Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Licensing & Accounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 11-22-2019, 11:42 PM
noiseboyuk noiseboyuk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,180
Default Re: New Pricing

Whrer’s an Avid link to the info about reinstatement ceasing?
__________________
Guy Rowland
www.guyrowland.co.uk
www.sound-on-screen.com - Original audio clips of movies, TV shows and games, licensed as regular production music.

PT 2019 Ultimate; W10 Pro; i7 7820X; 64gb RAM; RME Babyface; UAD Quad Satellite USB; GTX 1050i
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 11-23-2019, 04:26 AM
jpsexton's Avatar
jpsexton jpsexton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Margate, FL
Posts: 112
Default Re: What's going on? Renewal is now DOUBLE the price?

Quote:
Originally Posted by QuikDraw View Post
I hated the S1 GUI at first too... for about a week. Now I'm used to it. It's forced me to learn new ways to work. But I can honestly say after using PT for 19 years, it didn't take long at all for S1 to become the easier program for me to use.

And the performance isn't even close. Every time I get a PT update, I think maybe this time they will have figured out how to get the performance on par with other DAWs. And every time I still have to keep my buffers at 256 samples or more. No live tracking with plugins! S1 doesn't even break a sweat at 16 samples (not even an option in PT!), and I've never had an audio glitch or crash of any kind in S1. With PT I have all kinds of workarounds to let the talent hear themselves without latency while tracking, and still have a decent sound to work with. With S1 I just set up the mix and hit record. It just works!
That pretty much mirrors my experience with S1 as well. I switched several months ago and now that I've learned a little different workflow, I couldn't be happier. There has even been a couple "FREE" updates since I switched!

I check in here every so often to see if anything significant has changed and it's always some other shenanigans that Avid has pulled...
__________________
Intel - Core i7-8700 3.2GHz 6-Core Processor
Asus - Prime Z370-A ATX Motherboard
Asus Thund​erbolt III​ AIC
16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-2133 Memory
Patriot - Spark 256GB SSD System Drive
Patriot - Ignite 480GB SSD Work Drive
Hisense 43" 4K Display
Presonus Quantum
OS - Windows 10 Pro

Handle every stressful situation like a dog. If you can't eat it or play with it, Just pee on it and walk away.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 11-23-2019, 04:50 AM
Stephen Bond's Avatar
Stephen Bond Stephen Bond is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,140
Default Re: New Pricing

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blinkofani View Post
I can confirm the info about the change in pricing. After dec 31st 2019, reinstatement won’t be possible, if you let your plan lapse you’ll either have to buy a new licence or go subscription.
Talk about slamming the door in the face of long standing customers! The reinstatement policy was punitive before but this action is incomprehensible.

Avid need to treat their customers well and entice new ones in. As it is, people are leaving in droves.

Stephen
__________________
Save an additional 10% off any purchase at Waves!

https://www.waves.com/r/9zsnwd
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 11-23-2019, 05:12 AM
64GTOBOY's Avatar
64GTOBOY 64GTOBOY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Houston
Posts: 742
Default Re: New Pricing

Quote:
Originally Posted by hagstrom71 View Post
Quickdraw, I appreciate your experience with Studio One.
I think that's where I'm gonna migrate to.

On another note.. What is everyones thoughts on this support upgrade renewal deal? Seems too good to be true and might keep me hanging on for another year.
https://www.thomannmusic.com/avid_pr....htm#bewertung
If they still have some licenses left i would grab it. My 2c
__________________
Dell XPS 8900 i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz 32 Gig Memory:Seagate 2 TB,1TB,4TB,500gb EVO OS Windows 7 Ultimate
PT 2019.6 Native through A&H Qu-32
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 11-23-2019, 05:17 AM
Blinkofani Blinkofani is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Quebec
Posts: 58
Default Re: New Pricing

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen Bond View Post
Talk about slamming the door in the face of long standing customers! The reinstatement policy was punitive before but this action is incomprehensible.

Avid need to treat their customers well and entice new ones in. As it is, people are leaving in droves.

