Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-01-2007, 06:36 AM
bukman bukman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 109
Default Question about TDM vs native version plug in installation

Hi all,

I currently own an LE system and want to purchase particular set of waves plug ins. Problem is that in the next 12 months I will likely upgrade to HD.
If I bought the TDM version now would I still be able to install it within an LE system and get use of the RTAS version of the plug or can the TDM plug in versions only be installed on PT HD?

My dilemma is spending big now to buy a native version when for a few hundred dollars more I would have a TDM version ready for my upgrade when it occurs.

Cheers
Bukman
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-01-2007, 10:10 AM
studiomusic studiomusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Utah, sometimes France
Posts: 424
Default Re: Question about TDM vs native version plug in installatio

Yep, you will have the TDM and RTAS versions.
No one knows what TDM will cost in a few months/years though. Maybe you go for native now, then sell that and get TDM when you get a TDM rig...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-01-2007, 08:44 PM
bukman bukman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 109
Default Re: Question about TDM vs native version plug in installatio

Thanks studio,

Can I ask what you mean about the costs changing? Are there expected reductions taking place with TDM?
I will certainly back off the TDM route if reductions are expected.

Thanks again
Bukman
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-05-2007, 02:21 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,396
Default Re: Question about TDM vs native version plug in installatio

Waves is famous for changing policies whenever they like to, so be careful. Most likely TDM prices are not going to drop, but the RTAS->TDM upgrade pricing may vary and so could the WUP price as well.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD Native Plug-in / DSP Question Mvrphy Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 2 07-16-2013 05:30 AM
Finished 30 day trial, purchased boxed version - question about installation zwolf macOS 7 06-09-2013 10:21 PM
Question about installing TL Space Native DVD / Removing Trial Version jasonfarnham Virtual Instruments 4 07-31-2011 02:38 PM
Bomb Factory Plug-in Installation Question - 003/PTLE paul_g 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 08-16-2007 04:17 AM
Installing HD (question re: plug installation) Ray Fabi Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 05-30-2002 05:53 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:15 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com