Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Third Party Interfaces

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-14-2014, 05:44 PM
EmperorMusic EmperorMusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 7
Default Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 and Command|8 Control Surface

Hey guys.

Just got my hands on a great used Digidesign/Focusrite Command|8 Control Surface! Everything works great and smooth with it but I was wondering if there was a way to control my Saffire Pro 40 monitor level with the Command|8 "control room Level" knob.

Or, if possible is there a way to use the Command|8 as a "thru pass" for the monitors but still have control over them, where the monitors go:

SaffireMonitorOUT > Command8ExternalSourceIN > Command8SpkrOUT > MonitorIN

It seems like I must be just dreaming, I cannot find the capabilities to do this anywhere!

If anyone has any suggestions or work-arounds please post!

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-14-2014, 11:49 PM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,479
Default Re: Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 and Command|8 Control Surface

Quote:
Originally Posted by EmperorMusic View Post
Hey guys.

Just got my hands on a great used Digidesign/Focusrite Command|8 Control Surface! Everything works great and smooth with it but I was wondering if there was a way to control my Saffire Pro 40 monitor level with the Command|8 "control room Level" knob.

Or, if possible is there a way to use the Command|8 as a "thru pass" for the monitors but still have control over them, where the monitors go:

SaffireMonitorOUT > Command8ExternalSourceIN > Command8SpkrOUT > MonitorIN

It seems like I must be just dreaming, I cannot find the capabilities to do this anywhere!

If anyone has any suggestions or work-arounds please post!

Thanks
Hi,

Out of the sapphire into "monitor inputs" then from "outputs" to your monitors!


Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club_Build A Tower top 20 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-15-2014, 11:22 AM
EmperorMusic EmperorMusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 7
Default Re: Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 and Command|8 Control Surface

Awesome thank you, so I was correct! Gonna have to get some more monitor cables. Will i notice any loss in quality at all running it through the Command8?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT9 Command 8 with another control surface finkbmx ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 22 11-25-2015 12:35 AM
New Focusrite Saffire Mix Control 3.0 Available cwsand Windows 2 06-30-2012 10:02 AM
Can you bring an audiosuite plugin under d-command surface control paulroberts ICON & C|24 0 03-22-2010 01:24 PM
Control Surface - Command 8 vs. Mackie Universal?? doylemusic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 18 02-24-2006 03:21 AM
New command 8 control surface blue demon General Discussion 13 04-07-2004 09:03 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:58 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com