Stephen
Yep, I sure am voting with my wallet on this and won’t give that company a dollar to support that behaviour. If they at least announced it at the same time they announced the price rise, people interested in keeping a perpetual licence could have act accordingly and bought a bunch of updates and support plans.

Like most people, I didn’t read the EULA but if there’s a place somewhere where it says that they can terminate your perpetual licence at their own will, you can be sure they’ll do it in the future, judging by their present behaviour.

God are we far from the time they’d put out a new version, you decide if it’s worth buying by looking at the new feature, if not, you pass and just pay a bit more if the version after that is of interest to you. They show the goods and you pay. Now, you pay and hope what you pay for will be of interest to you.

It’s like going to a grocery store where you can’t see any of the products you buy, they’re all brown box with nothing written on it and hope that you’ll like what you bought when you get home!!

Blink
__________________
iMac 27" i5 w/24Gb ram, macOS 10.14.6, PT 2019.10 Vanilla, Logic Pro X 10.4.7, UA Arrow, UAD2 Satellite Quad TB, LaCie ext. SSD, Genelec 8040a, Dave Smith Mopho, Korg Z1ex, Gibson Les Paul Classic, Fender Telecaster & Stratocaster, Komplete 12, Omnisphere 1.5, Korg Legacy Coll., Arturia Moog Modular and Prophet.
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 11-23-2019, 05:57 AM
nige108's Avatar
nige108 nige108 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 269
Default Re: New Pricing

When it comes to reliability Pro Tools is a Lada and S1 is a Toyota.
Do yourselves a favour and take it for a test drive today.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 11-23-2019, 06:49 AM
amagras amagras is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,390
Default Re: New Pricing

Quote:
Originally Posted by nige108 View Post
When it comes to reliability Pro Tools is a Lada and S1 is a Toyota.
Do yourselves a favour and take it for a test drive today.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Ladas are pretty tough cars, Pro Tools looks more like a Verhovina
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 11-23-2019, 07:34 AM
JingleDjango JingleDjango is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Toronto
Posts: 44
Default Re: New Pricing

A friend was forced to learn Nuendo for a job at a post studio and he's come to really like it.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 11-23-2019, 02:30 PM
noiseboyuk noiseboyuk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,180
Default Re: New Pricing

Quote:
Originally Posted by noiseboyuk View Post
Whrer’s an Avid link to the info about reinstatement ceasing?
Anyone?
__________________
Guy Rowland
www.guyrowland.co.uk
www.sound-on-screen.com - Original audio clips of movies, TV shows and games, licensed as regular production music.

PT 2019 Ultimate; W10 Pro; i7 7820X; 64gb RAM; RME Babyface; UAD Quad Satellite USB; GTX 1050i
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 11-23-2019, 04:06 PM
Blinkofani Blinkofani is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Quebec
Posts: 58
Default Re: New Pricing

Quote:
Originally Posted by noiseboyuk View Post
Anyone?
I got it from an Avid Products supplier and it’s not a secret. It says customers can be informed right now. Are you surprised to learn it from an outside source before Avid makes an announcement? The company that always makes mistakes when communicating with its users?
__________________
iMac 27" i5 w/24Gb ram, macOS 10.14.6, PT 2019.10 Vanilla, Logic Pro X 10.4.7, UA Arrow, UAD2 Satellite Quad TB, LaCie ext. SSD, Genelec 8040a, Dave Smith Mopho, Korg Z1ex, Gibson Les Paul Classic, Fender Telecaster & Stratocaster, Komplete 12, Omnisphere 1.5, Korg Legacy Coll., Arturia Moog Modular and Prophet.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pricing Rip-Off in the UK 8dB.co.uk General Discussion 22 06-26-2013 02:35 PM
PT 11 HD Pricing EdFaris Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 20 04-21-2013 12:37 AM
C|24 UK Pricing scotsman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 10-13-2007 10:24 AM
Pricing... jborrmann VENUE Live Sound Systems 3 04-04-2005 10:03 AM
PT6 pricing per EM Kling3 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-06-2003 04:58 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:40 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com