Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Third Party Interfaces

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-27-2018, 06:44 AM
79imp 79imp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 14
Default Pro Tools & Antelope Orion Studio/Thunderbolt Issues

Dear All,

Have just spent a load of money on a new Antelope Orion Studio interface. Sounds great, looks great, but am having big issues getting it to work properly with PT11.

Basically, I get intermittent connectivity issues - which seem to be triggered/made worse when using Pro Tools. This means PT crashes with an error message saying connectivity between the Orion and PT was lost. I also had similar problems with a PreSonus Quantum interface I was trialling and ended up sending back as I thought there must be an issue with it. It would seem my issue is something in my system not getting on with each other as they should.

I am running:

PT 11.3.1
iMac 3GHz Intel Core i5 / 16GB RAM
Orion Studio Firmware 3.37

Trashing the PT preferences sometimes improves things for a while... I got around an hour of uninterrupted PT work earlier today. But surely this shouldn't be necessary to do every single time I want to open PT? Plus it is still crashing... it shouldn't really be crashing at all.

I have already done a major web search on possible issues and fixes (as it's the weekend, neither Antelope nor Avid's Support teams are working) and gone through a whole range of things... resetting Apple's SMC (which improved things for a while until PT got opened), trashing preferences, updating firmware on the Orion etc. etc. etc.

I haven't yet tried another DAW to confirm whether it is a PT issue - but given the problems have started when PT is in use, am counting that it probably is.

Other than that, am now running out of options so wondered if anyone out there had any suggestions? Anything would be very gratefully received. Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-27-2018, 06:45 AM
79imp 79imp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 14
Default Pro Tools & Antelope Orion Studio/Thunderbolt Issues

Dear All,

Have just spent a load of money on a new Antelope Orion Studio interface. Sounds great, looks great, but am having big issues getting it to work properly with PT11.

Basically, I get intermittent connectivity issues - which seem to be triggered/made worse when using Pro Tools. This means PT crashes with an error message saying connectivity between the Orion and PT was lost. I also had similar problems with a PreSonus Quantum interface I was trialling and ended up sending back as I thought there must be an issue with it. It would seem my issue is something in my system not getting on with each other as they should.

I am running:

PT 11.3.1
iMac 3GHz Intel Core i5 / 16GB RAM
Orion Studio Firmware 3.37

Trashing the PT preferences sometimes improves things for a while... I got around an hour of uninterrupted PT work earlier today. But surely this shouldn't be necessary to do every single time I want to open PT? Plus it is still crashing... it shouldn't really be crashing at all.

I have already done a major web search on possible issues and fixes (as it's the weekend, neither Antelope nor Avid's Support teams are working) and gone through a whole range of things... resetting Apple's SMC (which improved things for a while until PT got opened), trashing preferences, updating firmware on the Orion etc. etc. etc.

I haven't yet tried another DAW to confirm whether it is a PT issue - but given the problems have started when PT is in use, am counting that it probably is.

Other than that, am now running out of options so wondered if anyone out there had any suggestions? Anything would be very gratefully received. Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-27-2018, 12:02 PM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,199
Default Re: Pro Tools & Antelope Orion Studio/Thunderbolt Issues

which mac os are you running?

Is it the imac i5 current gen with thunderbolt 3 ports or the thunderbolt 2 ports?

Something, if i may guess, is happening at the thunderbolt connection level if it happened with the quantum also
__________________
1) iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, 2TB SSD, OS 10.13.6, Caldigit TS3+ Dock, Startech USB-C raid enclosure w/ Crucial MX500 1TB x2, 1TB SSD-R G Tech x 2, Samsung 860 Pro 512gb Audio Drive in USB C Enclosure, TBolt Apollo 8 x 2, TI2 Desktop, MoxF6, tons more midi synths, PT 2018.7/Cubase9.5.
2) MBP 2.8ghz i7 quad, 16GB ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018.7, Logic 10.4.1,Internal Sound, TBolt SSD 512GB.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-27-2018, 12:26 PM
79imp 79imp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 14
Default Re: Pro Tools & Antelope Orion Studio/Thunderbolt Issues

Thanks for the reply - I had thought there was an issue with the thunderbolt cable/adaptor itself... but seems odd that the problems only start when running PT.

Have OS 10.13 High Sierra as have a brand new iMac. So yes, I have the thunderbolt 3 ports at the back and need one of Apple’s ludicrously expensive adaptors. Both cable and adaptor were bought direct from Apple.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Antelope Orion wwittman Pro Tools 12 17 02-28-2019 05:31 AM
FS: Antelope Orion 32 philip888 Buy & Sell 12 10-15-2017 11:55 AM
Antelope Orion Studio Thunderbolt Problem 12.7 reflixtinian Pro Tools 12 3 03-08-2017 10:10 AM
Antelope Orion and Dangerous Source issues. joeboisits Pro Tools 10 3 05-26-2015 02:34 PM
Pro Tools 9 latency with Antelope Orion 32 mkosacek Pro Tools 9 3 09-05-2013 07:13 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:30 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com