Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-28-2008, 05:42 PM
rqstudio rqstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,322
Default authorization on Timewarp 2600

My biggest gripe with Digi is how you're expected to jump through hoops in order to get everything you purchased. Once you walk out the door at your local Music Store your on your own. Trying to get someone on Tech Support is like an afternoon chore. Thank God for Spkguitar, he probably answers more questions than anyone and should be on your payroll!

I just purchased an 003, and the only thing in the box (besides the unit) was a 7.3.1 disk and the best manual I've gotten so far. So this means I had to download the 7.4 etc, etc.

But there was absolutely nothing referring to the Ignition Pack 2! (disk or registration cards) On your support page it says if I didn't receive IP2 to contact my dealer and that they are not available from Digidesign. My dealer thinks I'm nuts and I cant get Timewarp authorized, fortunately my other plugs ported over from my older MBox 2 Pro without re-registering them but I'm not sure how...what gives?

Sorry if I sound frustrated but you really wouldn't want to be me right now.
__________________
www.rickqueststudio.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-29-2008, 12:24 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: authorization on Timewarp 2600

Quote:
Thank God for Spkguitar, he probably answers more questions than anyone and should be on your payroll!
I completely agree!!

Was the box sealed when you bought it?
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-29-2008, 08:22 PM
rqstudio rqstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,322
Default Re: authorization on Timewarp 2600

Quote:
Was the box sealed when you bought it?
Oh yeah, the box was sealed and Digi's site says it's not even available through them and to contact your salesman if it didn't come in the original box. It's the first my salesman had heard of it...I should know more tomorrow.

Meanwhile my love/hate relationship continues!
__________________
www.rickqueststudio.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-30-2008, 06:13 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: authorization on Timewarp 2600

The ignition pack is only available with a new hardware purchase. If the box was sealed (are you sure it hadn't been "re-sealed" by the dealer?), and there is no Ignition Pack disk inside, then the item purchased is "defective" (does not include everything it should) and you should "return" it to the dealer for replacement.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-30-2008, 07:03 AM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: authorization on Timewarp 2600

Quote:
Thank God for Spkguitar, he probably answers more questions than anyone and should be on your payroll!


I ACTUALLY 2ND THAT MOTION!!!!!
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-30-2008, 08:05 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,538
Default Re: authorization on Timewarp 2600

Quote:
The ignition pack is only available with a new hardware purchase. If the box was sealed (are you sure it hadn't been "re-sealed" by the dealer?), and there is no Ignition Pack disk inside, then the item purchased is "defective" (does not include everything it should) and you should "return" it to the dealer for replacement.
Spkguitar is spot-on with this - new product should have come with the IP2. All dealers were given enough IP2 packages for old stock to cover any inventory they may have had. If this was a new piece and the box contained the Ignition Pack, but the pack was missing the installer CD's and registration/activation cards, then you should return the entire system to the dealer and get a replacement - in other words, a new, sealed box that contains a complete Ignition Pack 2.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-30-2008, 02:51 PM
rqstudio rqstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,322
Default Re: authorization on Timewarp 2600

Dear Digi,
You should just open every post with "Spkguitar is spot-on with this" but this link and quote from the Digi site seems to suggest many boxes went out without IP2 and that this was a known issue:

http://www.digidesign.com/index.cfm?...4&itemid=25023

"If you purchased a new Pro Tools|HD or Pro Tools LE hardware system from an authorized Digidesign dealer on or after March 1, 2007, and you did not receive your Ignition Pack 2, contact your Digidesign dealer directly. The Pro Tools Ignition Pack 2 and Ignition Pack 2 Pro are not available from Digidesign, and are not sold separately. They are only included with the purchase of new Pro Tools|HD or Pro Tools LE core hardware systems from your Digidesign dealer. Pro Tools M-Powered systems do not include the Ignition Pack 2 bundle."

This is exactly why I said I needed to contact my dealer Monday...
__________________
www.rickqueststudio.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-30-2008, 03:26 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,538
Default Re: authorization on Timewarp 2600

Quote:
Dear Digi,
You should just open every post with "Spkguitar is spot-on with this" but this link and quote from the Digi site seems to suggest many boxes went out without IP2 and that this was a known issue:

http://www.digidesign.com/index.cfm?...4&itemid=25023

"If you purchased a new Pro Tools|HD or Pro Tools LE hardware system from an authorized Digidesign dealer on or after March 1, 2007, and you did not receive your Ignition Pack 2, contact your Digidesign dealer directly. The Pro Tools Ignition Pack 2 and Ignition Pack 2 Pro are not available from Digidesign, and are not sold separately. They are only included with the purchase of new Pro Tools|HD or Pro Tools LE core hardware systems from your Digidesign dealer. Pro Tools M-Powered systems do not include the Ignition Pack 2 bundle."

This is exactly why I said I needed to contact my dealer Monday...
That link isn't suggesting that any boxes went out without IP2, nor that it was a 'known issue'. What it is there for is to possibly alleviate calls from customers whose dealer forgot to give them the IP2, or who had open stock that did not get the IP2 returned from the customer who returned the box.

The way it works is as I indicated in my post - we sent dealers enough IP2 inventory to cover their current stock. That link states specifically what should be done in the case that you did not get the IP2 that either should a) be in the box in the case of newer stock or b) have been given to you separately by the dealer in the case of older stock.

In an ideal world, a new box will have a sealed IP2 or, if the stock was older and not packed with the IP2 inside, the dealer would have given you the IP2 separately. Obviously we know it's not an ideal world and that we would get questions from those whose did not get the IP2, either in the box (a packing error) or given separately by the dealer (a dealer error). In either case, it's the dealer that would deal with the issue.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-30-2008, 04:54 PM
rqstudio rqstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,322
Default Re: authorization on Timewarp 2600

I do appreciate your response and understand how difficult it must be.
__________________
www.rickqueststudio.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Timewarp 2600 Update-NO SOUND!? C.E.G Virtual Instruments 2 12-03-2009 04:49 AM
Re-authorize timewarp 2600 everytime I use it! grayc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 08-11-2009 11:18 AM
TimewARP 2600 Lite Crash on my Mac! Pato-Wan Kenobi Virtual Instruments 0 04-03-2008 10:11 AM
Timewarp 2600 CPU issue Slowdive90 Virtual Instruments 0 09-11-2007 02:46 PM
Problem using TimewARP 2600 with Pro Tools LE 7.3.1 msk011 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 07-13-2007 04:26 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:12 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com