Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 02-09-2019, 01:32 AM
raal raal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: mexico city
Posts: 21
Default Re: Petition for Softube Console 1 integration

Quote:
Originally Posted by zakco View Post
There is one product...D-Command.

DEEP plugin control and whole lot more. Aaaannnnd a bargain these days!

Here's one with 24 faders for $3.5k!

https://www.ebay.ca/itm/Digidesign-D...DftL:rk:3:pf:0
Just sold our D-Control. :) Had it since they came out. Used it a lot at the beginning but in the end, we were basically using it for faders and pans. Clunky, acoustically intrusive and i can't recall ever using the upper knobs. You had to lean over just like on an SSL, except there was nothing you couldn't do with the lower knobs. I feel the D-Command was a much better design. Digi was trying to make the D-Control the size of an SSL, which they achieved, it looked good but i was frankly relieved to get it out of the room.

Back on topic, Console 1 really does encourage you to mix with your ears. Everything is just there, not much thinking to do, no mapping, acoustically unobtrusive and has all the control you need on a channel strip. Again, if Avid played nice with C1 i'd be a very happy camper. Would even consider an S3 for spillage, VCAs etc., but at this point i'm considering other options... maybe S1 and (shudder) a monster PC as Apple seems to have dropped the ball. Do love PT as a DAW though... so we'll see. Meantime, fingers crossed.

Last edited by raal; 02-09-2019 at 02:08 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-21-2019, 01:22 PM
colliderman colliderman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Ottawa Canada
Posts: 39
Default Re: Petition for Softube Console 1 integration

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
Eucon is free for developers to use (0 charge). It's up to Softube to use it if they want to allow their plugins to be controllable by Eucon.

Avid isn't going to start giving away their hardware controller business to let Console 1 in.

And Softube isn't going to give away their Console 1 sales to allow Avid controllers to operate their plugins.

This is why this is a dead-end petition.
There's little to no crossover between Console 1 and any existing avid products. It's just a plugin controller, that's it. No need for Eucon. Pro Tools just needs to allow it to get track number information, like every other daw.

Then it would compliment Avid's products, like the artist mix. Select a track on your artist mix, instantly have your channel strip controls for that track appear on your Console 1.

The only thing they're doing by not allowing this is pushing users to other daws.
__________________
Pro Tools 2018.1
OS X 10.12.6
Mac Mini (2012) Quad 2.3 GHz Intel Core i7
16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3 RAM
240 GB SSD for OS, 512 GB SSD recording & samples
Universal Audio Apollo 8 Quad
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-21-2019, 02:33 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,421
Default Re: Petition for Softube Console 1 integration

Quote:
Originally Posted by colliderman View Post
There's little to no crossover between Console 1 and any existing avid products. It's just a plugin controller, that's it.
Eucon is a plugin controller. That's your overlap. As in all of it. 100% overlap.
The Dock/iPad app and the S6 all have plugin control sections as does the S3 and Artist for throwing things to knobs and faders. I really don't understand how this can be missed. Avid isn't going to open up to lose sales.

If the Softube plugins are how people buy/choose which DAW to use, that's pretty wonky unto itself.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2018.12, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD Omni • Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6 • RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-21-2019, 02:38 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,519
Default Petition for Softube Console 1 integration

Quote:
Originally Posted by colliderman View Post
The only thing they're doing by not allowing this is pushing users to other daws.

They have been doing that for years.
And yes i agreee with the above post, direct overlap...especially for the dock -

-

What would however be nice would be a unified standard for all plugins....

This would allow for unified mapping across all OEM controllers with less work by both the OEM and the controller OEM.

Now that would be cool
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-21-2019, 03:03 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,287
Default Re: Petition for Softube Console 1 integration

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post

-

What would however be nice would be a unified standard for all plugins....

This would allow for unified mapping across all OEM controllers with less work by both the OEM and the controller OEM.

Now that would be cool
That Would be awesome and open doors for more interesting collabs and features going forward
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-21-2019, 08:06 PM
colliderman colliderman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Ottawa Canada
Posts: 39
Default Re: Petition for Softube Console 1 integration

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
Eucon is a plugin controller. That's your overlap. As in all of it. 100% overlap.
The Dock/iPad app and the S6 all have plugin control sections as does the S3 and Artist for throwing things to knobs and faders. I really don't understand how this can be missed. Avid isn't going to open up to lose sales.

If the Softube plugins are how people buy/choose which DAW to use, that's pretty wonky unto itself.
Eucon is a control protocol, and sure, controlling parameters of various plugins is a part of that. Console 1 is just a midi controller that controls a specific plugin, one that runs on their platform.

Avid makes and sells plugins as well, but I guess by your logic they shouldn't allow third party plugins in Pro Tools either, as it could open them up to losing sales.

I don't see which Avid products would be in direct competition with Console 1 but I can definitely see how allowing it to be used alongside Pro Tools (to the extent all other daw manufacturers do) would be of benefit to them and encourage sales.

But hey, what do I know. I've switched to mainly using Studio One after 12 years of Pro Tools specifically because of Console 1 integration, so I must be pretty wonky.
__________________
Pro Tools 2018.1
OS X 10.12.6
Mac Mini (2012) Quad 2.3 GHz Intel Core i7
16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3 RAM
240 GB SSD for OS, 512 GB SSD recording & samples
Universal Audio Apollo 8 Quad
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-22-2019, 09:09 AM
raal raal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: mexico city
Posts: 21
Default Re: Petition for Softube Console 1 integration

Quote:
Originally Posted by colliderman View Post
Eucon is a control protocol, and sure, controlling parameters of various plugins is a part of that. Console 1 is just a midi controller that controls a specific plugin, one that runs on their platform.

Avid makes and sells plugins as well, but I guess by your logic they shouldn't allow third party plugins in Pro Tools either, as it could open them up to losing sales.

I don't see which Avid products would be in direct competition with Console 1 but I can definitely see how allowing it to be used alongside Pro Tools (to the extent all other daw manufacturers do) would be of benefit to them and encourage sales.

But hey, what do I know. I've switched to mainly using Studio One after 12 years of Pro Tools specifically because of Console 1 integration, so I must be pretty wonky.
Good points are being made, but i tend to agree with you. I'm on PT Ultimate HDX, have been a PT user since they went 24 bit and i'm also familiar with Studio One and Console 1. If PT played nice with C1 i wouldn't think of migrating but as is, i'm waiting to see if the new Mac Pros allow you to do away with HDX. I like Console 1 that much. I do agree that Avid has more to gain than to lose by allowing C1 follow channels automatically.

Last edited by raal; 02-22-2019 at 09:19 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Softube console 1 Follow Track Basket Pro Tools 12 21 05-21-2018 09:09 AM
Happy travelers?: PT11 & Softube Console 1 crandallwarren AAX Plug-ins 39 04-28-2016 06:49 AM
FS: Softube Console 1 *Mint* crandallwarren Buy & Sell 1 03-29-2015 09:23 AM
New Solid State Logic XL 9000 K-Series module for Softube Console 1 denka AAX Plug-ins 7 11-19-2014 01:06 AM
Integration of Mbox2 With Analog Console asandman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 05-16-2006 08:44 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:02 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com