I don't know what's wrong?
__________________
Alfonzo (D'Majishin) Lee Jones
Founder/President
Icon One Music
Reply With Quote
  #5622  
Old 03-11-2014, 02:07 PM
D'Majishin D'Majishin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Philadelphia, PA/Omaha. NE
Posts: 61
Default Re: i7 Builds - Specs and Results

Quote:
Originally Posted by philip888 View Post
Also just read your Sandra. Mismatched RAM will slow down a system. I would upgrade the RAM and match the Kingston 4GB pairs you have. That processor runs best in triple channel mod. You need at least three matching pieces of RAM to run in triple channel mod. So you are fighting against yourself with that RAM set up.
Triple channel mod? Wow, I don't even know what that is. I need to do some research...
__________________
Alfonzo (D'Majishin) Lee Jones
Founder/President
Icon One Music
Reply With Quote
  #5623  
Old 03-11-2014, 02:32 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,155
Default Re: i7 Builds - Specs and Results

That should read Triple Channel Mode. You need 3 matching sticks of RAM - ie identical - for it to run in Triple Channel Mode. You don't have that right now.

Cheers,
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #5624  
Old 03-11-2014, 02:33 PM
D'Majishin D'Majishin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Philadelphia, PA/Omaha. NE
Posts: 61
Default Re: i7 Builds - Specs and Results

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Weed View Post
That should read Triple Channel Mode. You need 3 matching sticks of RAM - ie identical - for it to run in Triple Channel Mode. You don't have that right now.

Cheers,
Oh ok. Thanks!!
__________________
Alfonzo (D'Majishin) Lee Jones
Founder/President
Icon One Music
Reply With Quote
  #5625  
Old 03-11-2014, 02:38 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,875
Default Re: i7 Builds - Specs and Results

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeReganNoise View Post
Hey all,

I've been running a solid and dependable Windows XP PT LE 8 rig for about 4 years now. When it was built, my friend and I set it up to be "Large Address Aware." for more memory access. We found info about it here on the DUC. Now that XP is no longer going to be supported, I know it's time to move on.

I want to build a rig for PT 10 HD Native. About 6 months ago I found the following parts but stopped short of a build:

ASUS Sabertooth X79 LGA 2011 Intel X79 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard $ 325

Intel Core i7-3930K Sandy Bridge-E 3.2GHz (3.8GHz Turbo) LGA 2011 130W Six-Core Desktop Processor $ 570

COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 EVO RR-212E-20PK-R2 Continuous Direct Contact 120mm Sleeve CPU Cooler Compatible with latest Intel 2011/1366/1155 and AMD FM1/FM2/AM3+ $35

2 x CORSAIR Vengeance 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model CMZ16GX3M2A1600C10B TOTAL 32GB $ 270

Rosewill Green Series RG630-S12 630W Continuous @40°C,80 PLUS BRONZE Certified, Single 12V Rail, Active PFC "Compatible with Core i7,i5" Power Supply $60

Western Digital WD Black WD2002FAEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive - OEM $160

Galaxy 64TGF8HX6FTZ GeForce GT 640 GC 1GB 128-bit DDR3 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready Video Card $90

SAMSUNG DVD Burner 24X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 8X DVD+R DL 24X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 24X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM SATA Model SH-224DB/BEBE - OEM $15

COOLER MASTER HAF XM RC-922XM-KKN1 Latch Side Panel w/ 2 x 200mm Fan Black Mesh, Plastic, Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case $120

SAMSUNG 840 Pro Series MZ-7PD128BW 2.5" 128GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) $ 140


Does it look like there will be any issues with MOBO/Processor and Chipset?

I'm not so much concerned about price as I am about performance and dependability. I'd love to get 3 years out of this rig, eventually upgrade to 11 HD, etc..

I sincerely appreciate any advice you guys might have.

