Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-23-2018, 10:36 AM
rique000 rique000 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 13
Default Does the 2018 boxed version come with iLok 2 or 3 and ...

will the structure sampler only work with iLok 2 or will it also work with iLok 3?

Is there a plan without iLok's? I have reason on my computer without any iLok.

Thank you for the help and answers in advance, I'm seriously considering PT 2018 for my new mac book pro and would greatly appreciate any feedback on the stability of the iLok's.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-23-2018, 12:37 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,935
Default Re: Does the 2018 boxed version come with iLok 2 or 3 and ...

iLok 2 and iLok3 are functionally the same for licenses. either will work just iLok3 can hold more licenses

yes, you can use iLok Cloud that requires a network connection for your licenses and not use the USB key. That only began with 2018.1. The Avid plugins support this but not all third-party plugins yet. Structure is protected by the main Avid license so it is cloud supported.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-23-2018, 01:54 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,709
Default Re: Does the 2018 boxed version come with iLok 2 or 3 and ...

Well said^^^, and my 2 cents; cloud-based licensing is maybe not a great idea without "bulletproof" internet(Comcast sure isn't) because, as soon as there is any interruption, you will be forced to close out PT. Beyond that, as much as people like to complain about iLok, I'll take iLok and Waves on a USB stick over most anything else out there Since you are on a laptop, you will probably need to add a USB hub.

I highly recommend a few things:
#1-buy ZDT insurance and make use of the TLC coverage(unless this is just a hobby), and use a "dongle buddy" so your iLok is NOT plugged into the laptop(way too many folks accidentally bump them hard enough to break them)(a dongle buddy is a short USB cable so the iLok can dangle)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-23-2018, 06:11 PM
rique000 rique000 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 13
Default Re: Does the 2018 boxed version come with iLok 2 or 3 and ...

thank you both for the information and advice
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does Protools 10 come with the boxed version of 11? Mjac28 Windows 5 07-31-2014 07:32 PM
Anybody got the boxed version yet? Dolly Pro Tools 9 1 11-22-2010 07:33 AM
Boxed version 9 basslik 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-18-2010 07:58 PM
What version of PTLE comes in the boxed version? scour79 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-18-2010 07:32 AM
pro tools 8 boxed version idleave 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 12-17-2008 08:25 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:32 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com