Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-04-2005, 08:20 PM
XYZ XYZ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2
Default Play DV Movie Out Firewire Port

Why the option "Play DV Movie Out Firewire Port" is not available on my PT LE 6.4 for Windows XP?
Can anybody help me?

Thanks in advance.

DIGI001
PIV (2GHz)
1Gb (Rambus)
Motherboard: Intel 850MV
ADS Pyro Basic DV IEEE 1394 Host Controller
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-04-2005, 11:06 PM
Bastiaan Bastiaan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nederland
Posts: 6,914
Default Re: Play DV Movie Out Firewire Port

I believe because that is a mac-only feature. Not Digidesign's fault, but nagging from Apple/Quicktime.
__________________
What's that?
- That's the machine that goes "pling".


Bastiaan
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-05-2005, 12:53 AM
Timo Timo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 16
Default Re: Play DV Movie Out Firewire Port

Hey

Why does LE not support using DV AVI in windows systems? It would be so much cpu friedly to use direct show as a playback method on windows since you can take fully advantage of your graphics card and play that DV avi out from your standard low-budget video card's tv output.

I use that in cubase, and it really doesn't care whether it's mpeg or avi, it still seems to be more cpu friendly than QT DV (if you can trust xp:s or cubase's performance meter).

just my thought.


tmoan
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-05-2005, 01:27 AM
gerax gerax is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Modena, Italy
Posts: 1,615
Default Re: Play DV Movie Out Firewire Port

I just do that with my Matrox P750 video card: the DV file plays automatically out the TV output, and I can have the mix and edit wndows on two separate monitors: for me it works like a breeze. DV files are more CPU friendly than everything else that has to be decompressed: I used to work with .AVI sorenson encoded, but picture quality was really low, and the decompression took too much CPU. Now with DV everything is better, although I have to keep a dedicated drive for the file's larger size...but that's not a problem.

L.G.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-05-2005, 05:17 AM
Timo Timo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 16
Default Re: Play DV Movie Out Firewire Port

ok.

Is matrox the only video card capable of playing QT out from tv out? ..I have one ATI card which cannot play QT to tv out, but any AVI instead is ok.

Have any of you tested is there significant differencies between QT DV and AVID DV (which is recommended by digi)?

T
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-05-2005, 10:47 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 2,608
Default Re: Play DV Movie Out Firewire Port

Yes, this is also a big problem for me. On my MAC, I've been using my Canopus 110 firewire DV I/O box. Is ther ANY way I could make it work on my new Windows setup? Help!

Gary
__________________
Desktop: Win 7 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7-980X hex @ 3.9GHz / 32GB / PT 9 / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: Win 7 / HP ProBook 4730s / i7-2630 / 8GB / PT 9 / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Info/Services link
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-05-2005, 04:12 PM
gerax gerax is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Modena, Italy
Posts: 1,615
Default Re: Play DV Movie Out Firewire Port

Don't know for sure, as I haven't used the canopus myself, though I think the best solution for video playback within Pro Tools on Windows is the Matrox card.

L.G.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
play dv movie out firewire port jay dust 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 15 05-07-2005 10:27 AM
play dv movie out firewire port favas 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 05-06-2005 06:53 AM
play dv movie out firewire port? jay dust Post - Surround - Video 4 05-03-2005 07:58 AM
DV Movie won't play out of FireWire Port Dobbs Post - Surround - Video 5 04-27-2005 03:13 AM
play DV movie out firewire port jnamm Post - Surround - Video 6 09-03-2004 12:40 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:06 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com