How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > Storage Subsystems
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 10-10-2009, 11:18 AM

Default FireWire/SATA HD Help!

Hi all,

Well this is my first post...check me out I'm a noob! So hello to everyone here I hope you can help me.

OK I've been making good use of the search function today to figure out the problems I've been having with my new copy of PT8 LE that I got with my MBox 2 Mini and it would seem it's a pretty common thing in that I've been trying to use a USB HDD and getting error messages every time I play back audio. Mystery solved...

So it seems I need a new external HD right? After doing a little digging around I've started looking for one but have no idea of the difference between a FireWire or SATA drive. I'm running a Packard Bell Easynote laptop which has no FW or SATA connections so I'm gonna need an express card to go with my nice new HD. I have no idea where to start to be honest, I'm not a tech head in any way, I've just had to switch to PT for my degree and need to get started! Does anyone have any suggestions of what set up I'd need? I'm not doing big projects and I have access to studios at college if I do end up doing some. I'd appreciate any help you guys can throw my way!
Old 10-12-2009, 04:48 PM

Default Re: FireWire/SATA HD Help!