Thanks!!!
This motherboard SHOULD be capable of running Quad-channel RAM, but it requires 4 matching sticks. If 16GB is the amount you want, get 4x4 instead of 2x8. Otherwise, double that(4x8GB) so you can run proper quad mode. Not sure about that case, but I am partial to the Antec P280 is its very quiet(at least take a look at it)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5626  
Old 03-11-2014, 02:41 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,670
Default Re: i7 Builds - Specs and Results

Correct again mr Dave - he needs 4 sticks of ram to take advantage of the bandwidth of his quad channel capable board
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #5627  
Old 03-11-2014, 03:34 PM
CME CME is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ardmore OK
Posts: 3,205
Default Re: i7 Builds - Specs and Results

Quote:
Originally Posted by D'Majishin View Post
Triple channel mod? Wow, I don't even know what that is. I need to do some research...

Yep. One of the "quirks" of that generation of processor is the triple channel configuration. Before them most CPUs could run in dual channel. And now most processors can run quad channel. But those chips work best in triple channel. Hence my 3x8 GB of ram.
__________________
2009 Mac Pro - Dual X5650 Xeon 6-core 2.66Ghz procs, 48GB of Ram, SATA 3 and USB 3.0 PCIe cards. R9 280X video card. macOS Sierra. Harrison Mixbus 32C, Studio One 3, Reaper, and pro tools 12 when I have to.
Reply With Quote
  #5628  
Old 03-11-2014, 03:52 PM
D'Majishin D'Majishin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Philadelphia, PA/Omaha. NE
Posts: 61
Default Re: i7 Builds - Specs and Results

Quote:
Originally Posted by CME View Post
Yep. One of the "quirks" of that generation of processor is the triple channel configuration. Before them most CPUs could run in dual channel. And now most processors can run quad channel. But those chips work best in triple channel. Hence my 3x8 GB of ram.
I really want to just totally upgrade my system.. Any suggestions? Also does PT work with the new chipset or is that a stupid question?
__________________
Alfonzo (D'Majishin) Lee Jones
Founder/President
Icon One Music
Reply With Quote
  #5629  
Old 03-11-2014, 06:55 PM
CME CME is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ardmore OK
Posts: 3,205
Default i7 Builds - Specs and Results

Well I'm probably not the best guy to ask. I've not kept up with pc hardware lately. If you want to really upgrade an e5 xeon based rig would be the obvious step up. Not sure if anyone is really using it with pro tools. And don't know if there's a "consumer" equivalent like the 1366 socket systems. IMO anything less than an e5 would be more if a cross grade.

If you did build a new haswell based rig, it would probably out perform what you have now. But just fixing your ram and upgrading to a 6-core processor would outperform the haswell based rig and cost less.

At least that's my opinion. And like I said. I'm probably not the one to ask

And for kicks I just looked it up. There is a "consumer" series of socket 2011 chips. Not sure if anyone has built a rig around them, but that's where I'd look. However it looks like the base 6-core is around $550. They do have a quad for about $300. That's def the direction I would look.
__________________
2009 Mac Pro - Dual X5650 Xeon 6-core 2.66Ghz procs, 48GB of Ram, SATA 3 and USB 3.0 PCIe cards. R9 280X video card. macOS Sierra. Harrison Mixbus 32C, Studio One 3, Reaper, and pro tools 12 when I have to.
Reply With Quote
  #5630  
Old 03-11-2014, 07:26 PM
dave911's Avatar
dave911 dave911 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,454
Default Re: i7 Builds - Specs and Results

I would wait on the 3rd quarter of this year if possible if you want to build a top of line machine.
The six and eight core Haswell's with quad channel DDR4 memory are due out then.
__________________
"In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is." - Yogi Berra
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs sunburst79 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2416 02-19-2013 08:49 PM
new to pc builds chazc080488 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 10-18-2011 08:10 PM
any p45 builds fofif5792 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 09-09-2008 01:47 PM
OSX "builds" Richard Barrie Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 10-18-2004 09:37 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:22 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com