Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools | First Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-30-2019, 10:56 AM
banjo71 banjo71 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Roanoke, IL
Posts: 204
Default Pro Tools | First for tracking on laptop?

I run PT 12 on my desktop for editing/mixing etc. But if I want to track and be mobile, noting that PT 12 requires an external hard drive to store audio files from my desktop, and I don't want to carry my storage around separately from the laptop, is Pro Tools | First ok to be mobile and track on the laptop? Would I be able to store tracks on the C: drive using Pro Tools | First ? I could export the audio files into my desktop later?
__________________
Pro Tools 12.6.1 for Windows 10
ASUS Core i7 3770
Yamaha Steinberg UR 44
Golden Age Project Pre-73 JR
Glyph 1TB GPT50 external drive - Firewire
JBL LSR305 monitors

Neumann TLM102
Equation F.20 condenser mic
SM81 condenser mic
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-30-2019, 01:24 PM
64GTOBOY's Avatar
64GTOBOY 64GTOBOY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Houston
Posts: 742
Default Re: Pro Tools | First for tracking on laptop?

PTF is cloud storage called "Projects" not sessions. Limited track count. Internet connection required to run. I have full Pro Tools installed on two laptops and a desktop all on one license since i run only one at at time with I-lok there is no issue. IMHO running a stripped down version of the full PT Native is a better solution.
__________________
Dell XPS 8900 i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz 32 Gig Memory:Seagate 2 TB,1TB,4TB,500gb EVO OS Windows 7 Ultimate
PT 2019.6 Native through A&H Qu-32
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-30-2019, 01:36 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,637
Default Re: Pro Tools | First for tracking on laptop?

You could not pay me enough to waste my time dealing with Pro Tools First.

Pro Tools 12 can run fine on a computer with a single disk drive... if it's a fast PCIe/NVMe SSD, like I would hope any modern laptop came with. And for mobile it's great to have everything inside one laptop with no flakey cables, external drives to misplace etc. And disk cache helps there as well, even on slower drives, although I'd not recommend (later versions of Pro Tools 12 standard or all HD versions). Old drive dedicated requirements from the days of spinning rust are no longer as simple, I've been asking Avid to improve those written requirements for years...

And any idea that First has better IO performance than real Pro Tools is just not correct. It's just they it's so crippled and intended for low-end users that Avid don't bother to state you need a dedicated drive... and mostly you won't. But actual Pro Tools will behave just as good or better at the same restricted number of tracks. And put First sessions on a slow enough disk drive and it will fail as well.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 12-30-2019 at 02:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-02-2020, 11:13 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,222
Default Re: Pro Tools | First for tracking on laptop?

I'm with Darryl. If the laptop has a spinning drive, replace it with a good SSD(and maybe go on the larger side for recording space). A Samsung 850 EVO or PRO would be tops on my list(500GB minimum). It comes with Data Migration software so you can clone your current laptop drive(just stick the SSD in a generic USB drive dock or case). Once the clone finishes, swap the SSD into the laptop and set the old drive aside as it may come in handy in the future
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Laptop Tracking Workstation Recommendations? dstryrwiz Windows 5 06-16-2011 04:46 PM
Best Laptop/Desktop Tracking-only no Mixing PT_Nathan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 11-16-2009 04:19 PM
Laptop sub £500 for tracking...? fabpab 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 03-03-2005 09:55 AM
min. sys. requirements for tracking on 002 laptop? chameleogaz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 10-09-2004 07:55 PM
portable laptop tracking quintheskimo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-15-2002 04:49 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:23 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com