Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 06-16-2019, 12:35 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,794
Default Re: What smaller(er) control surface for PT19?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Lambert View Post
Just make sure it's the updated black version and not the original silver iterations -- those no longer work with modern versions of ProTools (forced retirement by Avid).
Silver ones work fine. They are officially EOL but they have never lost support by the software and firmware. Internally they are the same as the black models so they'll stop working only when they kill off the Artist Mix (black).
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.5, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 06-16-2019, 12:40 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,053
Default Re: What smaller(er) control surface for PT19?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Olhsson View Post
I have an early silver one. It took the latest firmware and works perfectly with PT 2019.5!
Jeez Avid should do a Bob Olhsson signature edition S3.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 06-16-2019, 05:44 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,743
Default Re: What smaller(er) control surface for PT19?

I gave my silver Control one attempt to accept the latest firmware but it didn't take. I'll try again. Fingers crossed.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 06-16-2019, 10:21 PM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,704
Default Re: What smaller(er) control surface for PT19?

Why not an Artists Mix? You can find used ones for $400-$600 these days and they work great with Protools with all the features (except a transport).
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com

Home/mobile: Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Focusrite Red 8Pre / Protools HD Native 2018.10 Ultimate
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 06-17-2019, 05:07 PM
Kirby B. Kirby B. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Geneva, Switzerland
Posts: 520
Default Re: What smaller(er) control surface for PT19?

Using a Digi 002 rack w Windows. Still works, but I wouldn't buy that or an 003 now.
__________________
Digi002R PT2018 Win 10
INTEL Core i7 930, 3.52 Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R
CORSAIR XMS3 12GB 1600Mhz
2 X WD 1TB Caviar Black 64 GB cache

MOTU Traveller PT2018
MacBook Pro Mojave
16GB DDR3
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 06-18-2019, 09:05 AM
Ed Douglas's Avatar
Ed Douglas Ed Douglas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Toronto Ont, Canada
Posts: 238
Default Re: What smaller(er) control surface for PT19?

I heard rumours that some new hardware smaller that an S3 are in the works.... fingers crossed🤞🏼🤞🏼. I might actually buy some hardware from Avid if true. 👍🏼
__________________
Neotech Concepts
http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0235036/
! sonic gymnastics for the illusionary arts !

Portable - 2019 i9 MacBook Pro (15,3), macOS X 10.14.5, PT Ultimate 2019.5, Rx7 Advanced, Ozone 8 Advanced, Kontakt 6.1.0, Soundminer v4.5Pro, Spanner 3.0.3, SoundHack 0.896, EuControl 19.5, PT|Control 19.7.x, iPad Pro 12.9" gen 1, iPad Pro 12.9" gen 3, Apollo 8 Duo tb2, UAD-2 Satellite Quad tb2, x2 Glyph 2TB SSDs, OWC tb3 Dock, OWC Thunderbay 4 28TB
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 06-19-2019, 11:35 AM
Funk-O-Meter Funk-O-Meter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Eastern US
Posts: 22
Default Re: What smaller(er) control surface for PT19?

The 003 didn't work out. I got Mojave to recognize it but PT 2019 just won't play well with it. Very unstable. Soon as I touch the scrub wheel the whole machine freezes.

I have a vivid disdain for Presonus gear in a professional environment due to several traumatic incidents from my past. I won't go into that, but I'm really interested in your review of the 16 channel Fader Port.

Love the site and the Podcast BTW MIKE THORNTON! I never miss an episode!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
003 control surface (As audio) & control 24 as surface crizdee ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 7 01-04-2016 12:30 PM
Control Surface For Protools 10 Mackie Pro Control or Avid Artist Control lberrios1962 Pro Tools 10 18 05-26-2012 12:51 AM
D-Control Es32 Control Surface No Sound from Headphone outputs mark007 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 02-08-2012 07:03 PM
smaller foot control SloeGin Eleven Rack 36 07-18-2011 06:37 AM
Mackie Control Universal or Tascam 1082 for control surface? anders Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 05-28-2007 06:12 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:58 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com