Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-18-2003, 03:23 PM
Madmaxxb Madmaxxb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 50
Default Making the jump to MAC from PC, need advice on OS, for 002

Hi guys,

I posted before about a new Mac rig, and I thank all those that replied.

I now ha e the specs for the new rig for my 002:

Power Mac G4
Dual 1.42Ghz
120GB HDD (7200 RPM) HFS+
120GB HDD (7200 RPM) HFS+
20" MAc flat panel monitor
1GB RAM (512MB 333MHz DDR RAM x2)


My next question is about the OS... I have been reading posts about OSX, but the Apple shop is telling me that the above rig comes with OS 10.2.2, which supports Digi 002....

I was wondering if I should pay up more to have them install OSX Jag. from the start, replacing the OS 10.2.2..

Anyone with ideas on this would be of great help... total newbie to Macs here...

Appreciate the advice in advance..

ROCK ON
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-18-2003, 03:33 PM
LittleJames LittleJames is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Atlanta, Ga.
Posts: 31
Default Re: Making the jump to MAC from PC, need advice on OS, for 002

10.2.2 is Jaguar. Once you buy the machine, update the OS to 10.2.6, which is free and you'll have the newest version of Jaguar. Hope that helps [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img]
__________________
1 ghz PowerBook/512 MB RAM
OS 10.2.8
Reason 2.5
PT 6.1.2
MBox
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-18-2003, 04:20 PM
Madmaxxb Madmaxxb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 50
Default Re: Making the jump to MAC from PC, need advice on OS, for 002

Ok, thanks.. obviously my question then shows how new I am to Macs... So I can assume when people talk about OSX.. they mean OS 10.2.2 (or 6).. thanks for that.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-18-2003, 05:13 PM
Gabriel Roth Gabriel Roth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 167
Default Re: Making the jump to MAC from PC, need advice on OS, for 002

OSX 10.2 = Jaguar
that is, 10.2.0 through 10.2.6

coming soon (like maybe next week) is OSX 10.3, which will be known as Panther. it's not clear whether PT will support Panther immediately or if they'll have to do some catch--up.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-18-2003, 05:53 PM
Madmaxxb Madmaxxb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 50
Default Re: Making the jump to MAC from PC, need advice on OS, for 002

Again, thank-you very much. I appreciate the feedback and help.

Real want to say how great these boards are, I spent a long time in the PC world, with my old 001, and the amount of help and effort users went to to not only answer my questions, but otheres (which you learn just as much from reading) was outstanding...


I can see that the Mac board is no different, hats off to you guys, you rock... I realy hope that Avid realises how much you guys add to there products, especially for newbies like me.... Without you guys and this board, I am sure there would be a lot of disillusioned people out there...

*bows in respect*


ROCK ON
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Making the jump...? tdblanchard Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 12 09-27-2012 10:08 AM
Close to making the jump to HD - Hoping its the right one bukman Tips & Tricks 3 10-29-2009 03:09 PM
Help with making the jump to LE? trock 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 11-19-2008 07:10 PM
making the jump from mbox on os9 to mbox2 on osx thelonius 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 10-19-2007 01:01 PM
Making the jump........ tomdiek Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 05-06-2007 06:08 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:12 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com