Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-25-2015, 09:28 PM
dsetto dsetto is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: US
Posts: 70
Default Does PT10 come with a PT9-to-PT12 upgrade?

Hello. Does PT10 come with the $199 PT9-to-PT12 upgrade, as it did with the PT11 upgrade? From the FAQ quoted below, from the following link, I believe PT 10 does come with a PT12 upgrade (from PT9), for $199. I just wanted to make sure. Thank you!

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...censing-FAQ#17
Quote:
Q. Will I have to surrender my old license when I upgrade to Pro Tools 12? Will I lose my Pro Tools 10 license too?
A. You will need to surrender your old license, but you will receive a new license bundle that contains Pro Tools 10, 11, and 12 so you can still use the older versions.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-25-2015, 11:55 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,625
Default Re: Does PT10 come with a PT9-to-PT12 upgrade?

Yes you will loose your perpetual license,but it appears that they will give you a subscription or support plan license that works 10/11/12 (which is nice)

Now if it's $199 from 9 or not, I'm not sure
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-26-2015, 12:07 AM
dsetto dsetto is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: US
Posts: 70
Default Re: Does PT10 come with a PT9-to-PT12 upgrade?

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
Yes you will loose your perpetual license,but it appears that they will give you a subscription or support plan license that works 10/11/12 (which is nice)

Now if it's $199 from 9 or not, I'm not sure
From what I read, it can be a perpetual license. (And, you can upgrade it yearly at $199/year. Full upgrade cost if you let the year lapse.) Does this sound right?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-26-2015, 01:00 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,239
Default Re: Does PT10 come with a PT9-to-PT12 upgrade?

Why wouldn't it be a perpetual license? The bundle I got is like this:

Code:


Product                                           Subtype             Type
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Pro Tools HD with Upgrade and Support Plan 2015   Locked Group        License
Pro Tools 10                                      Product             License
Pro Tools 11                                      Product             License
Pro Tools 12                                      Product             License
Pro Tools 2016                                    Product             License
Pro Tools HD 10                                   Product             License
Pro Tools HD 11                                   Product             License
Pro Tools HD 12                                   Product             License
Pro Tools HD 2016                                 Product             License
There's nothing that would tell me that those 10/11/12 licenses would ever stop working even if I didn't renew the support plan. There is no expiration date.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-26-2015, 11:32 AM
dsetto dsetto is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: US
Posts: 70
Default Re: Does PT10 come with a PT9-to-PT12 upgrade?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
...
Pro Tools 2016 Product License
...
There's nothing that would tell me that those 10/11/12 licenses would ever stop working even if I didn't renew the support plan. There is no expiration date.
Cool. That's my reading of it. By the way, what's the "Pro Tools 2016" asset above?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-26-2015, 11:35 AM
KV626's Avatar
KV626 KV626 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Paris/Montreal
Posts: 450
Default Re: Does PT10 come with a PT9-to-PT12 upgrade?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsetto View Post
Cool. That's my reading of it. By the way, what's the "Pro Tools 2016" asset above?
Might be for the upcoming collabor....ahh nevermind
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 (Mid-2012) 12-core 2 x 3.3 GHz / MSI RX 560 / 40GB ram / macOS 10.14.5 / Pro Tools 2019.5 / Logic Pro X 10.4.4
Arturia Keylab 88 • Presonus Faderport 8 • MOTU 896 • iPad Air 2 w/ PT Control
NI Komplete Ultimate 11 • Albion One • Soundiron Choirs • Pianoteq • Analog Lab • VSL SE/Chamber Strings • etc
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-26-2015, 11:42 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,239
Default Re: Does PT10 come with a PT9-to-PT12 upgrade?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsetto View Post
Cool. That's my reading of it. By the way, what's the "Pro Tools 2016" asset above?
I have no clue, to be frank. It is probably the support plan thing...
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-26-2015, 12:05 PM
Ale Ale is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 581
Default Re: Does PT10 come with a PT9-to-PT12 upgrade?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
I have no clue, to be frank. It is probably the support plan thing...
in 2016 all licences will be automatically deleted if you do not renew suport plan

AVID has now access to your ilok account as I understood.
__________________
2x PT HD Native 2018.12 /6/12-Core Westmere/ 48 GB / OS 10.12.6 / 96 I/O / 192 I/O / Omni / BM Intensity Pro (Driver 10.4.3)
1x PT HD Native 2018.7 / MacMini Server late2011 / 16 GB / OS 10.13.6 / 002


www.tonstudio-gress.de

www.facebook.com/TonstudioGress
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-26-2015, 12:09 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,239
Default Re: Does PT10 come with a PT9-to-PT12 upgrade?

Avid as a software vendor has access to iLok accounts, but there are rules obviously. They can pull a license you have transfered from your license key to your account and then replace it with another one, or they can issue a special license surrender asset that deletes the license from the key itself. Either way you need to approve what is happening.

Please, no more conspiracy theories, right?
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-26-2015, 12:25 PM
KV626's Avatar
KV626 KV626 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Paris/Montreal
Posts: 450
Default Re: Does PT10 come with a PT9-to-PT12 upgrade?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Please, no more conspiracy theories, right?
Would you have reached 10K posts without them?



*runs*
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 (Mid-2012) 12-core 2 x 3.3 GHz / MSI RX 560 / 40GB ram / macOS 10.14.5 / Pro Tools 2019.5 / Logic Pro X 10.4.4
Arturia Keylab 88 • Presonus Faderport 8 • MOTU 896 • iPad Air 2 w/ PT Control
NI Komplete Ultimate 11 • Albion One • Soundiron Choirs • Pianoteq • Analog Lab • VSL SE/Chamber Strings • etc
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pt10+cptk >pt11hd >pt12 ?? paul007 Pro Tools 12 25 03-30-2016 03:15 AM
Will I still get my Free upgrade to PT12 realizment Pro Tools 12 0 03-24-2015 01:39 PM
If we go with PT12 do we surrender our PT10 license? soybalm Pro Tools 12 105 03-22-2015 01:11 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:06 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com